Jump to content


Photo

SKYQ with CGEM

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jeff55

Jeff55

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 564
  • Joined: 14 Apr 2005
  • Loc: Boston MA

Posted 16 July 2012 - 02:25 PM

Just got notified my SkyQ wifi controller is on its' way....anyone using this and any success with align function.

#2 budman1961

budman1961

    Apollo

  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2011
  • Loc: Springfield, MO

Posted 17 July 2012 - 11:37 AM

I thought I read somewhere that the SkyQ and Link system were for CPC and Nexstar units only......

Andy

#3 frank17601A

frank17601A

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2011

Posted 17 July 2012 - 12:29 PM

That is incorrect.

#4 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15697
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 17 July 2012 - 12:52 PM

I thought I read somewhere that the SkyQ and Link system were for CPC and Nexstar units only......

Andy


No. They will work with just about any NexStar scope (which includes CPC, CGEM, CG5, CGE Pro, etc.). You do need an Aux Port.

#5 Jim Romanski

Jim Romanski

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2256
  • Joined: 02 Jan 2005
  • Loc: Guilford, Connecticut

Posted 17 July 2012 - 03:02 PM

You do need an Aux Port.


Originally, that's what they said. But here's the latest from their instruction sheet:

"A. Direct Connect Mode – SkyQ Link connects the telescope directly to your iPhone, iPad or iPod Touch.

1. Plug the SkyQ Link module into the telescope’s AUX or Hand Control port.
Make sure that the switch on the side is in the UP position for Direct Connect Mode, as shown in Figure 2, then power on the telescope.

NOTE: When controlling the telescope with the SkyQ App, you do not need to have
your telescope hand controller plugged in. The exception is for NexStar SE 4/5
users, who must leave the hand controller attached to the telescope."


I'm still waiting to hear back from Celestron on why the app crashes when trying to use it for alignment.

#6 rmollise

rmollise

    Hubble

  • *****
  • Posts: 15697
  • Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Posted 17 July 2012 - 03:24 PM

Even better... ;)

#7 jbaynard

jbaynard

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 11 Jul 2012

Posted 19 July 2012 - 05:44 PM

I received my SkyQ link today, I performed a test alignment (3 star) inside the house approximating the position of the stars. The process worked without crashing the app and appeared to work as far as I could tell. I did however have a couple of app crashes but determined these crashes seem to be related to losing association between my SkyQ link and my Iphone while using direct mode. Anxious to try it out tonight. (Using it with a CPC 1100 btw.)

#8 frank17601A

frank17601A

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 16 Apr 2011

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:53 PM

I have not been able to get it to work on my iphone, But no problems on my IPAD...make sure you set the port to 2000.

#9 wrz0170

wrz0170

    Mariner 2

  • *****
  • Posts: 245
  • Joined: 08 Mar 2012
  • Loc: Bethlehem, Pa

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:58 PM

I will be watching this as at the present moment, I have Sky Safari for my CGEM. Is anyone else using SF and SKYQ for comparison?

#10 pgrunwald

pgrunwald

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 173
  • Joined: 08 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Albuquerque, NM

Posted 19 November 2012 - 06:17 PM

How about with a CGE?






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics