Jump to content


Photo

Polar scope on Sirius EQG

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 FarrOut

FarrOut

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1640
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2005
  • Loc: Tampa

Posted 02 May 2011 - 08:46 AM

First night out with new mount.
The red light is too bright to use the polar scope.

How do you remove the scope, and
Has anyone had and fixed this problem?

Thanks
Dennis

#2 darkman

darkman

    Man In Black

  • *****
  • Posts: 2471
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: San Antonio, TX

Posted 02 May 2011 - 06:01 PM


The polar scope just unscrews counter-clockwise. That’s odd, on my Sirius the light is rather dim.

#3 Dougal

Dougal

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1805
  • Joined: 11 Jan 2006
  • Loc: NC

Posted 02 May 2011 - 08:48 PM

I have not had a problem using it on my Sirius as the light is quite dim like Rusty said. However, I did have trouble taking it out the first time I tried, it was pretty snug in there.

#4 FarrOut

FarrOut

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1640
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2005
  • Loc: Tampa

Posted 05 May 2011 - 10:29 AM

Thanks for the replies.
I got brave and kept twisting until the scope came loose.
The LED was positioned directly in front of the scope and made it completely useless. I nudged it out of the way with a pencil so hopefully the scope will be usable.

Dennis

#5 Jimbodaddy

Jimbodaddy

    Lift Off

  • ***--
  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2009
  • Loc: N.E. Georgia

Posted 05 May 2011 - 10:34 AM

I don't own a Sirius EQG, but I do own an Atlas EQG and I believe they have the same handset. In the utilities menu there is a function to control the brightness of the polar scope led. One reason the polar led is so bright is to block out the dimmer stars around Polaris leaving only the north star visible. Look around in your hand set software, chances are that you will find an adjustment to control it.

Clear skies
Jim

#6 JSeay86

JSeay86

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 496
  • Joined: 26 Apr 2009
  • Loc: Tulsa, OK

Posted 05 May 2011 - 11:28 AM

Dennis, I also own an Atlas and I believe that the LED is *supposed* to sit right in front of the opening on the RA axis opening for the polar scope (inside mount near motors).

I am not sure if the Sirius is the same, but by the pictures it looks like it is. That said, I am not sure if you really wanted to move the LED! Where exactly was it located in front of the polar scope?

If in fact you were NOT supposed to move the LED, I expect you would notice during operation that the polar scope field is either not illuminated or is illuminated noticeably uneven.

#7 Phil Sherman

Phil Sherman

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1505
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 05 May 2011 - 01:35 PM

I never had any difficulties with the brightness on my Sirius mount. When I changed to an Atlas; I discovered what all of the "bright polar scope led" talk was about. The newer Atlas mounts have a brightness control for the LED in the hand controller. The Sirius mount didn't have that but also didn't need it.

Phil






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics