Astro-Physics vs. ASA mounts

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 coz

coz

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 23 March 2011 - 01:26 PM

I'm having trouble on deciding on a mount for my AP 130GT scope. I'm a rookie who wants a premium goto mount which I won't need to upgrade for a long time. I have a dslr and want to get into astro photography slowly maybe get a ccd down the road. Here are the pros and cons as I see them. Please correct me if I'm wrong or pls share opinions. I'm using the mount in the field and will be set up in different locations. I have a mac. Thanks

ASA
new direct drive technology. no gear parts to wear out?
Solid engineering very stable.
will not need to use autoguider up to 20min exposures
building pointing models takes 30 mins
software is windows only? can run in parallels on mac.
Price is 30+% higher than AP.
ASA fairly new company. Will support measure up to AP? Is it bulletproof and would I never need support!

AP Mach 1
proven reliable performance
fantastic support from company and others
price is less than ASA
Much faster set up time
Hand controller can eliminate computer if desired
New APCC software realeased soon will have pointing models if I even need it.

#2 coz

coz

Mariner 2

• -----

Posted 23 March 2011 - 01:39 PM

It really helped me right all of this down. I'm now very much leaning towards the Mach 1. For my style I think setting up pointing models each session will discourage me from using the mount. Perhaps if it was in a permanent location it would be a tougher choice. Add to that the cost difference and I think I have my answer.

#3 skybsd

skybsd

Skylab

Posted 23 March 2011 - 01:46 PM

Very pragmatic of you..,

Regards,

skybsd

#4 t.r.

t.r.

Aurora

• Loc: 1123,6536,5321

Posted 23 March 2011 - 01:50 PM

You have answered your own question...correctly I might add!

#5 drksky

drksky

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Bloomington, IL

Posted 23 March 2011 - 01:56 PM