Jump to content


Photo

AP 1200 No longer Available-1600GTO!

  • Please log in to reply
120 replies to this topic

#101 bilgebay

bilgebay

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4259
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008
  • Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmaris

Posted 28 April 2012 - 08:19 PM

I completely agree with you Rich. It is my next mount purchase for sure. Only the DEC part is beefier than the 1200. So, it is equally portable. It is more portable than CGEM DX or CGE Pro with the tripod I can claim.

#102 WadeH237

WadeH237

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1345
  • Joined: 24 Feb 2007
  • Loc: Snohomish, WA

Posted 28 April 2012 - 09:00 PM

I mentioned earlier on this thread that when I got notice that the 1200 was discontinued, I ordered the 900. I also said that I expected the AP1600 to be lots more expensive than the 1200.

Boy was I wrong. I called AP on Friday morning and they hadn't shipped my 900 yet, and said that it would be a few more days. I asked them if I could switch the 900 for my place back in the 1600 line and they said it would be no problem.

So it's going to be the 1600 for me. It's more mount than I will ever need. But the value proposition was just too much to pass up.

#103 krzauber

krzauber

    Lift Off

  • *****
  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: 02 Dec 2011
  • Loc: Shoreham, NY

Posted 28 April 2012 - 09:24 PM

When the 900 receives the 1200>1600 improvements I will buy one ... I'm guessing it is in the works ...

#104 Dave M

Dave M

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 8222
  • Joined: 03 Aug 2004
  • Loc: Ohio

Posted 28 April 2012 - 10:12 PM

I spent some time with the AP1600 today. Wow is it cool:

-Goes straight on any AP1200 pier. NO mods required.

-Tracks 6hrs past meridian.

-A software variant exists for alt-az operation, mounting arms are made to accept either 0-78 degrees or 90 (alt-az) operation.

-one or both axes can have encoders. Encoder price isn't known, yet. Encoders can be retrofitted. Mount without encoders is $10,900. Encoder price will be known in next couple weeks (in negotiation with supplier).

-Motors are common with AP3600.

-polar scope specifically designed for this mount. Versions for other AP mounts will be coming.

All in all, it's a lot of mount for the money.

-Rich


Glad to hear they will also offer a precision polar scope for other AP mounts, those passill-4 polar scopes are not what i would call precise.

#105 DeanS

DeanS

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3309
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Central Kentucky

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:18 PM

Got my notification a few minutes ago for the 1600 mount. Mount price $11,700 however no price yet on the encoder options. That would be my only reason to upgrade the 1200.

Price for the RA and Dec encoder option about $7k.

#106 Mirzam

Mirzam

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4450
  • Joined: 01 Apr 2008
  • Loc: Lovettsville, VA

Posted 09 August 2012 - 04:40 PM

If you go to the AP website the encoder prices are there.

JimC

#107 DeanS

DeanS

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3309
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Central Kentucky

Posted 09 August 2012 - 04:52 PM

Yep, I see that now. That really puts this up there, really have to think about it then as my 1200 does fine with my medium F/L scopes.

#108 Mirzam

Mirzam

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Posts: 4450
  • Joined: 01 Apr 2008
  • Loc: Lovettsville, VA

Posted 09 August 2012 - 05:23 PM

Yep.

I'm just going to get the basic mount for now. Glad they made it user upgradable though.

JimC

#109 jmiele

jmiele

    Patron Saint?

  • *****
  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2010

Posted 09 August 2012 - 07:59 PM

My order is paid. I went for the whole enchilada. Almost 19K... Crazy

Joe

#110 jmiele

jmiele

    Patron Saint?

  • *****
  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2010

Posted 09 August 2012 - 08:00 PM

BTW it's cheaper to have them put the encoders on than to do it yourself... Joe

#111 blueman

blueman

    Photon Catcher

  • *****
  • Posts: 5436
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2007
  • Loc: California

Posted 09 August 2012 - 08:22 PM

Must be nice to be able to write that check. :bow:
Blueman

My order is paid. I went for the whole enchilada. Almost 19K... Crazy

Joe



#112 DeanS

DeanS

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3309
  • Joined: 12 Jul 2005
  • Loc: Central Kentucky

Posted 09 August 2012 - 08:27 PM

I wonder what this will do to the used AP1200 market? Will they hold their value since the new 1600 is over $1k more?

I am torn on what to do as my 1200 works very well for what I am doing now. But the encoders sound sooooo sweet :)

Dean

#113 Peter in Reno

Peter in Reno

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6079
  • Joined: 15 Jul 2008
  • Loc: Reno, NV

Posted 09 August 2012 - 09:33 PM

My order is paid. I went for the whole enchilada. Almost 19K... Crazy

Joe


Are you trying to win this contest:

"He who dies with the most telescope toys wins." :grin:

Peter

#114 blueman

blueman

    Photon Catcher

  • *****
  • Posts: 5436
  • Joined: 20 Jul 2007
  • Loc: California

Posted 09 August 2012 - 09:44 PM


Dean, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. :cool:
Blueman

I wonder what this will do to the used AP1200 market? Will they hold their value since the new 1600 is over $1k more?

I am torn on what to do as my 1200 works very well for what I am doing now. But the encoders sound sooooo sweet :)

Dean



#115 Marke

Marke

    Sputnik

  • -----
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2009

Posted 09 August 2012 - 10:59 PM

The main advantage of encoders is for remote operation , if
your not using the mount from a remote site then they are a bit overkill imho.

Mark

#116 Starhawk

Starhawk

    Space Ranger

  • *****
  • Posts: 5595
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 09 August 2012 - 11:04 PM

I expect the pricing means the 1200s will hold their value just fine.

I just don't have any OTAs that size in my immediate future. Just not going to happen. I'd dearly love to have a true dark-site observatory. That would be a place for an AP1600.

-Rich

#117 jmiele

jmiele

    Patron Saint?

  • *****
  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2010

Posted 10 August 2012 - 10:27 AM

Everything has it's price, you don't have to listen to my wife. :)

Joe

#118 jmiele

jmiele

    Patron Saint?

  • *****
  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2010

Posted 10 August 2012 - 10:35 AM

My order is paid. I went for the whole enchilada. Almost 19K... Crazy

Joe


Are you trying to win this contest:

"He who dies with the most telescope toys wins." :grin:

Peter


Peter,
Na, I just respect the mountings as much as the optics. Nobody thinks it crazy that some have many scopes, but find it funny to have many mounts. :)

Dean,
IMO the value of the 1600 is ONLY there if you either need the capacity, or are getting both axis encoders. Given that fact, I think some smart shoppers will examine their needs and pass on the 1600. They will in turn be looking for 1200's. I say, the 1200 holds it's value.....however the market will shrink a bit. So, you can get your price but may have to wait a few weeks to do so. IMO that is.. However, IF you want to sell the 1200, do it before the replacement 900 is announced. It will most likely close the capacity gap a bit and could have the ability to add-on high res before or after....

Best, Joe

#119 Alph

Alph

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1767
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2006
  • Loc: Melmac

Posted 10 August 2012 - 10:37 AM

My order is paid. I went for the whole enchilada. Almost 19K... Crazy

Joe

That will be an expensive paperweight unless you sell your PMX. I am always looking for bargains :-) A mount should not collect dust.

#120 jmiele

jmiele

    Patron Saint?

  • *****
  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2010

Posted 10 August 2012 - 10:41 AM

My bother get's to "store" much of my secondary gear. He uses it and never pays me for it. I can use it remotely. He lives in the mountains. I did just sell my em-400 so you missed that one. :) Unless we're related, you could be in trouble. :)

Base on your avatar, I do have you nose. :)

Best, Joe

#121 Starhawk

Starhawk

    Space Ranger

  • *****
  • Posts: 5595
  • Joined: 16 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Tucson, Arizona

Posted 10 August 2012 - 02:36 PM

Well, if a new AP900 replacement is in the offing, I did a little math to see what capacity might make sense given the gap between the AP900 at 70 lbs. capacity to the AP1600 at 225 lb. capacity is kind of extreme.

Relevant capacities:

Mach 1 GTO: 45 lbs.
AP900: 70 lbs.
AP1200: 140 lbs.
AP1600: 225 lbs.
AP3600: 300+lbs.

(A) Midpoint of AP900 and AP1600: This is 150 lbs capacity. While that's a nice capable amount, it is also right on top of the old AP1200's capacity. I therefore doubt this is the new capacity.

(B) Midpoint of Mach 1 GTO and AP1600: This gives a value of 135 lbs. Again, it's another alternate version of the AP1200.

© Uniform Load ratio. Interestingly the Mach 1 GTO carries basically anything up to a C11 without thinking about it, and can even take on some larger stuff when you creep up to max capacity. For a mobile mount, this seems just about ideal, so I would be surprised if they are going to play with this capacity. Going to 2.25X this capacity gets to right at 100 lbs. That's a large step beyond the current AP900, but would still leave a step of 2.25X to the next larger mount at the AP1600 without being a copy of something else currently in production. Given the number of telescopes the AP900 is *almost* big enough for, I would peg an AP 900 replacement at being 100 lb. capacity. There would be obvious moblity improvements over either the AP1200 or the AP1600, but it would be a major step up in carrying capacity, which would greatly improve its utility. The exact number may be 45 kg, or it might be 50 kg, which would give it a capacity of 110 lbs. Either way, this would appear to be a very practical design point for a hypothetical AP1000.

-Rich






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics