Jump to content


Photo

First light with my Quantix

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5862
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 22 April 2012 - 01:30 PM

WOW this thing is sensitive
AT6RC with the TRF-2008 reducer
I figured 60 send subs would be short enough :p
18 minutes total
no darks, flats or bias used.

It was nice to finally get to test this camera out. I learned a lot, and have a lot to learn :lol:

Attached Files



#2 bilgebay

bilgebay

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4202
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008
  • Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmaris

Posted 22 April 2012 - 01:32 PM

Wow! I am even able to see some galaxies in the background. Very well done Robert!

#3 rigel123

rigel123

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10949
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2009
  • Loc: SW Ohio

Posted 22 April 2012 - 01:54 PM

That's a clean image for no calibration files added!

#4 sullij1

sullij1

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1600
  • Joined: 08 Nov 2008

Posted 22 April 2012 - 02:33 PM

Hi,

Yuh, the Quantix is uber sensitive. Bright objects can be had with minimal exposure. Flats will become absolutly necessary for dim objects as the exposure time goes up. If you dont have a light box better make one.

Envy the fact you got imaging time in. Glad to see you tried a cluster. I was going to go after one with my Quantix. I saw some earlier clusters shot at roughly the same exposure with the same result. Looks like sub one min for bright objects. Might want to play with the gain some too. Congrats on geting it up and running. :waytogo:

#5 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5862
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 22 April 2012 - 07:23 PM

Maxim DL made it a little easier to work the camera, (once I figured it out). It's a little too automated by default, so I had to de-configure it a little. The Dell laptop with the PCI expansion dock worked great. I've got to get some other things configured too. I still had my other laptop as a guide computer and just used the Dell as the camera control.

It was nice to finally get some sky to run it under

#6 jrcrilly

jrcrilly

    Refractor wienie no more

  • *****
  • Administrators
  • Posts: 33809
  • Joined: 30 Apr 2003
  • Loc: NE Ohio

Posted 22 April 2012 - 09:12 PM

Did you have to fix any blooms? Were you able to set the cooler temperature through Maxim?

#7 NorthBoundTrain

NorthBoundTrain

    Mercury-Atlas

  • *****
  • Posts: 2929
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2011

Posted 23 April 2012 - 12:07 AM

Nice shot, and an impressive smooth background for no darks, etc...

#8 zerro1

zerro1

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5862
  • Joined: 02 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Smokey Point , 48.12°N 122.25°W Elevation:512 ft

Posted 27 April 2012 - 12:22 AM

Hi guy's, sorry this got slammed down the list, and kind of went "out of sight out of mind".

John: didn't have any blooms at all @ 1 minute exposures gain on 3. I never even considered adjusting the cooling as it was reporting -34.9C. I'll have to look at that...
I struggeled at first (being a complete newb with MaximDL) you have to go to the advanced settings in the camera setup and check the box(camera has shutter) before it will successfully connect the camera :o .

I'm going to keep an eye on the Weather Satellite, possibly take another trip east tomorrow. I now have a UV/IR filter so I can work with the small refractors.

Nice shot, and an impressive smooth background for no darks, etc...



Thank You Chris
I certainly don't have anything else that can compare! it is a sweet quality image that it puts out!

#9 kowspot2000

kowspot2000

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 531
  • Joined: 23 Jul 2011
  • Loc: Corvallis, OR

Posted 27 April 2012 - 04:38 PM

Great shot! Lots of little galaxies hiding there as well :D






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics