Jump to content


Photo

DSC's for a G-8

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Don Allen

Don Allen

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 881
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Charleston, SC

Posted 23 April 2011 - 06:09 PM

Tried a search but no success. Does the Argo or Televue system work on a G-8? Also, did not see the encoders at the Losmandy site. Where would I get them?

#2 Richard McC

Richard McC

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2392
  • Joined: 31 Dec 2004
  • Loc: Australia

Posted 24 April 2011 - 02:29 AM

I cannot help you with information about the Tele Vue system but you can certainly use an Argo Navis with a Losmandy GM 8 (non Gemini) mount if you can find a Losmandy encoder hardware kit. Losmandy recently dropped the encoders from their product line (I guess they want to sell more Gemini II systems?). You can try contacting Gary at Wildcard Innovations. They had some sets of the Losmandy encoders available recently (I know this because I bought one). BTW, avoid the encoders JMI offer for Losmandy mounts, they are a poor solution (see the Losmandy Yahoo group for more details).

#3 Don Allen

Don Allen

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 881
  • Joined: 07 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Charleston, SC

Posted 25 April 2011 - 06:48 PM

Thanks Richard...






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics