Jump to content


Photo

Which mount for large refractor ?

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#26 neotesla

neotesla

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1121
  • Joined: 18 Nov 2010
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 18 May 2011 - 10:13 PM

This mount was recently pointed out to me, not sure how good it is but for what I was looking at it seemed to good to be true. Claims 100lb. instrument capacity. Anyone have comments about this one?

http://www.tech2000a...ire/powertower/

Is this good enough to do some light AP as well?

#27 jmiele

jmiele

    Patron Saint?

  • *****
  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2010

Posted 18 May 2011 - 11:02 PM

I don't see how that skinny CW shaft is going to support enough weight for a 100 lbs payload. The whole thing looks a bit frightening to me. :)

Joe

#28 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11301
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 19 May 2011 - 06:20 AM

This mount was recently pointed out to me, not sure how good it is but for what I was looking at it seemed to good to be true. Claims 100lb. instrument capacity. Anyone have comments about this one?

http://www.tech2000a...ire/powertower/

Is this good enough to do some light AP as well?


From the way it looks, and the way its advertised, I'd stay away from that one! Read further into the details below and you'll see its really only a 60 lb load - they're counting the counterweights in that 100 lbs. And to be honest, I'm not convinced its anywhere near a 60 lb capacity.

Just my 2 cents.

-Dan

#29 JimP

JimP

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1533
  • Joined: 22 Apr 2003
  • Loc: South Carolina

Posted 19 May 2011 - 09:14 AM

My 8" F/9 TMB is mounted on an AP 1200 GOTO. I highly recommend it!

JimP

#30 Bowmoreman

Bowmoreman

    Clear enough skies

  • *****
  • Posts: 9162
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2006
  • Loc: Bolton, MA

Posted 19 May 2011 - 09:59 AM

This mount was recently pointed out to me, not sure how good it is but for what I was looking at it seemed to good to be true. Claims 100lb. instrument capacity. Anyone have comments about this one?

http://www.tech2000a...ire/powertower/

Is this good enough to do some light AP as well?


given it only has a 20mm diameter counterweight shaft, its gonna flex with anything more that about a 25 pound load, IMHO

#31 Bruce FitzGerald

Bruce FitzGerald

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Arizona

Posted 19 May 2011 - 11:13 AM

The Losmandy Titan and CGE Pro are in the same weight class so it's fair to compare them. The Titan is about 20% more but and this is a really big 'but' their reputation for accuracy and reliability is impeccable where Celestron's is not. I use a CGE Pro for my C-14 and, with all of the stuff I have on the mount it's carrying about 80 Lbs. After a careful three star alignment, the mount is capable of keeping a guide star within the FOV of the guide chip on my SBIG camera with the tracking turned off for 20 minutes or so. With the camera guiding the mount I have taken as many as 30 5 minute subframes without finding difficulties registering them.

With that said, however, I am VERY uncomfortable recommending that anyone purchase this mount over the Losmandy as Celestron's customer service is non-existent and the quality of their products of late has become very spotty. If I were going to spend $5-6 thousand on a mount again it would not be a CGE Pro.

#32 skybsd

skybsd

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4281
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2008

Posted 19 May 2011 - 11:45 AM

The Losmandy Titan and CGE Pro are in the same weight class so it's fair to compare them. The Titan is about 20% more but and this is a really big 'but' their reputation for accuracy and reliability is impeccable where Celestron's is not. I use a CGE Pro for my C-14 and, with all of the stuff I have on the mount it's carrying about 80 Lbs. After a careful three star alignment, the mount is capable of keeping a guide star within the FOV of the guide chip on my SBIG camera with the tracking turned off for 20 minutes or so. With the camera guiding the mount I have taken as many as 30 5 minute subframes without finding difficulties registering them.

With that said, however, I am VERY uncomfortable recommending that anyone purchase this mount over the Losmandy as Celestron's customer service is non-existent and the quality of their products of late has become very spotty. If I were going to spend $5-6 thousand on a mount again it would not be a CGE Pro.


You are aware that the OP is in Europe, yes?

What do you believe Losmandy support is like outside of CONUS?

Regards,

skybsd

#33 Bruce FitzGerald

Bruce FitzGerald

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Arizona

Posted 19 May 2011 - 11:57 AM

Yes I knew the OP was in Europe and given the very poor customer support available from celestron I would not recommend their product for someone who can drive there.

I am not familiar with Losmandy dealers outside the US. But I have used a Losmandy mount on my C8 since 1993 with no problems and no complaints. Their mounts are like jewelry, well made and well finished.

The difficulty with any mount made in America is the manufacturers are small companies. Even Meade and Celestron, which dominate our domestic market, are too small to maintain repair facilities anywhere but at their main facilities.

For that reason alone I would buy the most reliable mout I can find. I also believe you could do much worse than a Losmandy for that price but no better until you get into an Astrophysics mount.

#34 skybsd

skybsd

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4281
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2008

Posted 19 May 2011 - 12:10 PM

Hello,

Yes I knew the OP was in Europe and given the very poor customer support available from celestron I would not recommend their product for someone who can drive there.

I am not familiar with Losmandy dealers outside the US. But I have used a Losmandy mount on my C8 since 1993 with no problems and no complaints. Their mounts are like jewelry, well made and well finished.

The difficulty with any mount made in America is the manufacturers are small companies. Even Meade and Celestron, which dominate our domestic market, are too small to maintain repair facilities anywhere but at their main facilities.

For that reason alone I would buy the most reliable mout I can find. I also believe you could do much worse than a Losmandy for that price but no better until you get into an Astrophysics mount.


At the prices of a Titan in Europe, together with non-existent support.., believe me, there are other options.

Regards,

skybsd

#35 Bruce FitzGerald

Bruce FitzGerald

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 17 Sep 2010
  • Loc: Arizona

Posted 19 May 2011 - 01:01 PM

Good point. I would not pay 9000 Eur for that mount. Ordered From Oceanside it sells for about the same as the CGE Pro or 5995 US (4200 Eur).

#36 skybsd

skybsd

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4281
  • Joined: 01 Feb 2008

Posted 19 May 2011 - 02:32 PM

Hello Bruce,

Good point. I would not pay 9000 Eur for that mount. Ordered From Oceanside it sells for about the same as the CGE Pro or 5995 US (4200 Eur).


Now you know why to many of us, shipping in an AP is actually well worth the effort and investment ;)

Regards,

skybsd

#37 Kelly Taylor

Kelly Taylor

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: 24 Mar 2006
  • Loc: Groves Texas

Posted 20 May 2011 - 03:23 PM

You can get GOTO as an option on Mounts from Optic-Craft.
All you have to do is ask.


Kelly Taylor






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics