• This topic is locked This topic is locked
43 replies to this topic

#1 dave brock

dave brock

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Hamilton, New Zealand

Posted 12 January 2011 - 02:28 AM

I've been given a 16" Cass to evaluate and possibly refigure. I've done a very quick test of the primary and it has only about 30% correction toward a parabola. It's also got a rough surface and a TDE. Pics to follow. The owner believed it to be a Classical Cass. but it is evidently closer to a Dall Kirkham. I assume the secondaries (there are actually two of them, giving different focal ratios) are of similar quality. Startest actually shows the overall correction is reasonable but in focus star images are poor due to the TDE and surface roughness. It also shows a lot of coma.(Dall Kirkham?)
I've very little experience with polishing cass. optics and don't even have a spherometer so I have a question for the experts.
It seems the easiest option is to repolish the primary to fix the TDE and smoothen the surface but keep the overall correction as is. Recoat it and then repolish the secondaries using the startest to test or possibly test through the back. Use a comacorrector.
The other option is to refigure the primary to a parabola and refigure the secondaries to a hyperbola using startest. Is this feasible using the existing radii of curvature?
Here's the foucault.

Dave

Attached Files

#2 dave brock

dave brock

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 12 January 2011 - 02:34 AM

Ronchi 133 lpi

Attached Files

#3 dave brock

dave brock

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 12 January 2011 - 02:47 AM

Star at focus

Attached Files

#4 Mark Harry

Mark Harry

Vendor

• Vendors
  • Loc: Northeast USA

Posted 12 January 2011 - 07:05 AM