What eyepiece would you recommend?

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 backinsac

backinsac

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 13 July 2012 - 11:38 PM

Hi, I was just given (by a coworker) a Bushnell Northstar Model 788840. It is a 1300 mm x 100 mm Maksutov-Cassegrain telescope which came with a 4 mm eyepiece. I haven't had an opportunity to use it yet and since I'm new to astronomy, I've tried to read as much as I can before taking it out. I am interested in observing the moon and the solar system planets. My research has indicated that I should invest in some quality eyepieces, but I don't know which ones I need. I am looking to get a Meade 4000 series 26 mm plossl and maybe a Barlow 2x. Are these right for this scope, or am I completely lost. All input is welcome. Thanks.

#2 panhard

panhard

It's All Good

• Moderators
  • Loc: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted 13 July 2012 - 11:44 PM

Welcome to our corner of cyberspace. :band: :band: :grouphug: :whee: :dob: I would say that would be a fair place to start.

#3 KWB

KWB

Hubble

• Loc: Westminster,Co Elev.5400 feet

Posted 13 July 2012 - 11:52 PM

Hi, I was just given (by a coworker) a Bushnell Northstar Model 788840. It is a 1300 mm x 100 mm Maksutov-Cassegrain telescope which came with a 4 mm eyepiece. I haven't had an opportunity to use it yet and since I'm new to astronomy, I've tried to read as much as I can before taking it out. I am interested in observing the moon and the solar system planets. My research has indicated that I should invest in some quality eyepieces, but I don't know which ones I need. I am looking to get a Meade 4000 series 26 mm plossl and maybe a Barlow 2x. Are these right for this scope, or am I completely lost. All input is welcome. Thanks.

Hello and welcome to CN :grin: