Jump to content


Photo

asa ddm 85 in house.

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Erwin Kats

Erwin Kats

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010
  • Loc: ijmuiden,holland

Posted 22 June 2010 - 11:27 AM

Hey folks,

i sayed it before but once again i could not login anymore on my old username ( crims ) so i made a new account.

lets start with some great news,after 9 months of hard working, sometimes 70 hours a week, i have managed enough money to order my asa ddm 85.

Frank Griffel his website was very usefull for me to show an impression of the mount, Frank also was kind enough to help me with finding some answers.
Karel Teuwen and Josch Hambsch have also helped me with some answers.

so, here some pics of picking the mount up.

here in the back of my brothers car ( yes, my brother needed to help me to pick the mount up from my local dealer, because of this new mount for me i had no money anymore for a drivers license lol )
Posted Image

box number one, DEC unit and 2x 5kg counterweights.
Posted Image

the 2 counterweights in a very nice packaging.
Posted Image

the box of the RA unit with a dovetail bar and the massive counterweight shaft.
Posted Image

under the foam.
Posted Image

unboxed.
Posted Image

Posted Image

for making the pointingfile i recommend a rumble pad / game controller.
heres mine a cheap 9 euro USB controller, it works great !
Posted Image

just some pics.
Posted Image

Posted Image

here is an big photo of my setup.
http://www.astro-lan...ment/asa-10.jpg

here you can see a small slewing test.
http://www.youtube.c...h?v=9RAQmd7KrkY

because i am in my exam period on school i can not use the mount every night, but last week i did a quick pointing file of 10 start on the east of the meridian and i pointed the telescope ( vixen r200SS 8'' F4 (800mm )) with eos 40D on M51.
i made an 10 minute unguided exposure on iso 1600
the photo is cropped and my telescope is way out of collimation ( bussy with building some cooling fans in the ota )
no further processing.
http://www.astro-lan..._0076-klein.jpg

#2 TxStars

TxStars

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1382
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Lost In Space

Posted 22 June 2010 - 11:58 AM

Congrats on the new mount.It looks great.
What made you decide on a Losmandy tripod?

#3 Erwin Kats

Erwin Kats

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010
  • Loc: ijmuiden,holland

Posted 22 June 2010 - 01:58 PM

Congrats on the new mount.It looks great.
What made you decide on a Losmandy tripod?


thanks.
i already had the g-11 tripod, i am still welding my pier but ill finish the pier when my school is ready.
besides the g-11 tripod is very strong.

#4 CounterWeight

CounterWeight

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8213
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Palo alto, CA.

Posted 22 June 2010 - 10:22 PM

Beautiful, congrats on that amazing mount!... also thanks for posting the image, it speaks as well. ;) Look forward to hearing more - good luck with your exams, hope you can keep you mind in the books.

#5 David Pavlich

David Pavlich

    Transmographied

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 27794
  • Joined: 18 May 2005
  • Loc: Mandeville, LA USA

Posted 22 June 2010 - 11:27 PM

That's a really nice piece of hardware!! Congratulations.

David

#6 Renae Gage

Renae Gage

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1120
  • Joined: 13 Dec 2005

Posted 22 June 2010 - 11:38 PM

Is drool on the computer keyboard potentially dangerous?

#7 BPO

BPO

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 367
  • Joined: 23 Feb 2010
  • Loc: South Island, NZ

Posted 23 June 2010 - 08:30 PM

Fantastic, and definitely one on my watch list.

#8 bilgebay

bilgebay

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4262
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008
  • Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmaris

Posted 25 June 2010 - 01:03 AM

Looks very high-tech ad precise. Can be my next mount when I come to the limits of my New Atlux mount which also is very neat and tidy.

Enjoy using it!

Sedat

#9 Chris Lyons

Chris Lyons

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2009
  • Loc: Baltimore

Posted 25 June 2010 - 01:10 AM

Hey fellow DDM club member! It's great
to meet you! It sure looks like these
mounts are starting to get known now.

#10 remuscj

remuscj

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 215
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2006
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 25 June 2010 - 10:54 AM

that is sure one heck of a fancy mount! congratulations!

#11 Chris Lyons

Chris Lyons

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2009
  • Loc: Baltimore

Posted 25 June 2010 - 05:12 PM

Wait until you see one up close and
personal! They really are a work of
machine art.

#12 Frank_Griffel

Frank_Griffel

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 27 Nov 2007

Posted 29 June 2010 - 09:03 AM

BTW, if someone has a slightly bigger scope to carry:
http://tinyurl.com/28coa7d

#13 Emanuele

Emanuele

    Lord of the Ring

  • *****
  • Posts: 5657
  • Joined: 19 Nov 2003
  • Loc: Brescia, Italy

Posted 29 June 2010 - 09:26 AM

Frank, the link does not work...

#14 lambermo

lambermo

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 574
  • Joined: 16 Jul 2007
  • Loc: .nl

Posted 09 July 2010 - 05:18 PM

Congrats on the mount Erwin !

#15 Phecda

Phecda

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Finland

Posted 16 July 2010 - 03:42 PM

Hi!

That sure is truly magnificent mount.

I'm interested of getting the little brother of this mount - the DDM60 Pro. What kind of power supplies are people using for powering these mounts?

I read the product manual for the DDM 60 and it states that 12 volts is absolute maximum voltage. Is it really so or does the mount work on a voltage range like Astro-Physics mounts. For example 11-14 volts?

I have a high quality power supply capable of outputting 20 amps @ 12 volts, but it has maximum voltage of 13,5 V. Could it be used with ASA DDM mounts?

#16 Egon Doeberl

Egon Doeberl

    Vendor ASA

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 18 Jul 2009
  • Loc: austria

Posted 17 July 2010 - 03:12 AM

Hi Sami,
in our product manual " 12V max. 10A" means the mount need 12 volt with maximum 10 amps. Normal are 1 to 2 amps enough.
You can use 11 to 18 volt, and we test the mount also with higher
voltage.
We design the mount for 12 volt for using in the field with normal Car batteries.
Sami, no problem with your power supply at the DDM 60 Pro!

Best Regards
Egon

#17 Phecda

Phecda

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Finland

Posted 17 July 2010 - 06:54 AM

Thank you Mr. Doeberl!

This confirms that the mount I shall purchase in the near future will be a product of ASA.

#18 Erwin Kats

Erwin Kats

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010
  • Loc: ijmuiden,holland

Posted 18 July 2010 - 06:47 AM

Thanks all!

@Sami,
i am using a phoenix contact 12 volt 15 amp power supply, 5 amps were not enough for slewing @ 13 degrees a second......
tonight ill post some more info about things that don't work, and things that surprise me for the price of this piece of metal.

#19 Erwin Kats

Erwin Kats

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010
  • Loc: ijmuiden,holland

Posted 19 November 2010 - 03:42 PM

its a while back, but...
i went to south france with belgium astrophotographer Karel Teuwen.
we did go for 1 week.

this time i took my asa ddm 85 with me, for some longer focal length test

i did use the wrong spacer for the QSI 583 WS, i did not even took one with me but after some thinking, and the help from astrophotographer Martin Rusterholz, i used a stock 2'' nosepiece as spacer, but instead of 20mm to less i now had 4mm to much spacer.

so here some pics.


Pelican nebula=5x15min + 8 darks chip -20 degrees celcius
Posted Image

Wall in NGC 7000 =2x15min + 8 darks chip -20 degrees celcius
de 2 streepjes in het midden zijn 2 meteoren.
Posted Image

NGC 7822 =8x15min +8darks chip -20 degrees celcius
Posted Image


the setup
Posted Image

Here a pic of moonset
Posted Image


all pics are unguided, but there is still alot to learn from this mount.
especially the software part.

kind regards, Erwin

#20 luck

luck

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 306
  • Joined: 31 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Earth

Posted 19 November 2010 - 04:10 PM

Erwin, Very nice mount. Congrats.

About your account. I have had the same problem, made new account. If you have logged in on Cloudy nights on different PC, try to delete the cookies on those PC's. Maybe that helps...

#21 joec33

joec33

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 307
  • Joined: 13 Jun 2009
  • Loc: Orange County, NY

Posted 19 November 2010 - 06:34 PM

Lucky you! That mount is a dream come true. I've been working my butt off to save money for the DDM60PRO. After seeing your pics of the DDM85 it's got me thinking though. How steep is the learning curve coming from your G11?

#22 Erwin Kats

Erwin Kats

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010
  • Loc: ijmuiden,holland

Posted 20 November 2010 - 12:47 PM

i have been working my *BLEEP* off also ;)
i have some advantages because on my school i had to work with PID regulators etc.

in the ddm is also a PID regulator, its not hard to understand, my version of the ddm 85 fine tuning is needed of the values, i have seen the newer ddm 85 version were the tuning is less sensitive.

the ddm 60 has some other things, that i can not explain, but they can be read on the asa yahoo group.

The ddm works very well with the software, in my case the sky 6, and maxim dl

Polar alingment is pretty easy, make a small pointing file ONLY on the east of the meridian, with a few stars, then you have to center a star in the south near the meridian, then you have to center that star with the azimuth and altitude knobs.

i normally do this procedure 3 or 4 times for the best file.

a big advantage i did a few weeks ago is making a autopointing file.
(this is after a polar alingment )
first i made a manual pointing file, but doing 30 or 50 stars on the east and west of the meridian is very time consuming.

now with some software you make a selection of the area you want to have the stars, for the pointing file and it captures pictures etc
it self.

but thats some background information ;)

afterall for me it was a small step :), but with a big learning curve.

#23 Eric.R

Eric.R

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 06 Feb 2012
  • Loc: Tenerife, Canary Island, Spain

Posted 22 March 2012 - 12:23 PM

Hi Frank,
I would like to know your overall experience of using your DDM 85, ease of use, problems encoutered etc....
Thanks in advance for your advices, :)
Eric

#24 Erwin Kats

Erwin Kats

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 20 Jun 2010
  • Loc: ijmuiden,holland

Posted 09 April 2012 - 09:41 AM

small update, for the whole section.
My mount has been repaired after a fail in the encoder system ( good service from ASA )
but after that.... *pigeon sound* no reply on anything.

The software is still a pain.....even after 50 updates....
at the moment i am writing a small sum up of the mount (around 15 pages ), and waiting for the new telescope to arrive for final conclusions.

#25 dan17

dan17

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 152
  • Joined: 30 Mar 2009

Posted 09 April 2012 - 12:45 PM

OMG, I am serriouslly considering ASA DDM 60 pro vs. PMX.
After that ....... Looks like PMX would be the better choise.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics