• Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1 astroneil

astroneil

Surveyor 1

• Loc: res publica caledoniae

Posted 09 January 2011 - 04:53 PM

Hi Folks,

I'm a complete newbie on this forum, so please go easy on me :)

While waiting on a large refractor purchase; I've decided to take a chance on a lightly used SkyWatcher 180 Pro Mak (original gold tube) version. I've always enjoyed Maks in smaller sizes but I've never gone this big before.
I'd be very keen to hear your opinions on this scope, and in particular, how it stacks up against a larger 5" or 6" refractor once the problem of cooldown has been addressed.

Thanks in advance for all your views.

With best wishes,

Neil. :cool:

#2 ahlberto

ahlberto

Apollo

• Loc: lisbon-portugal

Posted 09 January 2011 - 07:45 PM

Once this scopes has cooled down they are excelent performers on planets,moon and doubles without beeing as massive as a 6" refractor.This maks are second to none in planets and would be a excelent buy

#3 Asbytec

Asbytec

Guy in a furry hat

• Loc: La Union, PI

Posted 09 January 2011 - 08:26 PM

Neil, just finished putting my Orion 150 Mak through it's paces, and it seems to be an excellent performer. You can read the star test and observations here.

http://www.cloudynig...5/o/all/fpart/1

I can't tell you if a 180 will actually 'outperform' a 6" refractor, but the Mak is no slouch. Both designs apparently have some level of inherent SA, but can be well corrected and produce very sharp images and high Strehl values. You may also read up on effects of an obstructed vs unobstructed apertures to help you decide.

As for the mount and such, actually the Skyview Pro mount is quite hefty for the 150. I like it. It is smooth and sturdy. I imagine it will easily support the 180, too.

Take your time, do plenty of reading...then decide.

#4 jmeriaux

jmeriaux

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: California

Posted 10 January 2011 - 04:42 PM

Hi,