Jump to content


Photo

CG-5ASGT hand controller extension cable

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Mary B

Mary B

    Vendor - Echo Astronomy and Electronics

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 3075
  • Joined: 21 May 2010
  • Loc: Minnesota

Posted 28 January 2011 - 11:26 PM

A search has produced no hits for this but is it possible to extend the CG5 hand controller cable? Want to run it into the warm room of the observatory.

#2 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4582
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 29 January 2011 - 12:13 AM

Look on the internet for RJ12 'DATA' cables. They are wired 'straight' thru. Phone cables are wired 'twisted' and will not work. You can find them as long as you want up to hundreds of feet. You will also need a connector available any where for a $1 or two.

http://www.homedepot...ocStoreNum=6647

Stan

#3 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • ****-
  • Posts: 11095
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 29 January 2011 - 09:43 AM

Mary

Yup, Stan's right on ... look for cables and an inline connector described as straight through 6P6C (6 pin 6 cable) and stay away from anything described as telephone extension cable.

It is very hard to find a matching black coiled straight through cable, a couple of sources are the DEC cable for an ASGT mount or the or the old ST-4 cable that came with the GPUSB product (today this is a flat cable). Most folks don't bother with trying to find a coiled cable and simply use a flat cable.

#4 jimb1001

jimb1001

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 470
  • Joined: 14 Nov 2009
  • Loc: Florida

Posted 29 January 2011 - 12:49 PM

Look on the internet for RJ12 'DATA' cables. They are wired 'straight' thru. Phone cables are wired 'twisted' and will not work. You can find them as long as you want up to hundreds of feet. You will also need a connector available any where for a $1 or two.

http://www.homedepot...ocStoreNum=6647

Stan


I went to radio shack and bought a 6' extension cable and a connector block right off the rack. Cost was about $8.
Plugged it in to my CG5 GT and it works fine.

#5 Mary B

Mary B

    Vendor - Echo Astronomy and Electronics

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 3075
  • Joined: 21 May 2010
  • Loc: Minnesota

Posted 29 January 2011 - 01:38 PM

Thanks everyone, going to need about 20 feet so I will look around(or try to find my RJ crimp tool that has come up missing).

#6 gary-sue69

gary-sue69

    Messenger

  • *****
  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: 19 Jul 2007
  • Loc: Maybee MI.

Posted 29 January 2011 - 06:42 PM

Hi Mary,
This might work for you. http://www.astrophot...ion-cable-cgem/
Gary

#7 Mary B

Mary B

    Vendor - Echo Astronomy and Electronics

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 3075
  • Joined: 21 May 2010
  • Loc: Minnesota

Posted 29 January 2011 - 11:44 PM

I was PMed a link for cables cheaper than I can build them(if I can ever locate that dang crimper).

#8 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Aurora

  • *****
  • Posts: 4582
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 30 January 2011 - 05:22 AM

Mary,

Would you be willing to share the link with us?

Stan

#9 mcoren

mcoren

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1423
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Virginia, USA

Posted 30 January 2011 - 08:29 AM

Have you looked into this one from ScopeStuff?

#10 Mary B

Mary B

    Vendor - Echo Astronomy and Electronics

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 3075
  • Joined: 21 May 2010
  • Loc: Minnesota

Posted 30 January 2011 - 02:31 PM

Link was sent to me by David B in NM cables scroll down to the straight cables.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics