Jump to content


Photo

Would you buy a Skywatcher SkyTee 2 if available ?

  • Please log in to reply
78 replies to this topic

#51 Guy Noir

Guy Noir

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 246
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2005

Posted 27 October 2011 - 09:43 PM

I would have bought one if it was available here ... specially if they would fit it with DSC ... why does it take them sooo long to wisen up and do their market research? Not a problem anymore for me though ... will be moving to Europe soon anyway ... Hej, hej. jag prater svenska varje dag ... :grin:

#52 astroneil

astroneil

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Joined: 28 Jul 2009
  • Loc: res publica caledoniae

Posted 28 October 2011 - 09:28 AM

Hi Mike,

I don't know why this mount isn't available in North America but it sure is good value for money.

Here it is with my nifty 60mm Skylight f/15m.

Regards,

Neil. ;)

Attached Files



#53 CounterWeight

CounterWeight

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 8101
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Palo alto, CA.

Posted 28 October 2011 - 12:40 PM

That looks remarably similar to this or possibly this here in the states? I have been looking for something like this for my FS-128... what do you think?

#54 Jan Owen

Jan Owen

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1306
  • Joined: 12 Feb 2006
  • Loc: Sun City West, Arizona

Posted 28 October 2011 - 08:51 PM

The first one doesn't have slo-mo controls, and the second has less payload capacity than the Skytee 2.

#55 Guy Noir

Guy Noir

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 246
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2005

Posted 28 October 2011 - 08:58 PM

indeed correct ... however the M150 isostatic mount does not have slow motion controls, while the second one, MG2, from SV does, and is in the right price range, so it would be great ... but has been waitlisted for a long time now :mad:
So yo, SV, what gives, get the MG2 out there, and add some DSC while you're at it :jump:
Michael

#56 Guy Noir

Guy Noir

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 246
  • Joined: 27 Apr 2005

Posted 28 October 2011 - 09:01 PM

woah ... faster gun from Arizona :-)
... what he said ...

#57 billva

billva

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2011
  • Loc: Halifax, Va

Posted 29 October 2011 - 09:32 AM

I purchased a MG2 directly from Stellarvue a few weeks ago. I called them to see how long the wait list was, and they said it was in stock.

I'm real pleased with it. It doesn't even know the TV-85 is on there.

#58 billva

billva

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 20 Mar 2011
  • Loc: Halifax, Va

Posted 29 October 2011 - 09:38 AM

pic

Attached Files



#59 stevenf

stevenf

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 382
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2009
  • Loc: Vancouver, BC

Posted 10 November 2011 - 12:27 AM

I think this is the same mount?

http://www.canadiant...uty-Duo-T-Mount

#60 johninderby

johninderby

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006

Posted 24 November 2011 - 11:06 AM

The Skytee 2 does have a lot of modification potential. I did replace the standard dovetail saddles with ADM ones and moved one of them from the "top" position onto the counterweight shaft end. Makes it much better when used in Alt-Az mode with two scopes. Stuck a Berlebach saddle on the top position for mounting something light weight.

I've installed the Synscan upgrade intended for an EQ5 mount on my Skytee 2. With some custom made brackets it bolts onto the mount with no modifications to the mount at all. Then I designed and built a wedge for it.

When you examine the internal components of the mount it's clear SkyWatcher raided the EQ5 parts bin and kept the same gearing. Works great in EQ mode and tracks very well indeed. The first time I tried it without even bothering to polar align it properly it kept Jupiter in the FOV for over two hours. :cool:

In Alt-Az mode it's just a powered mount without proper tracking as you'd need encoders for that. However it works really well and makes it a lot easier to use as you're not reaching for the slo-mo knobs but holding the hand control.

John

Attached Files



#61 johninderby

johninderby

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006

Posted 24 November 2011 - 11:08 AM

Another photo.

John

Attached Files



#62 johninderby

johninderby

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006

Posted 24 November 2011 - 11:40 AM

And in Alt-Az mode

John

Attached Files



#63 GlenM

GlenM

    Vendor - Lyra Optic

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2607
  • Joined: 20 May 2007
  • Loc: Lancashire England

Posted 24 November 2011 - 05:38 PM

Nice work,John :waytogo:

I know quite a lot of work went into this.

Clear Skies.

#64 johninderby

johninderby

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006

Posted 24 November 2011 - 06:16 PM

Thanks Glen

Do you think a 100mm f/13 refractor would look nice on this mount? :grin:

John

PS
Just waiting for the paint for the OTA to arrive and then I can get the project finished.

#65 ahlberto

ahlberto

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1348
  • Joined: 06 Sep 2008
  • Loc: lisbon-portugal

Posted 25 November 2011 - 07:45 AM

In short words,-yes,in a heart beat.One of mi friends have it and its an wonderfull mount.Amazing mount at an incredible priçe...

#66 GlenM

GlenM

    Vendor - Lyra Optic

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2607
  • Joined: 20 May 2007
  • Loc: Lancashire England

Posted 25 November 2011 - 07:04 PM

Now a Carton 100mm f/13 on one side and a 4" f/11 on the other would be just about right :grin:

Wait until the guys on here see your Carton build :cool:

I've seen it and it's looking GOOD.

#67 johninderby

johninderby

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 10 Nov 2006

Posted 01 January 2012 - 07:07 AM

OK Glen here it is with the Carton 100mm f/13 and the Lyra Optic 102mm f/11. :)

John

Attached Files



#68 GlenM

GlenM

    Vendor - Lyra Optic

  • -----
  • Vendors
  • Posts: 2607
  • Joined: 20 May 2007
  • Loc: Lancashire England

Posted 03 January 2012 - 03:53 PM

I missed this post,sorry. They certainly look very nice indeed.Good to hear first light went well :waytogo:

I think you should get rid of that Shabby Berlebach tripod. I could take it off your hands for a nominal fee :grin:

#69 JMB

JMB

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 23 Dec 2011

Posted 21 January 2012 - 10:37 AM

Seems to be the same, seems to be available in the US (CA) with tripod http://telescopes.ne...t-w-tripod.html
or without
http://telescopes.ne...uo-t-mount.html

#70 keenan

keenan

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: 28 Feb 2008
  • Loc: Ocala, FL

Posted 22 February 2012 - 01:43 PM

Hi John,

I just purchased a Sky Tee Duo. Quick question. How did you mount the additional ADM saddle on the end? Did you drill holes in the end piece and then one larger one for the shaft through the saddle?

I have a Meade AR6 on one end, and even without a coubterweight its rock solid. What a great mount very smooth also in the movements.

Thanks,
Keenan

#71 WRAK

WRAK

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1132
  • Joined: 18 Feb 2012
  • Loc: Vienna, Austria, Europe

Posted 23 February 2012 - 09:45 AM

... I did replace the standard dovetail saddles with ADM ones and moved one of them from the "top" position onto the counterweight shaft end. Makes it much better when used in Alt-Az mode with two scopes... John


The standard dovetail saddles are really not sufficient and moving one saddle to the counterweight shaft end makes also sense. Intend to do the same. Which ADM saddles did you exactly use?
Wilfried

#72 vmstar

vmstar

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 28 Sep 2011

Posted 02 March 2012 - 08:24 AM

ok this is my first post on cn.
i bought a mount at canadian telescope that is quite the
same as the skytee 2 here is the link.
http://www.canadiant...nt#.T1DIJIc7qf4

the price is for the head only.
they probably ship to the usa.
i did not have much time to use it but first impression is very good.i use it with a explore scientific 150 f 6,5.

i order a JMI TNT FOR VIXEN and will fit on it.
when it is done i will comeback with pictures and coments

good sky

Vincent

#73 netwolf

netwolf

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 149
  • Joined: 03 Sep 2005
  • Loc: NSW, Australia

Posted 31 March 2013 - 07:54 AM

John, excellent modifications, but can give more details why the goto / tracking will not work in Alt/Az?
I can understand Synscan may not have an Alt/az mode as its designed for EQ5 but is that the only reason?

#74 Geo.

Geo.

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2773
  • Joined: 01 Oct 2008
  • Loc: Upstate NY

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:16 AM

Seems a no brainer. ES has acquired the Giro brand after knocking off the Giro 3 with the Twinstar. So future Giros will be made in the PRC. Tech2000 has introduced a US made replacement for the Giro that runs $600 and ES is having success with the Twinstar. I have the Giro three and often wish for slomotion controls. OTOH the simple to set up Alt/Az is my most used mount. Mine is also set up to use the HEQ-5/6 tripod, but requires a 10mm retention bolt rather that the 12mm. It can also be used on a CG-5/GP tripod so it can be used with as light or heavy tripod as is needed. For the WO 72mm the old style CG-4 tripod is fine. You really can't ask for a better grab and observe package. I'd have to consider the SkyTee 2 for its greater flexibility.

#75 MLB

MLB

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 25 Aug 2013
  • Loc: NOVA

Posted 11 October 2013 - 08:37 PM

After reading through this thread I've searched high and low looking for any distributors that have these in stock. No luck! Canadian telescope had the Duo-T at one point, but appear not to sell them anymore. Have they dropped off the market due to problems with the mounts or lack of demand? Figures I come late to the party on mount that would be perfect for my needs!
Btw Joh, awesome job on mod-ing up yours!






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics