Jump to content


Photo

Firecapture

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Old Dinosaur

Old Dinosaur

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2939
  • Joined: 08 May 2007
  • Loc: Down there on the river

Posted 27 April 2011 - 05:20 PM

Any of you guys using this program to do your video captures.
IC Capture is back to throwing fits again on my DMK21 at 60fps.
Was doing good for quite a while, but today when I got a chance with some clear sky it was locking up the computer every other run, real pain when it does that.
Thinking about Lucam Recorder, but thought I'd ask around about this Firecapture program, it's free too.

#2 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

    Refractor wienie no more

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 33724
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2003
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 27 April 2011 - 06:48 PM

I use Firecapture with my Chameleon and find it to be very capable. I didn't know it would run the DMK, though - I'll have to try that!

#3 Old Dinosaur

Old Dinosaur

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2939
  • Joined: 08 May 2007
  • Loc: Down there on the river

Posted 28 April 2011 - 07:50 AM

TIS cameras are listed. Firewire and USB.
In a few hours I should be imaging and I'm going to try it out.
I especially like how the sequential capture sounds, capturing manual for a time lapse is a lot of work.
IC is OK, but you'd think there would be some improvements and bug fixes by now.
Lucam I'm not sure of anymore.

#4 Naturlich

Naturlich

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1638
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2009
  • Loc: Dukinfield, Cheshire, UK

Posted 28 April 2011 - 10:03 AM

I had a look at firecapture today, I was supprised to see that 2x2 binning works with my DMK41, I don't get a higher frame rate, but the binning certainly works in all other respects. I'm interested now to see what difference this will make to my night time work with the camera.

#5 Old Dinosaur

Old Dinosaur

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2939
  • Joined: 08 May 2007
  • Loc: Down there on the river

Posted 28 April 2011 - 10:13 AM

I hadn't really been aware of this one.
I was just about to get Lucam for it's features over IC when I found out about it.
I hoped to be out capturing with it now, but the area of the Sun is covered with cirrus, maybe later I guess.

Price is sure right if it works good.

#6 TorstenEdelmann

TorstenEdelmann

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 452
  • Joined: 29 Sep 2004
  • Loc: Landsberg, Germany

Posted 28 April 2011 - 12:38 PM

Hi,

Just to clearify:

I was supprised to see that 2x2 binning works with my DMK41, I don't get a higher frame rate,


I added this to FireCapture because binning isn't supported directly from the TIS SDK. So this is software binning only and therefore you will have the same frame rate.

Regards,
Torsten

#7 Old Dinosaur

Old Dinosaur

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2939
  • Joined: 08 May 2007
  • Loc: Down there on the river

Posted 28 April 2011 - 12:57 PM

Torsten,
Thanks for replying to the thread.
I only got a chance to capture 1 avi this morning and we are getting hammered by 30-40 MPH wind, so I guess that will be it for me.
I did a run at 60FPS with my DMK21 without the problem IC Capture has of a lock up.
The file naming system is confusing, It's going to take me a while to figure out how to get away from a planet name and calling it Solar and direct the AVI into the video folder I like to save in.
But, it just doesn't look like I'll get to try again today.

#8 Naturlich

Naturlich

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1638
  • Joined: 30 Oct 2009
  • Loc: Dukinfield, Cheshire, UK

Posted 28 April 2011 - 03:35 PM

Thanks Tortsten!

I'm interested to see how this will work though, the DMK41 is quiet poor at night time I find, and your binning (even software) is well worth me trying out, it did seem to increase sensativity alot and thats what I've been missing for Saturn. I'm looking forward to giving it a go :)

Nat

#9 swisswalter

swisswalter

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • -----
  • Posts: 6161
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2009
  • Loc: Eastern-Switzerland

Posted 28 April 2011 - 03:43 PM

Hi John

I'm working also with firecapture. For me it's perfect. You can add new presettings as you wish, just follow the tutorial

#10 Old Dinosaur

Old Dinosaur

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2939
  • Joined: 08 May 2007
  • Loc: Down there on the river

Posted 28 April 2011 - 03:47 PM

It cleared a bit a little while ago and I shot a few AVIs.
Firecapture is a great program.
I like the virtually infinite fine adjustments for all the camera settings.
That alone was a great help capturing.
I figured out how to edit and create a new profile and to get the path right to send the AVIs to the folder I like to use for transfering from the observatory to the house.
Sweet program.

#11 Old Dinosaur

Old Dinosaur

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2939
  • Joined: 08 May 2007
  • Loc: Down there on the river

Posted 28 April 2011 - 03:49 PM

Walter, where is a tutorial?
I figured out most of the stuff by going back and forth in the help files.

#12 swisswalter

swisswalter

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • -----
  • Posts: 6161
  • Joined: 29 Mar 2009
  • Loc: Eastern-Switzerland

Posted 28 April 2011 - 03:56 PM

Hi John

wonderful you found it. It is the help file

#13 Jim Lafferty

Jim Lafferty

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2640
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2007
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 30 April 2011 - 09:47 AM

Im playing around with this one today for the first time but dont seem to be able to create a profile called "sun" or solar"
All the planets are listed and there is an edit profile feature but it only lets you change the file name, not the profile name.

Jim

#14 marktownley

marktownley

    Cosmos

  • -----
  • Posts: 8580
  • Joined: 19 Aug 2008
  • Loc: West Midlands, UK

Posted 30 April 2011 - 09:54 AM

Yes, i've been having a read through the help files for this and seems interesting software, may have to have a play around with it later on...

#15 Jim Lafferty

Jim Lafferty

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2640
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2007
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 30 April 2011 - 09:55 AM

oops found the "new profile" dialog--duh!

Jim

#16 Old Dinosaur

Old Dinosaur

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2939
  • Joined: 08 May 2007
  • Loc: Down there on the river

Posted 30 April 2011 - 10:06 AM

oops found the "new profile" dialog--duh!

Jim


:)that took me a while to figure out too.
Then I got to wondering about the "filters", but I guess all that's for is an easy to keep track of method for saving shooting LRGB and such filters.

#17 Jim Lafferty

Jim Lafferty

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2640
  • Joined: 30 Jun 2007
  • Loc: Southern California

Posted 30 April 2011 - 02:28 PM

Did some test shots with this -- will post later today-lots of wind and crummy seeing---first thoughts are that overall i like the software but having to get used to the zoom feature which doesnt make it easy to zoom to a particular feature like IC capture since there are no scroll bars and I am fighting to keep the window on the screen to get to certain parts of the image--probably user error of course lol. I like the time stamp in UT feature, and the quality of the live image on the screen seems better but I wont know if thats for real till I start processing. The pre-processing quality feature looks interesting but i didnt get much time to play with it--one avi just to test the whole idea of just saving the best 30% to start off with.

Jim

#18 Old Dinosaur

Old Dinosaur

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2939
  • Joined: 08 May 2007
  • Loc: Down there on the river

Posted 30 April 2011 - 02:42 PM

Yeah, I only got one quick chance with it and winter came back.
I did find out the time stamp is just that! Every frame has it and it leaves a mess of blur in the corner after I ran the AVI through AS2.
I haven't decided I like the zoom feature either, but I think I can get used to it.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics