Jump to content


Photo

My New Not So CGEM

  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 Magellan

Magellan

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1348
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Enfield, NS Canada

Posted 12 March 2011 - 06:52 PM

So I went to pick up my CGEM today. Assembled easy enough but its missing things, things that are important like RA a DEC setting circles and seems to be missing a tiny screw (seen in the picture) and also the hand controller holder slides alllll the way down the leg, whats the point on that?

So far I am not happy :(

#2 Peter in Reno

Peter in Reno

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5781
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2008
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 12 March 2011 - 06:58 PM

I don't think CGEM has setting circles. Many GoTo mounts don't come with setting circles.

http://www.celestron...D=16&ProdID=548

I do not see your picture?

Peter

#3 Magellan

Magellan

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1348
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Enfield, NS Canada

Posted 12 March 2011 - 07:06 PM

for the love of god LOL.

I was looking at the picture of the CGEM mount that showed the mount head and a warning to make sure that the clutch is tightened. In that picture it shows the CGEM with setting circles.

Am I an idiot or what?

Now to figure out the fleeting hand controller holder haha

#4 nemo129

nemo129

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3106
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010
  • Loc: WMass

Posted 12 March 2011 - 07:15 PM

No, you are not an idiot. In the PDF manual for the CGEM, they have a couple of figure insets that show the mount with silver setting circles with black index numbers on them. Since they probably made the manual based on beta units, I can see how this happened. I had the same question when I first got mine over a year ago!
I am curious about the HC holder, mine has a serious grip on the tripod leg once snapped into place!

#5 Peter in Reno

Peter in Reno

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5781
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2008
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 12 March 2011 - 07:18 PM

I don't own it but it does show setting circles for Dec axis but not for RA axis in the operating manual. I wonder if this is a picture of a prototype before it went into production.

What tiny screw are you referring? The one on the setting circle as shown in the picture?

Peter

Attached Files



#6 Magellan

Magellan

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1348
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Enfield, NS Canada

Posted 12 March 2011 - 07:21 PM

The tiny hole in my picture above the arrow.

#7 Peter in Reno

Peter in Reno

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5781
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2008
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 12 March 2011 - 07:25 PM

I don't see your picture. Where is it?

Peter

#8 RTLR 12

RTLR 12

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4498
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2008
  • Loc: The Great Pacific NorthWest

Posted 12 March 2011 - 07:38 PM

Jeff,

Soak the HC holder in very hot water (not quite boiling) for a few minutes. Then pinch the ears on the holder together long enough for the the plastic to cool. It may take a few tries to get the fit you need.

Stan

#9 Bart

Bart

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
  • Joined: 28 May 2006
  • Loc: Somewhere near Charlottesville, VA

Posted 12 March 2011 - 08:32 PM

So I went to pick up my CGEM today. Assembled easy enough but its missing things, things that are important like RA a DEC setting circles and seems to be missing a tiny screw (seen in the picture) and also the hand controller holder slides alllll the way down the leg, whats the point on that?

So far I am not happy :(


I own a CGEM and I can tell you definitively that it has no setting circles. Like the previous poster said, GOTOs don't have them.

#10 Magellan

Magellan

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1348
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Enfield, NS Canada

Posted 12 March 2011 - 09:09 PM

I am old school.. Pushto... I do have an SLT but its a different beast. Forgive my noobness :)

#11 Magellan

Magellan

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1348
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Enfield, NS Canada

Posted 12 March 2011 - 09:47 PM

Sorry here is the picture:

Posted Image
IMG-20110312-00066 by AstroJeff, on Flickr

Now I am trying to figure out how to adapt an ADM DC8 to my orion 8" f4 astrograph's tube rings and the Vixen guidescope kit. I am sure I will come up with something.

#12 Peter in Reno

Peter in Reno

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5781
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2008
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 12 March 2011 - 09:59 PM

There may be a set screw buried inside the threaded hole. Like I said I don't own this mount.

I don't think ADM DC8 will work with your Orion 8" F4 because DC8 is a dovetail for Celestron 8" scope. You probably need something like this:

http://www.admaccess...s_Universal.htm

You mount the tube rings onto the holes of ADM universal dovetail. Before you buy it, there are two versions, one is for standard size and other is for metric. Measure the hole spacing distance underneath the tube rings. It's either 2" or 60mm.

Peter

#13 nemo129

nemo129

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3106
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010
  • Loc: WMass

Posted 12 March 2011 - 11:18 PM

That is one of the set screws for adjusting the backlash for the RA axis worm gear. It is normally a 2mm hex key or Allen key screw. If you look in with a flash light you should see the screw head, if it is not there, you have an issue.

#14 Parsec96

Parsec96

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 188
  • Joined: 07 Mar 2011
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 13 March 2011 - 08:31 AM

I just got my CGEM and I have the same problem with the leg brace. To fix it, it tightened it with duct tape. Hope it helps!

#15 Bart

Bart

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
  • Joined: 28 May 2006
  • Loc: Somewhere near Charlottesville, VA

Posted 13 March 2011 - 09:22 AM

Magellan,

My scope looks exactly the same in regard to the screw holes. I used a flashlight to have a look, I can see the bottom of the hole, but I can't tell if it's an allen head or flat head screw. In fact, I can't tell if there is a screw in it. It looks like there could be nothing there. I understand your concern. But, my mount seems to work fine, so I'm assuming whatever is down there, or not, is correct.

So I guess what I'm saying is that you're CGEM seems fine.

Hope that helps, clear as mud huh? :lol:

#16 nemo129

nemo129

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3106
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010
  • Loc: WMass

Posted 13 March 2011 - 11:45 AM

Well, one way to find out is to put a 2mm hex key in there and see if it goes into the socket at the end of the screw head that should be there. Do NOT turn it unless you really want to play with the backlash, which on a new mount you do not want to do unless you suspect you have backlash issues. If it were me I would want to know if it was there as it is a critical piece of hardware and the best time to seek resolution with a reseller or vendor is right after recieiving the equipment. They seem to become less cooperative as time goes on, then you are dealing with the manufacturer and the time frames for resolution change... not usually in your favor! :crazy: YMMV.

#17 Magellan

Magellan

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1348
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Enfield, NS Canada

Posted 13 March 2011 - 02:27 PM

Well I got it mounted anyway. I had to make the holes larger to receive bolts but the bolt heads do scrape very slightly in the saddle but I don't think it's too bad.

Posted Image
IMG-20110313-00067 by AstroJeff, on Flickr

#18 nemo129

nemo129

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3106
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010
  • Loc: WMass

Posted 13 March 2011 - 02:57 PM

Looking good! :waytogo: Hey, is that 17 lb. counterweight going to be enough to balance the mount in RA? I noticed you have it waaaay out there at the tip of the CW shaft.

#19 Magellan

Magellan

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1348
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Enfield, NS Canada

Posted 13 March 2011 - 06:12 PM

Nemo, good eye, it is the 17 that came with it. I also bought an extra 11lb and the extension on scopestuff. I don't think it was balanced in RA when I took this shot. Balanced is about halfway. Its when I mount the guidescope thats going to mess with the balance.

#20 akua

akua

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2006

Posted 13 March 2011 - 06:54 PM

For fixing HC holder from sliding down the leg I used a strip of thick self-adhesive felt pad or or sheet foam and stick inside the opposite end of the bracket opening.
It now works perfectly for me.

#21 Vindes

Vindes

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 29
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2011

Posted 13 March 2011 - 08:47 PM

Odd about the bracket not holding. Mine clamps on there with a death grip. Perhaps somewhere in the mfg process they packaged some brackets for the beefier CGEM DX legs with some regular CGEMs?

#22 Magellan

Magellan

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1348
  • Joined: 26 Jan 2006
  • Loc: Enfield, NS Canada

Posted 21 March 2011 - 09:19 AM

Honestly, I don't use the holder anymore, I just let it dangle. I don't want to revive this post but its better than flooding new posts I guess.

I had my first night out last week and I was dissapointed to say the least. Tracking was nowhere even close, balancing issues to boot I was frustrated. I did a noob thing, I guess at polaris, which I now know was my mistake.

Thankfully a member of my RASC Chapter helped me with my Balance issue. I can now balance perfectly, but, big BUT my Dynamic balance is way off when the guidescope is attached. Short of the story is, I can't mount the guidescope in a piggyback fashion. I am going to create an aluminum plate to mount it on the side, which should help with my dynamic dec balance issue.

I setup around 8PM, made sure balance was as perfect as I could make it, making sure I am as close to polaris as I could be without a Polar Scope then I did a two star alignment and added 1 calibration star, then a All Star Polar alignment, to my amazement it was centered in the field so I made no adjustments. I ran a few Gotos and it centered it in the field each time! It was working so good I decided to try taking a few images of M42 and it was then I noticed dec drift and ra drift, not bad but I definitely need to work on polar alignment :)

#23 nemo129

nemo129

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3106
  • Joined: 03 Jan 2010
  • Loc: WMass

Posted 21 March 2011 - 06:37 PM

Have you tried to use the All Star Polar Alignment Utility? It will help with that polar alignment issue.

#24 Robert Fink

Robert Fink

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 01 Mar 2011
  • Loc: California

Posted 21 March 2011 - 06:43 PM

My new CGEM has the same problem with the control holder slipping down the leg. I just used a rubber band to tighten it, and no problems. My CGEM has no setting circles, either.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics