Intelligent reptilian life forms on earth?

• Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*

Guest_**DONOTDELETE**_*
  • -----

Posted 03 February 2012 - 03:47 PM

If the dinosaurs had not become extinct, would some of their species have evolved into intelligent beings?

I have little knowledge of evolution, but a recent History channel program suggested that the dinosaurs were doomed by a variety of factors: the continental drift northward (causing temperature drops), worldwide volcanic eruptions poisoning the air, and finally a massive asteroid collision 65 million years ago. The program further suggested the possibility that had the dinosaurs survived all of this, some of them might have evolved into intelligent, two-legged beings, and would have continued their domination of the earth.

Is there a book, or a study of some kind, in regard to this theory? :question:

(Yes, I keep thinking of Capt. Kirk fighting the reptilian Gorn.)

#2 Pess

Pess

(Title)

• Loc: Toledo, Ohio

Posted 03 February 2012 - 04:13 PM

Hard to say. For example, modern Monitor Lizards are actually near the intelligence of dogs and cats.

But being able to regulate your internal temperature irrespective of the external environment is a pretty good adaptive advantage.

But whose to say man is that intelligent? I slave away at a ten hour a day job while my mutt gets three squares and a soft leather couch to sleep on... and all the leather shoes she can knaw.

Pesse (My Dawg dropped out of Obedience school 'cause she figured she'd never use that stuff in the real world.) Mist

#3 Shadowalker

Shadowalker

Apocaloptimist

• Loc: Chetek, Wisconsin, USA

Posted 03 February 2012 - 05:14 PM

Harry Harrison's West of Eden is a fine novel exploring what might have happened had evolution taken a somewhat different course.

#4 MikeBOKC

MikeBOKC

Aurora

• Loc: Oklahoma City, OK

Posted 03 February 2012 - 08:41 PM