35 replies to this topic

#1 DugDog

DugDog

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Temecula, Ca. USA

Posted 29 November 2010 - 04:37 PM

Does anyone have one of these devices?
http://alnitakastro....ducts/flat-man/

Comments, suggestions, or alternative devices welcomed.

I have always struggled with my Flats and was hoping the Flat-Man might give a more consistent flat.

Thanks!

#2 Peds

Peds

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Brasília, Brazil

Posted 29 November 2010 - 05:12 PM

Dug, I have no experience with the Flat-Man, but you could always try constructing your own electro luminescent panel for a fraction of that cost. I've seen a number of posts here on CN on these and they've reported great results. I might make my own soon.

P.

#3 dsnope

dsnope

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: OC California

Posted 29 November 2010 - 05:31 PM

Just stuff an EL Panel into a $8 plastic picture frame and you're good to go. I drape an old black T-shirt (free) over the whole thing to keep stray light away from others.

#4 shwright50

shwright50

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 29 November 2010 - 05:49 PM