Jump to content


Photo

Pushing the Mach1's AP Limits...

  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 WirelessDude

WirelessDude

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 461
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2008
  • Loc: San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

Posted 25 April 2010 - 01:24 PM

Has anyone pushed the Mach1's limits to 50-55 lbs. for AP in a SCT configuration with satifactory results?

I plan to use a 12" LX200R, 2" TCF-Si, 2" Pyxis, 2" IFW, and ST-8300M on it...

Clear skies!

#2 gnowellsct

gnowellsct

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6657
  • Joined: 24 Jun 2009

Posted 25 April 2010 - 03:26 PM

I don't know, but at NEAF Roland said it shouldn't have a problem with a C14. I think I prefer the AP900 though for that.

Of course, if you're trying to minimize mount stress, one might note that Meade builds heavy, so you can get extra stability by switching to Celestron OTA's.

Greg N

#3 Bryguy

Bryguy

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 189
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2006
  • Loc: Frederick, MD

Posted 25 April 2010 - 06:33 PM

For visual it shouldn't be a problem. The moment/arm is not bad since it is a "short" scope. I use a 160mm for visual use, which has a lot longer moment/arm and is more work for the mount than a short moment/arm, with no problems. This is also on the wooden AP tripod.

#4 CounterWeight

CounterWeight

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8103
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Palo alto, CA.

Posted 25 April 2010 - 11:29 PM

Just curious if on a tripod or a permanent pier? both? I have no experience data for your post question but have been thinking it would be fine with something like a C11 or AT 10"RC and small guide scope. Agree that you might want to look at the optional CW bar and weights. I've only had mine a week so my experience is extremely limited - also using a 160 apo as above.

#5 WirelessDude

WirelessDude

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 461
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2008
  • Loc: San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

Posted 26 April 2010 - 01:08 AM

Well, mine was just ordered for immediate availability (delivery in about a week.) All accessories are AP: portable pier (48"), CW bar upgrade (for compatibility with my AP1200), CWs, dovetail, and trays (2 of each). I plan to use the mount for the LX200R or NP127is...

Enjoy that Mach1! I got one because I didn't want my imaging gear to hog all the features of an AP mount! ;)

Clear skies!

#6 AZStarGuy

AZStarGuy

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1055
  • Joined: 05 May 2008
  • Loc: Scottsdale AZ

Posted 26 April 2010 - 08:19 AM

Nice mount. Congrats! Post up some pics when it arrives and let us know how it handles everything.

#7 jgw12936

jgw12936

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007
  • Loc: The Woodlands, TX

Posted 26 April 2010 - 09:20 AM

I had mine working fine with an AP 155 EDF, 4 inch FF, Proline CCD, PDF and filter wheel. About 55 pounds total. Had six 9 lb counterweights. Worked fine with AP and guiding. I think this is very close to the limit...
Jim

#8 Strgazr27

Strgazr27

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • ****-
  • Posts: 7104
  • Joined: 04 Oct 2004
  • Loc: StonyHill Observatory

Posted 26 April 2010 - 12:46 PM

The Mach 1 is a HELL of a mount but at the focal length your looking at using I think even the AP would be tested to it's limit.

#9 gillmj24

gillmj24

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4900
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2005
  • Loc: PA

Posted 26 April 2010 - 01:34 PM

I had mine working fine


I note you say "had" and now you have a AP 900 :)

#10 lineman_16735

lineman_16735

    Tak-o-holic

  • -----
  • Posts: 3118
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Central PA

Posted 26 April 2010 - 02:00 PM

The Mach 1 is a HELL of a mount but at the focal length your looking at using I think even the AP would be tested to it's limit.


Where I live it would be very seeing limited.

#11 jgw12936

jgw12936

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007
  • Loc: The Woodlands, TX

Posted 26 April 2010 - 02:16 PM

This is true, Always looking to hang something bigger and heavier on the mount :cool: Had the opportunity to trade the Mach1 for an AP900, I'll have to admit I miss the Mach1 a bit. Here is a pic I took with 55 lbs and a long refractor on the Mach1:



Jim

Attached Files



#12 jgw12936

jgw12936

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007
  • Loc: The Woodlands, TX

Posted 26 April 2010 - 02:29 PM

And here is the little fellow waiting for dark.

I will have to agree with the comment above, I was shooting at a FL of 1178mm. The focal length you are looking at will probably be too much.
Jim

Attached Files



#13 WirelessDude

WirelessDude

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 461
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2008
  • Loc: San Tan Valley, AZ, USA

Posted 26 April 2010 - 04:24 PM

Excellent, Jim! That gives me some reassurance...

I have a 10" LX200R just in case I had "issues" with the 12". Now, I believe I can sell the 10", rest-assured!

Clear skies!

#14 Lane Davis

Lane Davis

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2007
  • Loc: Ephrata, PA

Posted 26 April 2010 - 05:47 PM

Jim, why do you say you miss the Mach1 "a bit"? ...Lane

#15 RAKing

RAKing

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6233
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2007
  • Loc: West of the D.C. Nebula

Posted 26 April 2010 - 05:55 PM

Excellent, Jim! That gives me some reassurance...


Me, too. :cool:

I planned for the Mach1 to be my ultimate mount and that's how I sold it to the CFO. Based on how much weight you have used on it, looks like my plans are good. There is simply no way I could pile any more weight on it than you have. :waytogo:

Thanks for the info and pictures.

Cheers,

Ron

#16 jgw12936

jgw12936

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007
  • Loc: The Woodlands, TX

Posted 26 April 2010 - 05:59 PM

I had it for about two years and absolutely loved it. The uncorrected PE was <3 arc-sec, I could do 10 min unguided . The pointing accuracy was awesome, really miss it more than a bit, but the AP900 is pretty nice too, just need to get used to it it I suppose. Only had the AP900 for about three weeks and just got it polar alighed last night and did PEMPRO PEC training and got the PE down from 4.5 arc-sec to a.75 arc-sec, so I think it is a winner too.
Jim

#17 Mike Clemens

Mike Clemens

    Frozen to Eyepiece

  • *****
  • Posts: 7575
  • Joined: 26 Nov 2005
  • Loc: Alaska, USA

Posted 26 April 2010 - 11:03 PM

excellent shot and awesome kits, Jim

#18 jgw12936

jgw12936

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1091
  • Joined: 28 Mar 2007
  • Loc: The Woodlands, TX

Posted 27 April 2010 - 09:12 AM

Thanks Mike, now if we could get some nice weather....

Congrats to those getting the Mach1!

Jim

#19 DeanS

DeanS

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3255
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Central Kentucky

Posted 27 April 2010 - 09:22 AM

I also traded my Mach1 for a 900 since I wanted to be able to use my TOA-150 with either mount. Would have been fine for visual but maybe not best for imaging.

Anyways, the Mach1 really is a great mount and mine guided extremely well, prehaps better than the 1200 even. If I ever downsize I will get another one for sure.

#20 gillmj24

gillmj24

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4900
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2005
  • Loc: PA

Posted 27 April 2010 - 11:03 AM

How heavy is the TOA?

#21 DeanS

DeanS

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3255
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Central Kentucky

Posted 27 April 2010 - 11:13 AM

The TOA-150 is 33 lbs but requires a 10 lb counter weight for the rear of the tube since it is so front heavy due to all the glass.

Then by the time I add rings, mounting plate, finder, imaging equipment it gets up there.

#22 RAKing

RAKing

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6233
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2007
  • Loc: West of the D.C. Nebula

Posted 27 April 2010 - 11:13 AM

It's close to 43 pounds with the counterweight collar on the back. Add rings, finder, diagonal, and eyepiece - or guidescope and camera gear and you are pushing 50 pounds easy.

It sure is a nice scope, though. :bow:

Ron

#23 DeanS

DeanS

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3255
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Central Kentucky

Posted 27 April 2010 - 11:15 AM

Wow, we must be twin sons of different mothers :bigshock:

#24 RAKing

RAKing

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6233
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2007
  • Loc: West of the D.C. Nebula

Posted 27 April 2010 - 11:16 AM

Wow, we must be twin sons of different mothers :bigshock:


Except you HAVE a TOA 150 and I WANT one. :roflmao:

Ron

#25 microstar

microstar

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1222
  • Joined: 05 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 27 April 2010 - 06:39 PM

Excellent, Jim! That gives me some reassurance...


The uncorrected PE was <3 arc-sec, I could do 10 min unguided. The pointing accuracy was awesome
Jim


I planned for the Mach1 to be my ultimate mount and that's how I sold it to the CFO. Based on how much weight you have used on it, looks like my plans are good.
Ron


I too sold it to the CFO on that basis, so I'm really pleased by this thread -- I have no worries that it won't be up to the task. I currently have a 34lb imaging payload, so I have a lot of growth potential with this mount, particularly because I have the extra stability of it being permanently mounted on a steel pier bolted to 1000lb of concrete. I can't see myself outgrowing this mount any time soon.

My Mach1 was shipped today and is supposed to be here on Friday. Can hardly wait! :jump:
...Keith






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics