Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

QUANTIX HELP.........

  • Please log in to reply
710 replies to this topic

#701 astroobserver99

astroobserver99

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 05 Apr 2009
  • Loc: Victoria, Australia

Posted 06 April 2014 - 04:26 AM

Thanks for the ASCOM Driver. I am using it with Nebulosity 3 and PVCam. I can specify the temp set point, binning, as well as exposures etc. Nebulosity functions behave normally so far. I have not been able to set the Quantix Gain within Nebulosity though, which is a rather important setting. Any chance of getting this feature?

#702 hjd1964

hjd1964

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 208
  • Joined: 24 May 2012

Posted 28 April 2014 - 10:53 AM

Glad to hear that it worked for you. I'm guessing that Nebulosity doesn't support the ASCOM gain feature? I can add gain selection to the Setup dialog so you can go in and change it from there. Give me a couple of weeks, my camera is at my observatory across the state.

EDIT: I just got done adding gain support in the setup dialog for my ASCOM Lumenera camera driver, which actually queries the camera driver for the gain range. This should be even easier. :)

#703 hjd1964

hjd1964

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 208
  • Joined: 24 May 2012

Posted 28 April 2014 - 11:11 AM

Also... I'm finally getting to the point where I can really image. I still need to work on my collimation, but I have the camera attached and the MPCC coma corrector in the imaging train of my 10" F4 Newtonian. This image is composed four 45 second frames. Clouds were rolling in and the other 6 of the 10 images I took were totally washed out. Just scratching the surface of what the camera can do:

Posted Image

#704 YanLou

YanLou

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2014
  • Loc: Paris

Posted 14 September 2014 - 04:07 PM

Hi,

 

I recently purchased a Quantix camera from the eBay retailer you know, but I have been unable to make it work. I think it's because there is no driver for the PCI board and my OS (W7 pro 64 bits). Am I right or not ? Is there any solution ?

Which is the latest OS compatible with this "old" board, and which is the suitable PVCAM version ? I'm considering using an old industrial PC and building a 12V powered switching supply to use the camera on the field.



#705 hjd1964

hjd1964

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 208
  • Joined: 24 May 2012

Posted 16 September 2014 - 09:06 AM

Hi,

 

I recently purchased a Quantix camera from the eBay retailer you know, but I have been unable to make it work. I think it's because there is no driver for the PCI board and my OS (W7 pro 64 bits). Am I right or not ? Is there any solution ?

Which is the latest OS compatible with this "old" board, and which is the suitable PVCAM version ? I'm considering using an old industrial PC and building a 12V powered switching supply to use the camera on the field.

 

That is correct, 64bit Windows 7 and any Windows 8 will not work AFIK (but I didn't try.)  Windows 7 32bit works fine for me, I use PVCAM2.791 with it.  Remember to run RSConfig too! 

 

I had the same situation, was running the 64 bit version of Windows 7 and had to reinstall everything... lucky the key was valid for 64bit or 32bit and it's just a matter of getting the correct media to install from.



#706 YanLou

YanLou

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 14 Sep 2014
  • Loc: Paris

Posted 21 September 2014 - 08:32 AM

Thanks. I'll have to try with another computer. I tried on my W7-64 desktop system only for testing purpose, I will not switch to 32 bits with my 12 Go RAM...



#707 perseus24

perseus24

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2015

Posted 08 February 2015 - 04:01 PM

Add one more Quantix 6303e applied to Astrophotography.   Mine came with a shutter so I was spared the problem of adding one but I did have to make my own power supply.

Image Attached File  Horsehead.jpg   432.13KB   55 downloads was taken with a 10" LX200 (without any Barlow or focal reducer).   Baader 7nm H-Alpha filter, Quantix 6303e binned 2X2 (air cooled to about -31 degrees).   15 exposures of 6 minutes each plus bias, darks and flats.

Since the Quantix 6303e is "only" a 12 bit camera I was worried that it was a waste of time.    Mine cost less that 10% of a new 16 bit 6303e camera (which would never be in my budget) so I am quite happy.



#708 macona

macona

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 295
  • Joined: 18 May 2011
  • Loc: Beaverton, OR

Posted 10 March 2015 - 02:44 PM

Just thought I would let everyone know I have the operator needed to repump one of these cameras back down to full vacuum. It happens to be the same valve that is used on the on the EDX detector for my electron microscope. I added a valve to one of the spare ports on the sample chamber on the SEM so I can pump the dewar down and leak checked, it is turbo pump driven so no oil back streaming.

 

I am hoping to get my quantix running this summer with that harmonic drive equatorial mount I have been building. 



#709 bd_heathcote

bd_heathcote

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2008

Posted 19 November 2015 - 06:24 AM

Hi Howard (hjd1964),

 

Hope you are still listening to this forum ;)

 

While I think this is my first posting I've been following the discussions from the early days and have had a Quantix for probably a couple of years, but am now only finding the time to work on getting it fully operational with a shutter, etc.

 

I've installed PVCam 2.7.10 and ASCOM 0.65 on a Win XP (SP3) system for testing. So far the few basic tests I've done with Maxim 5.07 look ok, except that (1) if I use the ASCOM driver I don't get any CCD temperature reading and (2) if I use the Roper camera driver I do get the temperature reading but no information on the cooling power level being applied. Are both these 'problems' normal?

 

BTW, I'm very impressed by the Quantix images on your website.

 

Bernard



#710 bd_heathcote

bd_heathcote

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 26 Dec 2008

Posted 19 November 2015 - 07:06 PM

Hi Howard,

 

After some further testing with Maxim (Roper driver and ASCOM 0.65) and Nebulosity 3.3 (ASCOM 0.65) I find some problems with the TEC cooling control:

 

Maxim DL:

(1) Using the Roper driver I can control the CCD temperature to -25C, or -30C, but there doesn't appear to be any way to ramp down the power to bring the CCD back to ambient temperature, to avoid thermal shock problems. The cooling function can't be switched off and the temp won't drop below -20C ... so in the end I just have to switch off the power brick. If this is by design then I assume to CCD chamber vacuum is sufficient insulation to avoid thermal shocks.

(2) Using ASCOM 0.65 no CCD temperature or setting control is available, so I've no idea if it is working in the background  or not.

 

Nebulosity 3.3:

While all the TEC controls are available via the Advanced window and the CCD temperature is shown the TEC control doesn't appear to be working. For example, if I set the CCD to -25C using the Roper driver in Maxim and then switch over to ASCOM in Nebulosity I see the CCD slowly drop from -25C to around -20C and then just stay there, regardless of the TEC on/off setting.

 

Not sure what is going on here.

 

Bernard



#711 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6013
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 21 December 2015 - 01:17 AM

welcome to the Quantix club. as fast as these cameras cool down when initiated I would find it unlikely that it would be a problem when shutting down. The vacuum chamber is there to eliminate the opportunity for moisture to condense on the cold components.




CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.







Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics