Jump to content


Photo

A silly question -heq5/cg5

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 vlad10

vlad10

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • Loc: Alicante (Spain)

Posted 23 June 2010 - 06:19 AM

Hi
Dont know if this popped up before, but can the whole goto from a CG5-GT be adapted and fitted on the heq5? Just trying to check my options here, I think the heq5 is a better mount than my own cg5-gt mechanicaly speaking but the software and the gotos are much better on my mount...

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • ****-
  • Posts: 10892
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 23 June 2010 - 08:43 AM

Highly unlikely. A major issue is that the motors are fundamentally different (servos on the CG-5, steppers on the EQ-5).

#3 vlad10

vlad10

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • Loc: Alicante (Spain)

Posted 23 June 2010 - 08:50 AM

I was thinking of installing all the electronics of the cg5(motors included) on the heq5, all but the mechanical parts

#4 glava2005

glava2005

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 285
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2009
  • Loc: Zagreb, Croatia

Posted 23 June 2010 - 09:26 AM

it would be easier to just buy the EQ5 SynScan upgrade and install that? think it`s around 320euros

http://www.teleskop-...EQ-5-mount.html

#5 vlad10

vlad10

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 35
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2006
  • Loc: Alicante (Spain)

Posted 23 June 2010 - 09:31 AM

Yes I know, my point was though to avoid using the Synscan. I have seen heq5 Synscan and the cg5 side by side, and although I think its mechanically better, the celestron software and the gotos are superior, thats why I was considering and trying to find any information about adding the asgt electronics on the heq5.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics