18 replies to this topic

#1 Patrik Iver

Patrik Iver

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Kaarina, Finland

Posted 04 January 2012 - 01:16 PM

Hi!

I've never heard anything bad about the DM tripod extensions, but to my eyes, the design looks like it might be less torsionally rigid than for example a similarly sized tube section would. I've never used or seen a DM mount in person, and I'm not a structural engineer, but I am in need of a higher capacity alt-az mount, and the DM6 is high(est) on my list.

Anyone owning a DM6 tripod extension who has compared the az stability with/without the extension?

I would use the mount mostly with a 130 mm f/6.3 refractor and with a 235 mm SCT (AP130GT and C9.25). I am apparently relatively picky about mount stability.

Any and all feedback is most welcome.

Thank you!

#2 Wayne W.

Wayne W.

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Woodland Park N.J.

Posted 04 January 2012 - 01:41 PM

Hi Patrik. I used two extensions stacked on a CPC tripod for my DM-6. They are very ridged and there is no flexure. I would recommend them. Their very nicely made and quite substancial. Clear skies

#3 gillmj24

gillmj24

Aurora

• Loc: PA

Posted 04 January 2012 - 05:38 PM

I think the three struts are solid (they sure feel solid) and are thicker than the tube of say, an orion atlas/sirius extender.

It's quite solid and I don't feel I've lost rigidity by adding it.

#4 mountain monk

mountain monk

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Grand Teton National Park

Posted 04 January 2012 - 05:45 PM

The thing is bombproof. I tried it without the extension but the handle hit my Planet tripod. So I went to the extension plus a two-inch aluminum block and I haven't had a sign of rotation. A great system.

Dark skies.

Jack

#5 gatorengineer

gatorengineer

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Hellertown, PA

Posted 04 January 2012 - 05:52 PM