• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 tecmage

tecmage

Mercury-Atlas

• Moderators
  • Loc: Glenview, IL

Posted 18 May 2010 - 08:50 PM

I'm very new to astronomy, and started observing regularly a few months ago. One of the first things to hit me was when I observed M42. It was low enough that I needed to stoop down or bend over to view it.

After a few minutes, I realized that a chair was in my future. I broke out an aluminum step ladder, and found that to be okay, but not great. I looked for chairs and found that spending $150 to $300 was a little more than I wanted to spend. So I went looking for plans to build my own.

The Denver Chair is the design I kept running across. I found the original plans and a few variants that I liked. I have access to design tools, fabrication resources and people who know what they're doing. After talking with a couple of coworkers and showing them plans, the suggestion was to try an aluminum chair of my own design.

Well, the design is just about done. I'm hoping to get the design and welding done in the next couple of weeks.

#2 The bear

The bear

Apollo

• Loc: rushville, indiana

Posted 18 May 2010 - 09:31 PM

i would be ver interested in this as i need to build one soon.
doc

#3 WaterMaster

WaterMaster

Moat Keeper

• Administrators
  • Loc: Southeast Idaho, USA

Posted 18 May 2010 - 10:31 PM

Pics! We want pics! :shakecane:

I would love to see an aluminum design.

#4 tecmage

tecmage

Mercury-Atlas

• Moderators
  • Loc: Glenview, IL

Posted 18 May 2010 - 10:41 PM

You and me both! :jump: I'll post when the solidworks design is done, and as we build it.

#5 bilgebay

bilgebay

Skylab

• Moderators
  • Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmaris

Posted 09 January 2013 - 03:36 PM

What happened to this project ?

#6 David L

David L

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Lee County Iowa

Posted 10 January 2013 - 12:07 AM

This is my aluminum chair design. Dave

Attached Files

#7 bilgebay

bilgebay

Skylab

• Moderators