Jump to content


Photo

Getting a ToUCam Pro (840K) to work with Windows 7

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Michael Rapp

Michael Rapp

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3326
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2004
  • Loc: Dickinson, TX

Posted 13 June 2010 - 10:44 AM

I am slowly getting back into imaging after a three year absence and I was testing out my equipment last night. I was especially dismayed to find that my ToUCam Pro (840K model) was not supported by Philips for Windows 7. There are no drivers for it. :(

My camera is in great condition and I think its still a viable planetary camera, so I was not looking forward to having to go buy a new webcam.

After some sleuthing on the internet, I found a workaround! I can't take credit for this as I found it on another forum.

Here is my version of the steps (do this with your camera plugged in and unrecognized):

1) Download and install the Windows 7 Driver (not the software, the driver) for the one of the SPC900 models of webcam from Philips.

2) After rebooting, run Notepad as administrator. If you are running the 32 bit version of Windows 7, navigate to c:\Program Files\Philips\Philips\SPC900NC PC Camera. (If on 64-bit Windows, go to Program Files (x86).)

3) Open Camvid40.inf and edit the following lines. Turn off word wrap and turn on the Status Bar (View menu) to see the line numbers. Or count if you feel like it. ;)

Edit line 66 to look like this:
%USBVid.DeviceDesc%=USBVidx86,USB\VID_0471&PID_0311&MI_00

Edit line 69 to look like this:
%USBVid.DeviceDesc%=USBVidXp64,USB\VID_0471&PID_0311&MI_00

Edit line 72 to look like this:
%USBVid.DeviceDesc%=USBVidVista64,USB\VID_0471&PID _0311&MI_00

You'll notice you seem to be changing the PID attriubute. Perhaps it stands for ProductID?

4) Save the file and then open SPC900.txt from the same directory.

Edit line 2 to look like this:
USB\VID_0471&PID_0311&MI_00

5) Save the file and close notepad.

6) Go to Device Manager (right click on Computer, choose Properties, then select Device Manager on the resulting screen.)

7) Under Other Devices, you'll see an Unknown Device. This is your currently unrecognized webcam. Right click on the unknown device and select Update Driver Software. Select Browse my Computer and go to C:\Program Files\Philips\Philips SPC900NC PC Camera (again, if you're on Windows 7 64-bit, you want to go into the Program Files (x86) directory.) Make sure Include Subfolders is checked and click next.

8) In a few moments you should have a nice recognized webcam. It will recognize the 840K as the SPC 900, but it should work just find in your capture software.

9) Enjoy and do something else with the time you would have spent reformatting with Windows XP or messing with a virtual XP machine. :jump:

#2 Michael Rapp

Michael Rapp

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3326
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2004
  • Loc: Dickinson, TX

Posted 13 June 2010 - 02:14 PM

Sigh....now I find this! :roflmao:

Or, find a Windows XP computer and replace the ToUCam Pro II/840K's firmware and make it a ToUCam Pro III/SPC900NC!

I did this and it worked flawlessly. And I feel like I just got a new camera for free! :jump:

http://mysite.verizo...81b/toucam.html

#3 Chris_H

Chris_H

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4752
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2003
  • Loc: Norway

Posted 13 June 2010 - 04:02 PM

Wow, he actually managed to copy and paste my entire guide. At least he left my name in! :lol:

#4 Michael Rapp

Michael Rapp

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3326
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2004
  • Loc: Dickinson, TX

Posted 13 June 2010 - 04:09 PM

That was you? Great! I had found the forum post last night and copied it, but didn't copy anything else but the steps. When I went to go find it again, the forum had locked me out for some reason.

No slight was intended and glad I can now attribute it to you as it worked perfectly. Saved me from having to buy an LPI or something.

How did you ever figure out what values to change the PID to (or those were the values to change for that matter)?

#5 RedIrocZ-28

RedIrocZ-28

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1554
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2005
  • Loc: Grand Rapids, Michigan

Posted 13 June 2010 - 10:36 PM

Yes, I flashed mine to a 900 and have been using it since. I think I even get better images now. Could be the EQ platform though...

#6 Harry Jacobson

Harry Jacobson

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2007
  • Loc: 42º29'32.03"N 71º34'59.85"W

Posted 21 October 2010 - 04:24 PM

Chris,

Your (borrowed) guide concerns the ToUcam Pro II. Is it certain the method will work with the ToUcam Pro (previous model)?

The procedure appears to require Windows XP since the ToUcam driver appears already installed. Might it be done in Windows 7 after the ToUcam Pro is made operational using the procedure above?

Thank you,
Harry

Viewing preferences: (1) naked eye, (2) binos, (3) scope, (4) astro imaging

#7 Chris_H

Chris_H

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4752
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2003
  • Loc: Norway

Posted 21 October 2010 - 04:40 PM

Never done it myself (only on the 840) but others have done it so I guess the upgrade works there as well (740/750/840)

#8 Harry Jacobson

Harry Jacobson

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 240
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2007
  • Loc: 42º29'32.03"N 71º34'59.85"W

Posted 21 October 2010 - 06:01 PM

Hmm. Tried Michael's procedure twice, that is, uninstalled, unplugged, rebooted, inserted ToUcam Pro 840K, re-installed spc900nc_00_dw7_eng.exe, went to Device Manager, Universal Serial Bus controllers, Unknown Device ('cause that's where it plugged itself!), Chose update driver, drilled to C:\Program Files\Philips\Philips SPC900NC PC Camera, pressed go, same diff, a Window stating:

Attached Files



#9 Chris_H

Chris_H

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4752
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2003
  • Loc: Norway

Posted 22 October 2010 - 10:08 AM

Was the firmware update successful?

Try uninstalling and installing it directly from Device Manager. Sometimes that works better. You might have to do this in safe mode.

#10 RedIrocZ-28

RedIrocZ-28

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1554
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2005
  • Loc: Grand Rapids, Michigan

Posted 22 October 2010 - 10:41 AM

Harry are you doing this on a WinXP computer? It will NOT work in Win7, and that looks like a Win7 screenshot.

#11 MisterBill

MisterBill

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 183
  • Joined: 18 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Geezerville aka S.FL, MILE 264

Posted 29 July 2011 - 08:03 AM

This might work for an 840,
For my SPC880, which is actually 775 firmware on 900 hardware and no button, I downloaded "spc900nc_00_dw7_eng.exe" for Windows 7 from Philips webpage and ran it.
Pluged in the camera, went to Windows device manager and Right clicked on "Unknown Device"
Clicked "Update Driver Software"
Clicked "Browse my computer"
Clicked "Let me pick from a list"
Scrolled down and selected "Sound, video and Game controllers" then clicked Next
Scrolled down and Selected "Philips CE CSI" and then "Philips SPC 900NC PC Camera"
Clicked Next, and then Yes to the "update driver warning"
The Camera is now usable in Windows7 apps. It is now listed as Philips SPC 900NC PC Camera.

If you want to,
You can then download and run both WcRmac and WcCtrl to flash your cam into an SPC900NC PC Camera.

#12 M.Koyuncu

M.Koyuncu

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 21 Mar 2008
  • Loc: İstanbul - TURKEY

Posted 16 December 2011 - 06:54 AM

Thanks,

It works. Error messages seen after plugging the cam are not important messages.

#13 stanislas-jean

stanislas-jean

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2053
  • Joined: 22 Oct 2008

Posted 16 December 2011 - 07:37 AM

I cannot give you the link from my office being not accessible.
However, you can access to the site google.fr
write "pierro-astro"
this site is bilingual
research the cam/webcam page
you will find the drivers for XP, Vista and 7 for the philipps webcam color or B/W.
Stanislas-Jean

#14 stanislas-jean

stanislas-jean

    Vanguard

  • -----
  • Posts: 2053
  • Joined: 22 Oct 2008

Posted 16 December 2011 - 02:10 PM

Driver is here
http://translate.goo.../language_tools

or here

http://www.pierro-as.../Downloads.html
Stanislas-Jean

#15 DRC1838

DRC1838

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 31 Aug 2013
  • Loc: Vienna VA

Posted 31 August 2013 - 05:07 PM

I performed Michael's recommendation to get the Toucam to work on Win7, but can't get Win7 to recognize the camera as an imaging device. Tried different loading ideas and in every case the drivers set up the camera as a sound device. What am I doing wrong? :confused:

#16 Dragon Man

Dragon Man

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2062
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2006
  • Loc: Snake Valley, Australia

Posted 23 September 2013 - 05:18 AM

This might work for an 840,
For my SPC880, which is actually 775 firmware on 900 hardware and no button, I downloaded "spc900nc_00_dw7_eng.exe" for Windows 7 from Philips webpage and ran it.
Pluged in the camera, went to Windows device manager and Right clicked on "Unknown Device"
Clicked "Update Driver Software"
Clicked "Browse my computer"
Clicked "Let me pick from a list"
Scrolled down and selected "Sound, video and Game controllers" then clicked Next
Scrolled down and Selected "Philips CE CSI" and then "Philips SPC 900NC PC Camera"
Clicked Next, and then Yes to the "update driver warning"
The Camera is now usable in Windows7 apps. It is now listed as Philips SPC 900NC PC Camera.

If you want to,
You can then download and run both WcRmac and WcCtrl to flash your cam into an SPC900NC PC Camera.


Thank you Bill, your method worked perfectly for me. :waytogo:

Philips ToUcam Pro II now running in HP Pavillion G series, Core i5, Win7 64 bit. :)






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics