Jump to content


Photo

Atlas EQG HC upgrade

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jim Davenport

Jim Davenport

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 376
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Seminole Fl

Posted 14 February 2010 - 01:38 PM

I have a Orion Atlas EQG mount. the Firmware on my HC is ver 3.01.
I was out last night, one of the people I was with had a EQ-6 with newer firmware. I really like the ability to dim the polar scope reticule, that mine doesn't have.
I can't find the RJ-11 to RS232 cable that came with the controller.
Can I use a RJ-11 to USB cable?
I've downloaded version 3.27, but can't upgrade the controller until I get the cable issue solved.
Thanks.

Jim

#2 neptun2

neptun2

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 797
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2007
  • Loc: Bulgaria

Posted 15 February 2010 - 02:42 AM

first you should know that firmware upgrade will probably not allow you to dim the polar scope LED. This depends not only on the firmware version but from the motor controller board version also and your is probably old. But i recommend you to upgrade the firmware because newer synscan firmwares have many fixes and additional functions.

#3 Coromandel

Coromandel

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 393
  • Joined: 27 Feb 2009

Posted 15 February 2010 - 02:55 AM

Here we go again!

Unless your mount control PCB is version 2.0 or later the polarscope LED firmware option won't be available in the menu.

Do a search here on CloudyNights to find the other 950 threads on this very same subject.

#4 Jim Davenport

Jim Davenport

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 376
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Seminole Fl

Posted 15 February 2010 - 04:57 AM

Here we go again!

Unless your mount control PCB is version 2.0 or later the polarscope LED firmware option won't be available in the menu.

Do a search here on CloudyNights to find the other 950 threads on this very same subject.

You missed the whole idea of my original post. Aside from the fact I did a search, and didn't find out whether I could use a USB to RJ-11 cord, instead of a RS232.
I have no idea what my "PCB version" is on the mount. Like I said the "Firmware version" on my hand controller is 3.01.
I want to upgrade the firmware anyways.
Since you don't know the answer to my original question. your comments are useless to me, and actually quite rude.
I can call Orion later today, but I hoped I could get an answer here on CN.

#5 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15396
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 15 February 2010 - 09:33 AM



I have no idea what my "PCB version" is on the mount. Like I said the "Firmware version" on my hand controller is 3.01.
I want to upgrade the firmware anyways.
Since you don't know the answer to my original question. your comments are useless to me, and actually quite rude.
I can call Orion later today, but I hoped I could get an answer here on CN.


No idea what a "USB to RJ11" cable is. You need a serial cable for the Atlas.

It's unlikely you will gain polar scope dimming, but the upgrades have improved the HC considerably in other ways.

#6 EricJD

EricJD

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2148
  • Joined: 24 Jul 2007
  • Loc: Chesapeake VA

Posted 15 February 2010 - 09:54 AM

Rod is right, whatever connector types you decide to use they need to be 'serial' in their data transfer.

For example, a standard USB to serial adapter connected to a serial cable to the HC.

#7 Jim Davenport

Jim Davenport

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 376
  • Joined: 12 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Seminole Fl

Posted 15 February 2010 - 10:47 AM

The "RJ-11" is the telephone looking plug that plugs into the center of the HC for computer interface The cord that came with the unit (that I lost) had a RS232 (DB 9)serial plug on the other end.
My new lap top only has USB plugs. I assume that if I bought a USB cord, that it would work, but I wasn't sure.

#8 Skylook123

Skylook123

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 7487
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 15 February 2010 - 03:28 PM

The standard solution is a USB to RS232 adapter. Some of them are inadequate for the task, though. Belkins have tended to be problemmatical, while Kennsingtons seem to do OK. A better idea is probably an RS232 PC Card; those seem to be bulletproof and roughly the same price.

#9 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15396
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 15 February 2010 - 04:53 PM

The "RJ-11" is the telephone looking plug that plugs into the center of the HC for computer interface The cord that came with the unit (that I lost) had a RS232 (DB 9)serial plug on the other end.
My new lap top only has USB plugs. I assume that if I bought a USB cord, that it would work, but I wasn't sure.


It will work, but you will also need the serial cable for the Atlas (make or buy).

#10 jim molinari

jim molinari

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 93
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2008
  • Loc: California

Posted 16 February 2010 - 11:48 AM

Jim ...
I have a new hand control cable that you can have for the cost of shipping it to you. I purchased a Synscan controller for my Sirius mount and the Atlas cable was included.
Jim Molinari






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics