• This topic is locked This topic is locked
807 replies to this topic

#1 elwaine

elwaine

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Jupiter

Posted 20 November 2010 - 03:49 PM

This is going to be a down and dirty evaluation of my particular IEQ45 mount. It is not meant to portray anything other than that. I am not claiming that my mount is a true representative sample. YMMV. I encourage other owners to report on their IEQ45 mount so that we can eventually learn what a typical IEQ45 is capable of.

I intend to be very picky - not to put off any potential buyers, but to provide as accurate a critique as I can. Since the mount has "the look" of an Astro-Physics 900 and a 1200 - and since I used to own an A-P 600E GTO and a 1200 GoTo - I intend to compare my $1,600 IEQ45 with my recollection of the $5,000 and $9,800 mounts from Astro-Physics. If nothing else, iOptron invites the comparison by knocking off the appearance of A-Ps mounts. - I have no personal experience with any other GEMs in the price range of the IEQ45, so I will not comment on any of those mounts.

Here is the tripod:

Posted Image

The tripod, 2 counter weights, and wiring "stuff" are all packed together in one carton. The mount head comes in a separate box. The tripod is sturdy, and thanks to the 2" diameter legs, it should provide a stabile platform. It has a spreader/locking device similar to those on a Celestron or Meade heavy duty tripod.

The first clue as to how the manufacturer cuts corners to produce a nice looking, and quite sophisticated mount for only $1,600, can be seen in the close up (insert). The spreader is not designed well. Had they tapered the spreader there would be no gap (small, circled arrow in insert). While this is just a supposition, a tapered fit at the leg/spreader junction would likely reduce vibration better than the "single point" contact, as shown. Still, it does seem to be a robust, capable tripod.