Jump to content


Photo

QUANTIX HELP.........

  • Please log in to reply
705 replies to this topic

#626 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 05 March 2013 - 12:12 AM

The cool snaps use a different card with a smaller cable connection. they look like a pretty heavy unit as well, "Though I'm not certain of that. The real game changer is the 6303E for narrow band imaging. The HQ2, you may as well get a 314L rather than battle with that camera. The K4 is the same sensor as the ST402ME and you can get a brand new SBIG ST402ME for $1700. The leap with the 6303E to get a "like" sensored camera, (well you priced them).

I picked up that 1401e more or less for fun since it was $150. I will not be out much if it doesn't deliver as I hope iit will. I've looked at the coolsnaps, but I'm not really very pleased with the body configuration. that would really stress a focuser and be a bear to ballance out in DEC. The 6303E is heavy but at least the mass is close in comparatively.

#627 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5720
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 05 March 2013 - 12:19 AM

the K4 uses a 4020/4022 chip.. the ST402ME only has a tiny/measly KAF-402ME which is 700x500 odd pixels. If the 402ME had a 2K x 2K chip I'd be all over it and I'd forget about all these things...

#628 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 05 March 2013 - 01:38 AM

my bad. didn't read it correctly, a little dislexic. :smirk: I really have to be careful with a measuring tape! ;) the "4020" registered as "402" :o

#629 Cannabi

Cannabi

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2013

Posted 05 April 2013 - 03:32 PM

I am a neuroscience grad student at UCLA. I have an Apogee KX32ME hooked up to a microscope. Someone trashed our ISA or PCI card years ago - not sure why or who did it. I have old CPUs I can connect it.

Basically I am stuck - and I need to the camera up and running. Do you guys have any suggestions?

#630 seryddwr

seryddwr

    Innocent Bystander

  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2010
  • Loc: La-la land.

Posted 05 April 2013 - 09:30 PM

I don't know if the PCI card that came with the Quantix will work or not. I'm not using mine now, so I send it to you. Shoot me a PM.

#631 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 05 April 2013 - 11:19 PM

I am a neuroscience grad student at UCLA. I have an Apogee KX32ME hooked up to a microscope. Someone trashed our ISA or PCI card years ago - not sure why or who did it. I have old CPUs I can connect it.

Basically I am stuck - and I need to the camera up and running. Do you guys have any suggestions?


Have you tried contacting Apogee for some info? Do you have the damaged card? what type of interface cable connection?

#632 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5720
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 06 April 2013 - 02:59 PM

Cannabi, sent you PM. The guy I bought the KX85 from (and to whom I returned it) might be willing to sell it to you. There's also just the PCI card on ebay for $250.

And no, definitely the Quantix PCI card won't work on an Apogee! :tonofbricks:

I can also help you get the Apogee camera up and running, at least with MaximDL. I'm not familiar with the microscopy software.

#633 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5720
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 07 April 2013 - 10:18 AM

Are there any posted images from the Quantix 6303 other than zerro1's images on astrobin?

She Who Must Not Be Named is strenuously opposing my desired purchase of one of these cameras... even though I tell her there is no way I could ever justify spending $8K for an Apogee U9..

#634 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 07 April 2013 - 12:50 PM

"She" Who Must Not Be Named

:rofl5:


other than zerro1's images on astrobin

Hey now? what's wrong with my images? :lol:

here is an uncropped version of the Luminance of M51 shot through my AT6RC with the TRF2008 focal reducer/field flattener(I did fix the blooms on the two bright stars)

Attached Files



#635 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 07 April 2013 - 12:52 PM

100% crop from the "above" image

Attached Files



#636 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5720
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 07 April 2013 - 01:22 PM

Robert, nothing wrong with your pics. They're great.

But if you're the only person who's getting any level of success from this camera.. kind of bodes ill for acquiring one. I've decided to hold off for now. I know I can't afford a U9, but who knows... maybe when Jim starts converting QHY8's to monochrome I'll go for it.

#637 Jim Chung

Jim Chung

    Vendor - Icodome

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Toronto

Posted 07 April 2013 - 01:48 PM

Orlando, here's another Quantix example. M27 with my AP Traveller, 10 minute subs, 2hrs Ha and 7 hrs OIII.


Jim

Attached Files



#638 Jim Chung

Jim Chung

    Vendor - Icodome

  • *****
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2005
  • Loc: Toronto

Posted 07 April 2013 - 01:49 PM

Center cropped!

Attached Files



#639 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5720
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 07 April 2013 - 11:17 PM

Nice!

Got me thinking though, a mono-fied QHY8 would have very similar specs to this thing, albeit a slightly lower QE (about 55% vs 65%) and a slightly smaller chip. But the dark noise would be much less.

Of course a mono-fied QHY8 doesn't exist..

#640 Cannabi

Cannabi

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2013

Posted 08 April 2013 - 03:16 PM

Awesome! Thanks Orly! I have had a busy weekend and am just getting back to this - reading your PM now.

As for the PCI card on ebay - I have checked it out and sent the link to Apogee tech support and they said its configured wrong. They are working on seeing if they have the right prom. And I'm gonna be using Maxim - no different software for now.

Thanks again.

#641 Cannabi

Cannabi

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2013

Posted 08 April 2013 - 03:50 PM

Yeah - Apogee is being helpful - but they do not have any old cards lying around. The KX series is too old for them.

I do not know what the name of the cable is (forgive my ignorance) - its a 37 pin male-female cable. Mates up to the KX camera and the PCI card.

#642 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 02 May 2013 - 07:51 PM

Just a tidbit. I'm talking with a camera manufacturer trying to get some info on building a camera around one of these sensors. They indicated that they built one but the sensor was far too exepnsive so they cancelled the product.
A class 2 sensor was $3600 and a class 1 was $10,000!

I'll add info when I get a better idea if this is something that I will move forward with or not... Wouldn't a USB camera be sweet?

#643 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5720
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 02 May 2013 - 10:25 PM

I think someone else on this thread took the sensor out of a Quantix and re-housed it in an Apogee body.

Since the Apogee 6303 camera is about $8K I imagine you could get the Apogee camera for maybe $5K if you turn in your Quantix 6303.

#644 robot9

robot9

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2013

Posted 12 July 2013 - 06:08 PM

Just purchased one of these cameras..Does anyone know the focal length of the lens shipped with the camera?

Also, and I apologize for not reading the entire thread, but is there a "quick" way of modifying the nosepiece to accept a standard F-mount lens (and eventually a shutter...)?

I appreciate your responses.

robot9

#645 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 12 July 2013 - 10:50 PM

Just purchased one of these cameras..Does anyone know the focal length of the lens shipped with the camera?

Also, and I apologize for not reading the entire thread, but is there a "quick" way of modifying the nosepiece to accept a standard F-mount lens (and eventually a shutter...)?

I appreciate your responses.

robot9


Don't know what lens you got with the camera, so impossible to determine. My camera came with a T-threaded nose piece, so a regular T-adaptor works, but I've also seen them with Nikon lens connection's.

The shutter system, is the crux... There are a few ways to approach the shutter assembly. How much are you willing to spend to save yourself from becoming "MacGyver". Before you answer that consider that an SBIG, Appogee, or FLI camera with this same sensor would run you 5 to 7 times (maybe more) than you are already invested. If the camera snout is like what I got; there are shutters that can be purchased that will fit the camera. Melles Griot makes a shutter that fits, but their 6v solenoid needs to be replaced with a lower voltage 4v one. They're quite proud of their shutters($485 for the one you'd need) but consider that simply changing the solenoid and installing the shutter can save you a lot of time and trouble.

http://www.cvimelles...c-Shutters.aspx

other than that route, it comes down to either using a filter wheel as a shutter(it's been suggested to me but not sure of implementing it effectively) or buying a surplus shutter off ebay or some other site and manufacturing a housing. You would still need to work out the trigger mechanism voltage for the shutter solenoid. The shutter circuit on the camera sends a pulse to open and a contiuous voltage to hold the shutter open. You can always use that to control a photo diode trigger and supply your own circuitry and voltage for what ever shutter you find.

Remember; that sensor is 33mm diagonal so you need a shutter with clear aperture preferably larger than 33mm or you'll be dealing with harsh vignetting. I'm fairly certain that my Melles Griot shutter is the 42.7mm model but I never measured it and the model number has been superceded.

Do take the time to read through the thread, it's quite interesting although some of the pictures are no longer available. Many of the people who took part and documented this thread are still around (and still love thier cameras)

It is a project so enjoy the ride. If you have troubles, come back and post your questions!(there will probably be a few) I'll do my best to help any way I can!

Here is my most recent capture with the quantix(2013). The Lagoon through an AT6RC. Single 5 minute sub exposure with a 7nm Ha filter

Attached Files



#646 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5720
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 13 July 2013 - 05:47 AM

Zerro1, what happened to your small sensor kaf1401 experiment?

#647 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 13 July 2013 - 11:02 AM

I'm sorry Orly, I thought I posted a piucture. In just a test with it, I shot a quick series of the Orion Nebula. I discovered a few things in the procedure. The 1401E camera does "not" have Tec cooling. It runs at 10C with a fan/heat sink. Uncalibrated, its noisey, but dark subtraction worked just fine to clean it up. So... 200 second subs with the 7nm Ha filter. can't recall but I think I stacked 20 of them to make this.

That was through the AT65EDQ

Attached Files



#648 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 13 July 2013 - 11:12 AM

Honestly, I have not had as much time as I would like to play around with this cam. even though the cooling is lacking, it still harvests the photons and the image scale is cool with small scopes.

I did layer mask that image to preserve the core :)

#649 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5720
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 13 July 2013 - 02:32 PM

hmm. looks good considering that they go for $125.

but which specific PCI card is needed to drive the 1401? they seem to sell separately for $400-ish so not such a good deal.

#650 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5881
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 14 July 2013 - 12:42 PM

the 1401 SenSys that I have uses the same card and data cable as the 6303E. Not the cool-snap card

The 1401 model uses a different power supply than the 6303E though.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics