Jump to content


Photo

Minitower died

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Scott Rose

Scott Rose

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 727
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: beachwood ohio

Posted 05 April 2011 - 09:23 PM

This is my second MT. The first never worked well from the get go. It wound up in the dumpster by my office. I bought another one just this winter and had it upgraded. I thought I would use it as a quick grab n go mount. Tonight was the second night of using it and guess what. Stopped working. It just sits there and does not even hum, even though it is on. The controller is working, but the mount does not slew or anything. This mount has been the most disappointing and total waste of money I have spent in this hobby. Anybody looking for a large paperweight?

#2 jason_milani

jason_milani

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2349
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2004
  • Loc: Northeast Ohio

Posted 05 April 2011 - 09:29 PM

Send it over here, Scott. I have a lot of paperwork lying around and i'm right around the corner. ;)

Seriously, sorry about your issues. Why did you purchase a second after the bad experience with the first?

#3 Scott Rose

Scott Rose

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 727
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: beachwood ohio

Posted 05 April 2011 - 09:38 PM

I thought the upgrading would have made a difference. I liked the idea of a small goto lightweight mount. I have a tak em200 and a vixen sxd, but set up is more time. I liked the idea of something for quick set up and looks. will need to look into something else that is reliable to fill the void.

#4 jason_milani

jason_milani

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2349
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2004
  • Loc: Northeast Ohio

Posted 05 April 2011 - 10:23 PM

Maybe a Vixen Skypod? It's similar to the Minitower but most likely more reliable.

Good luck.

#5 Scott Rose

Scott Rose

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 727
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: beachwood ohio

Posted 05 April 2011 - 10:45 PM

good idea

#6 johnpd

johnpd

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 443
  • Joined: 12 Apr 2008

Posted 06 April 2011 - 12:20 AM

Hi Scott,

I can sympathize with you. I have had a similar experience with multiple MTs. If iOptron could get their problems resolved, it would be a great product.

JohnD

#7 Ira

Ira

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2624
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Mitzpe Ramon, Israel

Posted 06 April 2011 - 12:59 AM

Scott,
Who did the upgrade?

/Ira

#8 Scott Rose

Scott Rose

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 727
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: beachwood ohio

Posted 06 April 2011 - 06:02 AM

Trapezium Telescopes did the upgrade. Probably not their issue, most likely electronics in the circuit board. But the bottom line is, this product is a real *BLEEP* shoot. A good idea with poor quality control and design excecution.

#9 marked

marked

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2009
  • Loc: Silverthorne, CO

Posted 06 April 2011 - 08:07 AM

Scott - sorry you had a problem again. Could you describe what you tried to get your MT working? Did you try different power sources or anything? iOptron support was very helpful when I had issues with my MT, and helped me get it working fine.

Ed

#10 Scott Rose

Scott Rose

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 727
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: beachwood ohio

Posted 06 April 2011 - 08:27 AM

I set it up and did a two star polar alignment. Then slewed to a couple of Messier objects, right on target. Then I went to saturn. I went in the house to go to the bathroom and came back out 5 minutes later and it was not in the eyepeice. The tracking stopped. I figured I would try to start all over and went to park position and the scope did not move. So I turned it off and manually moved it to starting position and turned it on. The hand controller came on and acquired GPS. I went to align and tried two star, but the scope did not slew to the first start. I turned it off and on and tried easy alignment and the scope did not slew. In fact, even trying to slew with the conroller did not work, nothing moved. There was no noise like a gear trying to work, just silence.

#11 Lt 26

Lt 26

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 911
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Northwest Illinois

Posted 06 April 2011 - 11:20 AM

I have been wanting one of these for two years now. Never hear much good about them. They all seem to fail but have great customer support. I would rather have it the other way around.

Dereck

#12 marked

marked

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2009
  • Loc: Silverthorne, CO

Posted 06 April 2011 - 11:36 AM

Scott - that sure sounds frustrating. Did you try plugging the hand controller into the other HBX socket to see if that made a difference? That solved a problem that I had with mine. Also the MT is known to be power sensitive. What was the power source you used (battery, 120V)? Do you know if it was receiving constant voltage? Just a few thoughts that might help.

Ed

#13 Scott Rose

Scott Rose

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 727
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: beachwood ohio

Posted 06 April 2011 - 11:40 AM

I tried both HBX slots and had a fully charged powertank.

#14 germana1

germana1

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 536
  • Joined: 14 May 2009
  • Loc: New Jersey

Posted 06 April 2011 - 11:55 AM

Scott I just sent in My cube pro last week was just shy of 2 year warranty and less than a week was fixed no problem if its less than 2 years email them they will fix it HTH Pete

#15 marked

marked

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 73
  • Joined: 22 Jan 2009
  • Loc: Silverthorne, CO

Posted 06 April 2011 - 12:23 PM

Well Scott, I'm clueless. I'd send it back to iOptron and get them to repair or replace it. Please let us know what happens.

Ed

#16 Scott Rose

Scott Rose

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 727
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2008
  • Loc: beachwood ohio

Posted 06 April 2011 - 01:09 PM

It was modded by trapezium, so I will see what they will do for me. The problem is probably not with the mod, but with electronics, but who knows. I will see how well Ioptron stands behind their products.

#17 ovgjr

ovgjr

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 279
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2008
  • Loc: PA, USA

Posted 06 April 2011 - 01:47 PM

The MT was my idea of a quick grab and go. Have to look for something else now. Good luck getting it replaced.

#18 Larry F

Larry F

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
  • Joined: 24 May 2004
  • Loc: Westchester, NY

Posted 07 April 2011 - 05:51 AM

On the Yahoo MT group, there is a recent discussion about poorly-made circuit boards.

#19 Ira

Ira

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2624
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Mitzpe Ramon, Israel

Posted 07 April 2011 - 06:43 AM

Steve Forbes at Trapezium Telescopes says that the recent MiniTowers have had mods to the circuit boards that make them prone to failure. Not so the MT Pro, apparently.

/Ira

#20 LunarRover

LunarRover

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 03 Nov 2009
  • Loc: Arkansas

Posted 07 April 2011 - 08:25 AM

I've tried to warn about the MiniTowers on here. I've been through the same frustrating experience.
My first died after a few months and was sent back to me NOT repaired and the NEW replacement they sent died a few weeks after receiving it. So much for supposed "customer service". They suggested it was my battery pack, which it wasn't. Didn't matter if it was a/c, battery pack, or internal batteries.
I have reason to believe the first examples were dependable mounts...after that forget it.
The frustrating part is iOptron continues to sell these knowing full well they have problems. I'd be wary of any of their products after my experience.

#21 bam

bam

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 26 Oct 2010

Posted 07 April 2011 - 04:30 PM

Scott,
I was having problems with my minitower initally. I was never able to manually slew to any object. I spoke to Ioptron and they gave me some basic ideas to troubleshoot the problem. Some things were obvious like checking the power source and pressing the speed buttons to have it slew faster than the default speed. Nothing seemed to work. I finally replaced the batteries in the unit, even though I was using an external Celestron power tank. Once my new batteries went in, it started working fine and has has been working ever since. I probably just got lucky, and it does not necessarily relate to your problem, but I figured I would pass it along. I hope I am one of the lucky ones with a "good" MT

Bruce

#22 XpMe

XpMe

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: 22 Dec 2007
  • Loc: Dallas,Texas

Posted 09 April 2011 - 10:01 AM

Sounds like Ioptron needs to recall MiniTowers just like Toyota had to do their recalls on cars they sold.

#23 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15402
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 09 April 2011 - 02:45 PM

Sounds like Ioptron needs to recall MiniTowers just like Toyota had to do their recalls on cars they sold.


Only worse. Every one of the people I know with an MT has had problems. None of the fellow Toyota owners I know has. ;)

#24 DoctorNoodle

DoctorNoodle

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1280
  • Joined: 14 Jul 2007
  • Loc: Lawn Guyland, NY

Posted 18 April 2011 - 03:58 PM

I consider myself lucky in that my MT has been working fine after sending it back to iOptron last year. They've been on the market for a few years, now. I'd expect that they'd have the bugs worked out by now.

BTW, my wife's Toyota has been problem-free.

#25 Photoner

Photoner

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 647
  • Joined: 06 Dec 2006

Posted 18 April 2011 - 05:34 PM

Quote the Raven....






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics