Jump to content


Photo

Celestron CG-4 Mount only $199.00 at Astronomics

  • Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 meteorite

meteorite

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 716
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2006

Posted 11 March 2011 - 01:01 AM

Astronomics is having a great sale on the Celestron CG-4 Omni mount. Only $199.00 (plus shipping). I purchased one recently. It's a great mount for small scopes. I love the white color as it goes well with my AT72. The 1.75 inch stainless steel legs are far superior to the Orion Astroview version (which costs more). The motions are very smooth. The CG-4 is advertised as having roller bearings. I don't know what type bearings the Astroview has but I have owned that mount as well and the CG-4 seems smoother (maybe just my enthusiastic imagination :jump:

I would like to replace the slow motion cables with some solid aluminum knobes. Anyone know where they can be had?

Anyway, it a good deal.

http://www.astronomi...product_id/CG-4

-Walter

Attached Files



#2 Trev

Trev

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 879
  • Joined: 18 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Fort McMurray, AB

Posted 11 March 2011 - 10:04 AM

Check these out

http://www.focusknobs.com/

#3 meteorite

meteorite

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 716
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2006

Posted 11 March 2011 - 10:16 AM

I have already emailed him. Never got a reply but I will try again. Thanks.

-Walter

#4 Don Trinko

Don Trinko

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2272
  • Joined: 05 Jul 2009
  • Loc: Ohio

Posted 11 March 2011 - 10:29 AM

Radio Shack has knobs for old radios that should fit. They are cheap compared to the Astronomy ones. Look for the ones with brass inserts. You want the ones with a 1/4" hole.
If your slow motion is slightly smaller than 1/4" it will still work, if slightly bigger you may have to drill the insert slightly larger. ( some slow motion are 1/4" but some are metric but close to 1/4") Don T.

#5 dandabson

dandabson

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 192
  • Joined: 15 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Dover, DE

Posted 13 March 2011 - 06:16 AM

I have the aftermarket focus knobs as shown in the link above. Go for the extended version. These are extremely high quality and are a really nice addition.

#6 AlienRatDog

AlienRatDog

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1805
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Ann Arbor

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:14 AM

How do people think a 100ed f/9 scope would sit on that? Or am I better with cg5 type mounting?

#7 Bart

Bart

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2730
  • Joined: 28 May 2006
  • Loc: Somewhere near Charlottesville, VA

Posted 13 March 2011 - 10:33 AM

What drive will fit the CG-4?

#8 Jim7728

Jim7728

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 7869
  • Joined: 10 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Stoop Landing Observatory, NYC

Posted 13 March 2011 - 10:49 AM

This one fits:

http://www.telescope...delcg4mount.cfm

#9 meteorite

meteorite

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 716
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2006

Posted 13 March 2011 - 11:05 AM

Thanks for the link for focus knobs. I ordered them from Lou yesterday.

-Walt

#10 Bart

Bart

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2730
  • Joined: 28 May 2006
  • Loc: Somewhere near Charlottesville, VA

Posted 13 March 2011 - 11:33 AM

It should work just fine. The CG-4 has a 18lbs rating. The should be enough to work with the 100ED. If you were thinking about imaging it probably won't be big enough.

#11 AlienRatDog

AlienRatDog

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1805
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Ann Arbor

Posted 13 March 2011 - 11:37 AM

I am using a Portamount II and would like some tracking and better stability...

#12 Bart

Bart

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2730
  • Joined: 28 May 2006
  • Loc: Somewhere near Charlottesville, VA

Posted 13 March 2011 - 11:37 AM

Thanks for the tip Walter, I just ordered one. Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy, another toy!

#13 lfforte

lfforte

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: 02 Feb 2011

Posted 13 March 2011 - 07:20 PM

This one fits:

http://www.telescope...delcg4mount.cfm


The Celstron dual axis-motor drive takes 4 D or C batteries. In the long run it will cost a fortune in batteries. Is there any dual axis drive that can run off AC?

#14 AlienRatDog

AlienRatDog

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1805
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Ann Arbor

Posted 14 March 2011 - 12:25 PM

Use rechargeable batteries...I used to have a dual axis drive on the SKyview Pro way back when...the batteries easily lasted months...you aren't slewing...they really don't take that much juice...

#15 Doug76

Doug76

    Long Achro Junkie

  • *****
  • Posts: 10839
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2007
  • Loc: Refractor Heaven

Posted 14 March 2011 - 12:53 PM

This one fits:

http://www.telescope...delcg4mount.cfm


The Celstron dual axis-motor drive takes 4 D or C batteries. In the long run it will cost a fortune in batteries. Is there any dual axis drive that can run off AC?


Replace the battery pack with a 6V ac/dc supply. Radio Shack sells a variable output 1A supply.

#16 Nippon

Nippon

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 972
  • Joined: 22 Oct 2009
  • Loc: Central Florida

Posted 14 March 2011 - 10:06 PM

The single axis drive that Orion offers for their AstroView also works perfectly on the CG4. I bought one for my CG4 because it is just simpler and there are less wires. When polar aligned my CG4 will keep an object centered for hours. The controller has 8x slew speed in both directions plus 2x and stop. The mount is quite steady with my TV85. I paid about $269 a year or so ago. At $199... well what is not to like.

#17 lakeorion

lakeorion

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 575
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Lake Orion MI

Posted 15 March 2011 - 07:21 AM

Total torture. And I spent this months budget on a finderscope already...

#18 eric_zeiner

eric_zeiner

    Phoenix's Dad

  • *****
  • Posts: 8040
  • Joined: 09 Dec 2006
  • Loc: Georgia USA 34 31'57.18N 83 53'26.30W

Posted 15 March 2011 - 07:33 AM

This really is total torture as I am so broke that I cannot even pay attention :bawling: :bawling: :bawling: How long are they on sale for?

#19 Gargoyle

Gargoyle

    Ranger 4

  • *****
  • Posts: 348
  • Joined: 13 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Long Island, New York

Posted 15 March 2011 - 12:45 PM

I'm usually not a sucker for these low price impulse purchase opportunities, but this just makes sense.

Jerry

#20 Doug76

Doug76

    Long Achro Junkie

  • *****
  • Posts: 10839
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2007
  • Loc: Refractor Heaven

Posted 15 March 2011 - 05:57 PM

I am using a Portamount II and would like some tracking and better stability...


http://www.jimsmobil...altaz.htm#Vixen

#21 Doug76

Doug76

    Long Achro Junkie

  • *****
  • Posts: 10839
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2007
  • Loc: Refractor Heaven

Posted 15 March 2011 - 06:04 PM

This really is total torture as I am so broke that I cannot even pay attention :bawling: :bawling: :bawling: How long are they on sale for?


Until they are gone. It was a special buy, like the Omni XLT102ED kit they also have on sale.

#22 N1ghtSc0p3

N1ghtSc0p3

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2011
  • Loc: Texas

Posted 16 March 2011 - 10:37 PM

I see the pic at the start of this thread with an AT72ED, and I'm wondering if that combo, when the mount is motorized, would make a decent budget imaging setup? Im considering the AT72, and would run either a CCD or my light DSLR. Thanks!

#23 Starhawk

Starhawk

    Space Ranger

  • *****
  • Posts: 5546
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 17 March 2011 - 08:13 AM

Don't replace the battery pack. In periodic use, you'll go through a set if D cells in 6 months. The instant you set GOTO aside, power requirements drop to nothing. The controller has no voltage or current protection. It is safe on D cells. The replacement drive costs a lot of D cells.

-Rich

#24 meteorite

meteorite

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 716
  • Joined: 28 Jan 2006

Posted 17 March 2011 - 01:50 PM

GOTO? This mount isn't GOTO.

-Walter

#25 N1ghtSc0p3

N1ghtSc0p3

    Explorer 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 82
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2011
  • Loc: Texas

Posted 17 March 2011 - 04:57 PM

I think the point is simply that GOTO consumes a LOT of power, and that this mount is 'aside' from GOTO, and therefore the drives will run much longer on D batteries...






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics