Jump to content


Photo

Push To Technology for $120

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Douglas729

Douglas729

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 198
  • Joined: 25 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Clarksville Mo.

Posted 06 August 2011 - 08:03 AM

I can't find any reference in any forum about using a Skyscout properly mounted on a telescope as a finder and thought you might like to to know this:

I have a Super C8+ with plenty of heavy metal parts and a Telrad finder with an adhesive attached mount and a spare 4" riser base. I purchased a more gooder better Skyscout on ebay for $120 then drilled a hole in the riser for the Skyscope tripod mount. Centering a radio tower light in both units with just one strip of 3M Double Sided Adhesive under the front of the Skyscout and bingo...It works!

No magnetic interference. Secondly, locate 2 stars and use the printed R.A. and Dec. coordinates to set hrs. and mins. correctly on your EQ Setting Circle.

The alternative was $420 for JMI encoders and a SGT box for a Laptop($) software($) hook-up which is a more accurate 'push to' technology.

In this economy, Is it 1000 dollars more accurate?
...no thanks, I'll find it myself.

Happy Trails

#2 csa/montana

csa/montana

    Den Mama

  • *****
  • Posts: 86521
  • Joined: 14 May 2005
  • Loc: montana

Posted 06 August 2011 - 11:51 AM

Excellent idea! Thanks for posting this information.

#3 Vondragonnoggin

Vondragonnoggin

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5021
  • Joined: 21 Feb 2010
  • Loc: Southern CA, USA

Posted 06 August 2011 - 04:41 PM

I just purchased a scope scout for mine. I have some wrangling to do on it because the standard only fits the orion finder dovetail base, but a little ingenuity and some low cost hardware store materials and it will be mounted without having to modify my scope at all. Look forward to it. Must say - the scope scout platform is nice and has three nylon screws that adjust tilt in any direction - very easy to line up.

#4 Edward Swaim

Edward Swaim

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 59
  • Joined: 29 Oct 2010

Posted 14 August 2011 - 09:29 PM

See this post. link

Scroll down, and you'll see my SkyScout mounted on a homemade Dobsonian base. Works fine.

#5 rogercelliott

rogercelliott

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 214
  • Joined: 19 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Redding, CA

Posted 06 February 2013 - 10:07 PM

How accurate is the SkyScout for finding galaxies and other deep sky objects? Can it do as well as encoders and one of the computer software apps? Would be cool to have a more accurate system than setting circles and starhopping....

Cheers
Roger

#6 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15704
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 08 February 2013 - 07:56 AM

Nope. But it will get you in the neighborhood. If you want bang-on, save your money for a Sky Commander.

#7 Barnstorm

Barnstorm

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 20 Apr 2012

Posted 14 February 2013 - 10:43 PM

Skeye, with a good mount will get you DSOs and other objects for $150 especially if you already have a good android phone or tablet.

#8 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15704
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 15 February 2013 - 08:29 AM

Skeye, with a good mount will get you DSOs and other objects for $150 especially if you already have a good android phone or tablet.


Maybe. I prefer the SkyCommander. More versatile and bang on ever time. :cool:

#9 Jawaid I. Abbasi

Jawaid I. Abbasi

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2365
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2007
  • Loc: LEVITTOWN, PA

Posted 16 February 2013 - 11:22 PM

I have been using SKYEYE almost six month now and it takes the target almost in the FOV with my binocular that has 2.40 degree FOV.

Now my almost new SkyScout and DII setup in the box resting and I may sell my setup if I see that it will not use in the future.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics