• Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1 Aircoffee

Aircoffee

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Inver Grove Heights, MN

Posted 20 August 2010 - 08:13 PM

:help: Hi all, Looking for some help and advice. I'm completely new to telescope and I stumbled across a great deal on this scope. The mirror was confirmed by Parks Optical to be a 10"/F6.1 and to my untrained eye looks to be in very good shape. The scope is about 20 years old. The mount needs tlc (bad paint, rusty hardware, but it all works). There is one problem with the mount. It has a drive motor broken off. The motor label says it's from hanksmotors in Reedburg, Wisconsin and runs at 1 rpm. Was this even the correct motor? It's for moving the scope left to right (when the balance weight is down vertically). Already looked at Jupiter with a 25mm Parks Gold lens and what appears to be a Parks adjustable barlow. WOW!! My daughter and her friends can't wait to look through this scope. Any advice on upgrades, pictures, restoration processes, etc. all welcome. Please. :bow:

Attached Files

#2 mustgobigger

mustgobigger

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Michigan

Posted 20 August 2010 - 08:47 PM

hi,
welcome to CN.
i had a parks with a broken Dec motor and yes that is the correct motor. you can still get the motor online.
ill look up the link later when i get home.
looks like you got yourself a keeper.
congrats on a nice find.
Brian

#3 mustgobigger

mustgobigger

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 20 August 2010 - 08:50 PM

here you go. LINK

#4 gnowellsct

gnowellsct

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 20 August 2010 - 08:59 PM