Jump to content


Photo

CGEM & Vixen plate. Change saddle or plate?

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 CarlosLM

CarlosLM

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 23 May 2012

Posted 23 July 2012 - 08:58 PM

Hi:

What would be better if I have a CGEM (Losmandy) and want to mount a scope with Vixen-style plate? Change the saddle or the plate?

Though I would like to keep the rings, I'd like to hear the options...

Thanks !!!

#2 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • *****
  • Posts: 10738
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 23 July 2012 - 09:07 PM

ADM dual saddle replacement saddle for the CGEM would give you the best of both worlds.

#3 CarlosLM

CarlosLM

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 23 May 2012

Posted 23 July 2012 - 09:45 PM

Thanks... And assuming I only have one scope? Change the saddle (for a vixen one) or the plate (DUPS)?

#4 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5265
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 23 July 2012 - 10:06 PM

Plate. But I also went with the ADM dual saddle.

#5 shark-bait

shark-bait

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 710
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2009
  • Loc: New Port Richey, FL USA

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:03 AM

I replaced the plate. Quick, easy, stable, and cost efficient.

#6 orion69

orion69

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 989
  • Joined: 09 May 2010
  • Loc: Croatia

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:36 AM

Replace the plate.

Knez

#7 MRNUTTY

MRNUTTY

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 1859
  • Joined: 22 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Mendon, MA

Posted 24 July 2012 - 02:39 PM

ADM dual saddle replacement saddle for the CGEM would give you the best of both worlds.


Also went this way. Good solution.

#8 CarlosLM

CarlosLM

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 23 May 2012

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:31 PM

Thank you all for your suggestions. I guess I'll change the plate, at least for now.

#9 michael hester

michael hester

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 640
  • Joined: 28 Nov 2008

Posted 25 July 2012 - 07:48 AM

Change the plate if its one of those Synta tube ring sets (stock tube rings from Orion, Celestron, or Skywatcher)

The reason is that they have this nasty habit of having the mounting screws protrude below the bottom of the dovetail, preventing it from being mounted in a compression clamp head. Look at your mount rings. If the screws attaching the dovetail to the rings are protruding past the base of the dovetail then it won't sit right in an adapter or a dual plate. That is unless the dovetail bar is longer than 8 inches, then it might fit. It is ultimately a better idea to get a universal Losmandy D size dovetail and ditch the vixen dovetail, or leave it and mount the Losmandy where the piggyback camera mounts would go and use the vixen dovetail as a handle :p.


When you replace the dovetail, note that if you have a Synta tube ring set that the screws holding them to the dovetail are Metric screws (9mm i think), while the piggyback screws are 1/4-20 screws. The Farpoint Astro dovetails that I got came with 1/4-20 screws so a trip to home depot might be necessary. Also if you replace the piggyback screws to mount the dovetail then make sure the screws are no longer than 1/2 inch, else you'll mar the finish on your optical tube.

#10 CarlosLM

CarlosLM

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 23 May 2012

Posted 25 July 2012 - 02:56 PM


Thanks, Michael. Very informative post.

The scope is the ES102. Don't have it with me yet, nor the mount. So I can't really check. I'm trusting my dealer here and I already ordered the plate (along with mount and scope):

It's like this one here:
http://telescopes.ne...-inch-long.html

What you think?

#11 shark-bait

shark-bait

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 710
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2009
  • Loc: New Port Richey, FL USA

Posted 25 July 2012 - 04:34 PM

It's like this one here:
http://telescopes.ne...-inch-long.html

What you think?


This is the same one that I purchased but I had to go with the 14" version. Works great!

#12 shark-bait

shark-bait

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 710
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2009
  • Loc: New Port Richey, FL USA

Posted 25 July 2012 - 04:37 PM

It is ultimately a better idea to get a universal Losmandy D size dovetail and ditch the vixen dovetail, or leave it and mount the Losmandy where the piggyback camera mounts would go and use the vixen dovetail as a handle .


I do this too. Good advice for a large or cumbersome scope.

#13 CarlosLM

CarlosLM

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: 23 May 2012

Posted 12 September 2012 - 09:37 PM

OK. So I'm the original poster.

I decided after the responses here to change the plate and bought a DUPS plate.

http://www.highpoint...Style-DUPS.html

But I've since noticed in the scope manual that the original Vixen dovetail plate has additional screws and holes for cone error adjustment.

Will I lose the ability to adjust for cone error? Now, the CGEM adjusts for cone error, but apparently is far from perfect.

What should I do?

Attached Files



#14 imjeffp

imjeffp

    Aluminum Falcon

  • *****
  • Posts: 6103
  • Joined: 30 Sep 2003
  • Loc: Cedar Park, Texas

Posted 13 September 2012 - 07:50 PM

I have the ADM dual saddle on both of my mounts. I think it ought to be OEM.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics