Jump to content


Photo

How can I connect my G11 to my computer?

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 saadabbasi

saadabbasi

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1135
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2009
  • Loc: 29N

Posted 02 March 2010 - 05:38 PM

Hi everyone!

I often see a lot of software saying they can connect to the Losmandy G11 or a LX200 compatible mount (which the G11 is), but I'm always confused about how is the G11 physically connected to the computer?

My laptop only has USB and the G11's Gemini has RS232 I believe.

Is there a way to connect to this or do I need a RS232 capable computer?

#2 drksky

drksky

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1760
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Bloomington, IL

Posted 02 March 2010 - 05:53 PM

You need to get a USB to RS232 adapter. They're quite easy to find online and you might be able to find one at your local Best Buy. Just make sure you get one that has drivers compatible with your operating system. I've seen some that have trouble with Vista and 64-bit Windows.

#3 saadabbasi

saadabbasi

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1135
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2009
  • Loc: 29N

Posted 02 March 2010 - 07:17 PM

Ah, I see.

I've got Windows XP, any recommendations for either one of those?

#4 blueman

blueman

    Photon Catcher

  • *****
  • Posts: 5324
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2007
  • Loc: California

Posted 02 March 2010 - 07:29 PM

Just buy a good one and it will work fine. You just plug it into the G-11 serial port and make sure the control software is set to the port of the USB to Serial adapter. Then you can control it with Starry Night or The Sky or other software. Plus you can use this cable to program the G-11 or use PemPro to set the PEC to reduce PE. Be sure you use the proper cable though, if in doubt, check it out before plugging it in, there are some with reversed wires.
Blueman

#5 saadabbasi

saadabbasi

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1135
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2009
  • Loc: 29N

Posted 02 March 2010 - 09:17 PM

Thanks blueman.

Do I connect the wire where the Hand Controller goes? The huge connecter at the side of Gemini?

Or do I connect to the port on the front that looks like a phone jack and says RS232?

Won't I need another cable that terminates in this type then?

So, USB -> RS232 Adapter + RS232 Cable like this: http://www.scopestuff.com/ss_lgc2.htm

#6 Gardner

Gardner

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 864
  • Joined: 19 Jan 2004
  • Loc: New Hampshire

Posted 02 March 2010 - 10:11 PM

saadabbasi,

Yes you need the USB to Serial adapter AND a RS232 cable like the one you linked to.

Plug it into the port on the front of the Gemini panel marked RS232.

#7 blueman

blueman

    Photon Catcher

  • *****
  • Posts: 5324
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2007
  • Loc: California

Posted 03 March 2010 - 01:02 AM

Hi,
What Gardner said, or there is a special adapter that will attach where the hand controller goes, but it is easiest to use what you showed.
Blueman

#8 saadabbasi

saadabbasi

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1135
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2009
  • Loc: 29N

Posted 03 March 2010 - 09:08 AM

Thanks guys. I take it this will allow Pempro to upload data onto the mount.

Can Pempro also control the mount, using this method, when doing a Polar Alignment?

#9 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27305
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 03 March 2010 - 12:59 PM

Thanks guys. I take it this will allow Pempro to upload data onto the mount.

Can Pempro also control the mount, using this method, when doing a Polar Alignment?


That will do it!

David

#10 saadabbasi

saadabbasi

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1135
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2009
  • Loc: 29N

Posted 04 March 2010 - 02:51 PM

Thanks David.

I haven't been able to find a good USB-RS232 adapter in the UK. The Keyspan adapter is £44!

And some are as low as £3 or so. I found one another with good reviews, the Max Value USB Serial adapter: http://tinyurl.com/y8ffoge This is for £7 and has pretty good reviews.

Any recommendations regarding this?

I can't justify £44 for the Keyspan adapter.

#11 saadabbasi

saadabbasi

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1135
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2009
  • Loc: 29N

Posted 05 March 2010 - 08:14 PM

Any help guys? :(

Any specific USB - RS232 adapters you can recommend?

#12 Yedgy

Yedgy

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 700
  • Joined: 22 Jul 2008
  • Loc: Phoenix, AZ, USA

Posted 05 March 2010 - 08:27 PM

Saad, a good RS232 converter will cost a bit. I recommend you stay away from the cheapest ones. I also recommend you get a 2- or 4-port unit because eventually you'll need it for a focuser, filter wheel, or some other item that connects via RS232. I use this one and it's been very reliable.

Tony

#13 neptun2

neptun2

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 805
  • Joined: 04 Mar 2007
  • Loc: Bulgaria

Posted 05 March 2010 - 09:04 PM

everything that is based on Prolific or FTDI chipset will work. Both companies regularly update their drivers. Unfortuantely it is difficult to see what chipset is used before you buy the converter.

#14 saadabbasi

saadabbasi

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1135
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2009
  • Loc: 29N

Posted 05 March 2010 - 09:08 PM

Okay, I found the Keyspan adapter for £30. Thats reasonable to me.

But is Keyspan? Does it work?

#15 saadabbasi

saadabbasi

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1135
  • Joined: 23 Aug 2009
  • Loc: 29N

Posted 13 March 2010 - 10:47 PM

I ended up ordering the Keyspan. it was also recommended by AP on their page, so I'm sure it will do fine.

I haven't received the unit yet, but now i"m working on the software part. I assume to connect Maxim and PoleAlignMax, I will ASCOM drivers for my G11?

If so, could anyone point me in the right direction? Maybe I'm going blind, but I couldn't find anything on ASCOM's page.

Is this all I need to connect my mount to the computer? To clarify, the connection is sort of like this:

Maxim/PoleAlignMax -> ASCOM Driver for Losmandy -> Keyspan USB to Serial -> RS232 Cable -> Mount

Does this seem correct?

#16 pubquiz

pubquiz

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 978
  • Joined: 07 Oct 2004
  • Loc: Lancashire England

Posted 15 March 2010 - 01:16 PM

Hi Saadabbasi

Can't help with your connection requirements but I can confirm that the Keyspan is very good.

I bought a cheaper (although supposedly good quality) adapter to update my Argo Navis and it just wouldn't work.

After getting in touch with Argo Navis (great service btw) they recommended the Keyspan and it worked faultlessly....I don't have the Gemini on my G11 just the Argo Navis so can't advise on your connection needs.

Tom






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics