Jump to content


Photo

IEQ75

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 AntarcticDave

AntarcticDave

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 288
  • Joined: 03 Feb 2009
  • Loc: Denver, CO

Posted 11 April 2011 - 01:05 PM

I just noticed this on iOptron's site:
IEQ75

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • *****
  • Posts: 10772
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 11 April 2011 - 01:36 PM

I'll go out on a limb and suggest that the .3 arc/s "tracking error" is likely the accuracy of the motors/encoders, and that the mount will demonstrate a different number in actual use.

#3 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15408
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 11 April 2011 - 04:27 PM

I just noticed this on iOptron's site:
IEQ75


Yeah...but ".3" _what_...seconds? Minutes? Degrees? ;)

#4 mistyridge

mistyridge

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3036
  • Joined: 28 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Loomis, CA

Posted 11 April 2011 - 05:34 PM

Looks like a white CGE with chrome.

#5 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

    Refractor wienie no more

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 33735
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2003
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 11 April 2011 - 06:15 PM

Yeah...but ".3" _what_...seconds? Minutes? Degrees? ;)


The claim is .3 arcseconds due to corrections from hi-res encoders on the RA axis. Such systems exist, and some of them work. We may never know about this one; I've heard no reports of beta test units in the field. Apparently they won't actually build one until someone takes a chance on a $3000 deposit. I don't see how tacking such a thing onto a mount from a company with a history of producing only low-end gear will suddenly make it sufficiently attractive compared to a Bisque or AstroPhysics mount at a similar price for that to happen.

They aren't wording the claim correctly anyway. What the system can control is tracking RATE error. There are many other factors affecting tracking error.

#6 Phil Cowell

Phil Cowell

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1565
  • Joined: 24 May 2007
  • Loc: Southern Tier NY

Posted 11 April 2011 - 06:39 PM

Looks like a white CGE with chrome.


Only holds 75#, the CGE Pro is 90# capacity. IOptron are not a Synta company. Looks to me like they tried to copy an AP mount. In the same price range as an AP 900GTO as well.

#7 gdd

gdd

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1401
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2005
  • Loc: N Seattle suburb, WA

Posted 11 April 2011 - 07:13 PM

The claim is .3 arcseconds due to corrections from hi-res encoders on the RA axis. Such systems exist, and some of them work.



By themselves they require very accurate PA. I don't recall where the specs say whether the encoder solution works well with autoguiding to compensate for PA, flexure and other errors. It should work well with an AO8.


Gale






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics