• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Special Ed

Special Ed

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Greenbrier Co., WV 38N, 80W

Posted 19 February 2011 - 10:36 PM

Hi Folks,

After doing a graphite white light full disk sketch of the Sun, I switched gears and did this hydrogen alpha sketch. Observing report is with the sketch.

I switched media, too, going from graphite on white paper for the white light sketch to conte' crayon on black Artagain paper for the Ha sketch. I also used Derwent white Graphtint and white watercolor pencils. For blending, I employed a stump, a cloth and my finger.

Conte' is messy--I kept blowing off the excess material. You just have to be careful you don't spit all over your drawing. :)

I'm still learning--feedback and criticism welcome.

#2 frank5817

frank5817

Cosmos

• Loc: Illinois

Posted 20 February 2011 - 12:15 AM

Michael,

A super looking sketch. I don't think you need any help at all, my only criticism is that it looks beautiful - a positive criticism for certain.

Frank :)

#3 Tommy5

Tommy5

Mercury-Atlas

• -----
  • Loc: Chicagoland

Posted 20 February 2011 - 12:19 AM

very nice sketch, lots of detail, it looks like the sun has finally woke up.

#4 Special Ed

Special Ed

Fly Me to the Moon

Posted 20 February 2011 - 12:07 PM

Frank, Tommy--thank you very much. :) The little PST is a good performer, even when conditions are less than perfect. Good transparency (which I enjoyed) is a must with the PST in order to see a lot of detail, in my experience.

Frank, you're too kind. I basically try to do what Erika does with her Ha sketches, but she has a whole lot more practice than I do. The next thing is to learn how to make the solar "surface" appear to swirl around the active regions as it appears in the eyepiece.

I forgot to mention in my op that I also used a charcoal pencil to render the sunspots and the thin black active region filament (ARF).

#5 TenthEnemy

TenthEnemy

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Maryland