Jump to content


Photo

Atlas load

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 Doug76

Doug76

    Long Achro Junkie

  • *****
  • Posts: 10839
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2007
  • Loc: Refractor Heaven

Posted 13 April 2011 - 11:09 AM

This question is aimed at those who have mounted an Atlas on a pier, or on a heavier duty tripod than the one the Atlas is supplied with.
What is the maximum load you have installed on the Atlas, and how well did it carry it?

#2 Asimov

Asimov

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4126
  • Joined: 11 May 2010

Posted 13 April 2011 - 12:20 PM

I have mine riding a portable pier with a 14" newt riding it. Admittedly I have constructed a new skeltal framed OTA to keep the weight down. Total weight of the OTA is 31LB.

It's doing it easy.

#3 RogerRZ

RogerRZ

    Whatta you lookin' at?

  • *****
  • Posts: 3140
  • Joined: 09 Jan 2006
  • Loc: West Collette, NB, Canada

Posted 13 April 2011 - 01:08 PM

I have mine on a 8x8 piece of maple, set into a 12" concrete post, which is in turn set into a 24" diameter, five foot long hunk of concrete. I sometimes mount my C11 on it, and it is very steady. I have a ADM D series saddle on in, as with the stock Vixen style saddle, all I had were wobbles.

Right now, there is an 8" f/6 ota on it, and it is also very solid. Focusing wiggles die down in less than a second.

I don't think I'd mount much more weight than that on it. I certainly wouldn't want to go any longer than the 48" Newt.

Needless to say, the Genesis SDF is a pleasure to use on this mount.

#4 Jeff in Austin

Jeff in Austin

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1538
  • Joined: 26 Feb 2007
  • Loc: TEXAS

Posted 13 April 2011 - 06:45 PM

I have 32 lbs loaded on my Atlas for AP. Using a Pier. No problems.

#5 BKBrown

BKBrown

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3224
  • Joined: 22 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Northern Virginia, USA

Posted 13 April 2011 - 06:57 PM

I have my Atlas on a Losmandy HD tripod with an Optical Supports adapter. My C11 Edge and heavily upgraded C925, both coming in at 32-34 pounds full up, have no problems whatsoever.

Clear Skies,
BrianB

Attached Files



#6 Asimov

Asimov

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4126
  • Joined: 11 May 2010

Posted 13 April 2011 - 07:33 PM

Anyone pushing the so called limit of 40 + LBS?

#7 alpal

alpal

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3663
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2009
  • Loc: Melbourne Australia.

Posted 13 April 2011 - 10:12 PM

I have 12Kgs or about 26 lbs on my EQ6 Pro mount.
I am having guiding problems but I believe that is not the cause.
I have ordered new tube rings & will mount my guidesope on them
- then see if it works better.

#8 Deven Matlick

Deven Matlick

    Vendor - Criterion Machine Co. LLC

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Moatsville, WV

Posted 14 April 2011 - 01:08 AM

I have over 60 lbs. on mine and it is fine for visual and planetary imaging as long as there is no wind. Wind is only an issue because the scope is 8' long. I balance it with 44 lbs. of counterweights on a 20" shaft.

Attached Files



#9 dvb

dvb

    different Syndrome.

  • *****
  • Posts: 6199
  • Joined: 18 Jun 2005
  • Loc: Vancouver, Canada

Posted 14 April 2011 - 01:46 AM

I had a 10" Skywatcher Newt with rotating rings that topped 45 lb.

The EQ6 (Atlas) handled it very well. I didn't try any still imaging, but I used it for MallinCam, and the pointing and tracking were fine. I just used the stock tripod.

I did replace the altitude bolts with better stainless, and tuned up the azimuth screws, but that seems fairly standard at higher altitudes (49* +).

#10 ASTERON

ASTERON

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
  • Joined: 24 Nov 2007
  • Loc: ISRAEL

Posted 14 April 2011 - 03:50 AM

I regularely mount my 12" LX200ACF OTA with a Long Losmandy D-type Dovetail and radius blocks and a Moonlight focuser on my Atlas EQG ( Total weight exceeds 21 Kg) with Original tripod and original 8" pier extension for visual only.
The mount caries it well with no apparent motor strain (but who knows on the long term).
There are some vibrations when its windy and when I focus but it is OK for me.

I wouldnt recommend this for AP and even for visual it may strain the gear and motors if permanently loaded above nominal capacity - but for now it works fine.

#11 Yannis

Yannis

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 182
  • Joined: 07 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Greece

Posted 14 April 2011 - 06:34 AM

I regularly use the EQ Atlas (NEQ-6) with its own tripod with more than 17 kgr (37.5 lbs?) for Astrophotography. I balance it with 20kgr (4 x 5kgr weights).

It happily carries my GSO RC 10" Carbon Fiber (14.5 kgr) + Guidescope/QHY5 (1.5 kgr) + QHY9/ColorWheel (1 Kgr) + wires.

Guiding at 1492mm (RC10+Reducer) works fine.

So I believe that with Visual only, 20kgr is rather conservative.

It NEEDS proper balancing. Slight unbalance on this load makes the mount lose tracking quality.

#12 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:06 AM

Yes I over do it...I run a AT12IN at 40lbs and with
rings and dovetail its just over 50lbs.I use it on a pier
and some extras.It moans a little,but handles the load fine.The scope is F4 and about 46" long.I now use 3 11 lbs with and extension shaft of 6".
I use this setup with a Mallincam with very good results..But its set up in a pod and well balanced.And I also have a 2nd atlas mount and a spare set of bearnings,motors, and electronics...(just in case

Attached Files



#13 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 14 April 2011 - 10:11 AM

on a tripod

Attached Files



#14 Doug76

Doug76

    Long Achro Junkie

  • *****
  • Posts: 10839
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2007
  • Loc: Refractor Heaven

Posted 14 April 2011 - 11:10 AM

Yes I over do it...I run a AT12IN at 40lbs and with
rings and dovetail its just over 50lbs.I use it on a pier
and some extras.It moans a little,but handles the load fine.The scope is F4 and about 46" long.


This is what I was looking for. Not planning on the AT12IN to go on it, but the AT10IN.

#15 Dmitri F

Dmitri F

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 489
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2005
  • Loc: New Jersey

Posted 14 April 2011 - 11:31 AM

I have a 12" Meade SCT which is 40lbs without counting the Losmandy mounting plate, dew shield, binoviewer e.t.c. No problems.

Piggybacking an 80mm refractor on top is a little problematic. The refractor is further away from the center of rotation than the end of the counterweight shaft. And I can only add a new counterweight closer to the center. SO I need more than 10lb extra counterweight to balance a three pound OTA. The whole setup becomes poorly balanced. Still works but my Go-To is often off (not sure if the heavy weight is the reason but I suspect so). I am looking to get a longer counterweight shaft.

So it seems important where the weight is, not just how big it is.

#16 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 14 April 2011 - 01:08 PM

scope stuff make a 6" extension ,its larger diamiter and there are 2 different thread types.But if you take the plastic insert out of the stock weights,it works great.

I now have the 6" extension on the counterweight bar and a longer adm dovetail....works great..for the AT12IN
I now balance with 3 11 lbs weights,just....with the 6"extensionn.

#17 bluedandelion

bluedandelion

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1880
  • Joined: 17 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Hazy Hollow, Western WA

Posted 14 April 2011 - 01:38 PM

Yes I over do it...I run a AT12IN at 40lbs and with
rings and dovetail its just over 50lbs.I use it on a pier
and some extras.It moans a little,but handles the load fine.The scope is F4 and about 46" long.I now use 3 11 lbs with and extension shaft of 6".
I use this setup with a Mallincam with very good results..But its set up in a pod and well balanced.And I also have a 2nd atlas mount and a spare set of bearnings,motors, and electronics...(just in case


I see four counterweights in this picture with the pier mount. Is that with the stock bar?

Also in the picture with the tripod there appears to be more than 33 lbs of CWs.

Ajay

#18 Asimov

Asimov

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4126
  • Joined: 11 May 2010

Posted 14 April 2011 - 03:40 PM

Wow. There are some decent loads being run on this mount! 60LB Devin? Just goes to show that with careful thought, this mount is a real winner.

#19 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15567
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 14 April 2011 - 04:30 PM

Wow. There are some decent loads being run on this mount! 60LB Devin? Just goes to show that with careful thought, this mount is a real winner.


It is. It is a modern classic. No, it ain't an AP, but maybe it's the poor man's AP. I know I love mine.

#20 idealistic

idealistic

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 980
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2010
  • Loc: massachusetts

Posted 14 April 2011 - 04:31 PM

I want one.

#21 Doug76

Doug76

    Long Achro Junkie

  • *****
  • Posts: 10839
  • Joined: 05 Dec 2007
  • Loc: Refractor Heaven

Posted 14 April 2011 - 06:49 PM

I agree Rod, the more I use it the better I like it.

#22 alpal

alpal

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3663
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2009
  • Loc: Melbourne Australia.

Posted 14 April 2011 - 06:55 PM

I believe the correct imaging load is under 10Kgs & the correct
visual use load is under 20Kgs.

#23 Asimov

Asimov

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4126
  • Joined: 11 May 2010

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:11 PM

Forget about 'correctness' I would suggest.

#24 Zaphod

Zaphod

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: 21 Nov 2007

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:22 PM

I have one on the way, should get here early next month. It will only have to cary a AT6RC and guide scope so should be not problem for the mount. I do live in Oklahoma though,"where the wind comes sweeping down the plain".
-Bob

#25 alpal

alpal

    Soyuz

  • -----
  • Posts: 3663
  • Joined: 15 Jun 2009
  • Loc: Melbourne Australia.

Posted 14 April 2011 - 07:46 PM

Forget about 'correctness' I would suggest.


I don't because I am after the tightest looking pin point stars
that I can get with imaging over 5 minute & longer sub-frames.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics