• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 Greatshot

Greatshot

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Norton, MA

Posted 03 May 2011 - 03:03 PM

Exactly what it says on the tin... I'm becoming a big fan of double stars, but I'm running short on targets I can actually find. I don't have any way to use (nor admittedly, much interest-- i'm a very visual driver and haven't been able to make much sense of that anyways) in RA/degree listings. Is there any place I can find some actual star charts with these marked? Stellarium doesn't acknowledge the STF name conventions. It seems like a fairly huge list and I think it'd keep me busy for quite awhile. Alternatively if anyone knows any *other* DS catalog that provides actual charts, I'd be equally greatful for that as well. All my attempts at finding them seem to just provide RA/DEC coordinates.

Thanks for the help. :)

#2 stevecoe

stevecoe

"Astronomical Tourist"

• Loc: Arizona, USA

Posted 03 May 2011 - 03:25 PM

Chris;

When I was star hopping I used the Uranometria star charts. That RA/Dec position can be easily turned into a position on the charts. Highly recommended, the combination of Uranometria, a Telrad and a 50mm to 80mm finder will really help.

Clear skies;
Steve Coe

#3 Helcarexe

Helcarexe

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Des Moines, Iowa

Posted 03 May 2011 - 04:52 PM

I would suggest getting that star atlas and or one of the following

The Cambridge Double Star Atlas by James Mullaney
Sky Atlas 2000 by Roger W. Sinnott
Cambridge Star Atlas 2000 by Wil Tirion

They can be of great help as they show which star are doubles and other important DSO in the area.

#4 desertstars

desertstars

ISS

• Loc: Tucson, AZ

Posted 03 May 2011 - 05:52 PM

I've found the coverage of the Struve catalog in the Cambridge Double Star Atlas good enough for my purposes.

#5 mountain monk

mountain monk

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Grand Teton National Park

Posted 03 May 2011 - 07:43 PM