Photo

Vixen SXD on G11 HD tripod

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 Tamiji Homma

Tamiji Homma

Gemini

Posted 25 February 2010 - 12:42 PM

Hi all,

I've been using Vixen SXD on HAL 130 tripod for a few years. I wasn't thrilled by the tripod. I have four Losmandy HD mount base compatible tripods. So I wanted to use SXD on the sturdy tripods.

I looked around (Googling) but I didn't find good leads. So I decided to ask Ken Dauzat (http://www.kendauzat.net) to build SXD to HD mount adapter.

I have a few HD mount bases for Discmounts DM-6 sitting around. So I just need something between SXD and the mount base.

On left, aluminum doughnut block, the adapter Ken built for me, on right, DM-6 HD mount base:

Posted Image

Just placed the doughnut on top of DM-6 HD mount base:

Posted Image

How they look before putting them together:

Posted Image

SXD close up on top of HD tripod:

Posted Image

5" f/7 refractor on top:
Posted Image

This simple adapter made the system much more stable.

Tammy

#2 Tim

Tim

Messenger

Posted 26 February 2010 - 12:37 AM

Looks like he does nice work.

#3 hGmnwi

hGmnwi

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 26 February 2010 - 02:44 AM

Looks nice. Just like original.

#4 Tamiji Homma

Tamiji Homma

Gemini

Posted 27 February 2010 - 06:08 PM

Yes, Ken does very good job. Originally I asked him to build one piece SXD->HD adapter including Losmandy HD tripod mount base.

After talking to him, he suggested the simpler solution, doughnut shape aluminum block. It turned out to be simple and a very good solution that I was looking for.

Tammy

#5 GShaffer

GShaffer

Surveyor 1

Posted 27 February 2010 - 06:38 PM

Dealt with Ken on a number of things.....never been disappointed. He made my adapter for mounting my LXD75 to a Meade standard field tripod....well done and reasonable.

#6 mayidunk

mayidunk

Don't Ask...

• Moderators

Posted 28 February 2010 - 04:05 AM