Photo

Sketching Supplies and Equipment/Scanners.

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Wil2010

Wil2010

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Millville, CA

Posted 09 October 2010 - 11:07 AM

Greetings.

I'm just getting started in skywatching and sketching. Really enjoy looking at all the fine and amazing sketches here. I notice that a lot of you scan your images to the computer and then convert to a "negative" image.

Question: What types of scanners do you use, and what types of supplies ( pencils, paper type and weight, etc. ) do you use to create the best negative images.

Again, amazing work on this site and thanks for your time.

Wil

#2 lunar

lunar

Vanguard

• -----

Posted 09 October 2010 - 12:34 PM

I use everyday pencils (HB) to do my sketches, while using these paper wound sticks I picked up at a local Hyatts a few years ago. I heaven't been to that store in years, but I'm in the process of bugging my parents to take me there again. As for inverting, the program that came with the scanner/printer does all of that, however, I've read and heard that GIMP and others do it a lot better.

#3 hbanich

hbanich

Apollo

• Loc: Portland, Oregon

Posted 10 October 2010 - 12:10 AM

Hi Wil,

I use a mechanical pencil with 0.7mm HB lead, a good eraser and acid free paper in a Canson 8x5 inch sketch book. I usually clean up my raw sketches the next day to make sure they realistically portray what I saw in the eyepiece. Even though my raw sketches tend to look pretty good while I’m at the eyepiece (red light seems to have a nice blending effect of its own) in the light of day they are very “sketchy” looking.

Before scanning I usually try to make the sketch as realistic as possible, which mostly involves smoothing out the individual pencil lines. I’ll smooth and blend them with a combination of smudging with a finger tip and/or my eraser. I’ve done it this way since I was a kid so it’s second nature now.