Jump to content


Photo

Am I overmounting?

  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 KDizzle

KDizzle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 758
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Woodinville, WA

Posted 08 August 2012 - 10:50 PM

Just got my pier today so finally I was able to put the mount head on something. But now I am thinking maybe I am overmounting?

Posted Image

#2 solshaker

solshaker

    Vanguard

  • *****
  • Posts: 2161
  • Joined: 06 Jun 2006

Posted 08 August 2012 - 11:11 PM

impossible!

thats a beauty.

#3 laconicsax

laconicsax

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 105
  • Joined: 05 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Portland, OR

Posted 08 August 2012 - 11:16 PM

If that's an MX, you may be pushing the mount's capacity limit.

#4 KDizzle

KDizzle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 758
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Woodinville, WA

Posted 08 August 2012 - 11:42 PM

Yep, ME. Do you think I need to use the counterweight bar? All jokes aside, scope should be here in a week or so - super excited. Although I have no idea how this mount works yet.

Pier is from pier-tech ('tri-pier'), with the pier caddy. I can't say I have seen a lot of piers, but compared with the wheely bars with the CGE Pro, this thing is seriously rock solid and super easy to roll around.


Posted Image
Posted Image

#5 Tim2723

Tim2723

    The Moon Guy

  • *****
  • Posts: 5765
  • Joined: 19 Feb 2004
  • Loc: Northern New Jersey

Posted 09 August 2012 - 12:36 AM

As long as you can see the EP, there's no such thing as over-mounting. Nice hunk of anodize though! Lotsa holes. Can't have too many holes.

#6 bilgebay

bilgebay

    Skylab

  • *****
  • Moderators
  • Posts: 4196
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2008
  • Loc: Turkiye - Istanbul and Marmaris

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:06 AM

As long as you can see the EP, there's no such thing as over-mounting.


+ 1 :roflmao:

Congratulations on the new equipment. The mount and tripod look beautiful!

#7 jchoy46

jchoy46

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 128
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2012
  • Loc: Port Orange, FL

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:02 AM

thats some great gear you have there... grats... can i have the old cgem

#8 Midnight Dan

Midnight Dan

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11296
  • Joined: 23 Jan 2008
  • Loc: Hilton, NY, Yellow Zone (Bortle 4.5)

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:10 AM

That's one gorgeous mount! :bow:

-Dan

#9 Husbyggarn

Husbyggarn

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 216
  • Joined: 12 Dec 2008
  • Loc: Sweden

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:58 AM

Well, not if you're going to focus your scope with an excavator...

#10 JAT Observatory

JAT Observatory

    NOT a Wimp

  • *****
  • Posts: 9458
  • Joined: 20 Feb 2005
  • Loc: In the Primordial Soup

Posted 09 August 2012 - 08:58 AM

Make sure that scope is locked down tight so it doesn't slide off and break your foot.

Nice mount.

#11 SomeDoSomeDont

SomeDoSomeDont

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 114
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2010
  • Loc: deathRay, Michigan

Posted 09 August 2012 - 09:15 AM

Too much is never enough.

#12 wormstar

wormstar

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1134
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2009
  • Loc: Central Ct

Posted 09 August 2012 - 11:20 AM

Beautiful mount-wish I could have kept mine

I don't believe I have ever posted a negative comment before, but that tripod looks like a weak link in the stability department?? Does it seem rigid?

Keith

#13 KDizzle

KDizzle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 758
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Woodinville, WA

Posted 09 August 2012 - 12:22 PM

Actually the try pier seems super robust to me in comparison with the one I have for the my CGE Pro. I even stood on the platform to test its "bounciness" and it was pretty solid. The pier itself is solid as a rock. The legs from the pier are the weirdest part but I think I figured it out. I was able to get them bolted onto the lets for the pier caddy. I reckon the pier et al is rated to 600 lb capacity and I should be coming in around maybe 300 or so. I guess the real test will then be when the new OTA comes and we see what kind of results it puts out. Of course my assumption is that if they are bad it will be user error. ;)

This is the pier:
http://www.pier-tech...escope_pier.htm

This is the caddy thing:
http://www.pier-tech..._pier_caddy.htm

Now, as you can see, I probably didn't do it right because my pictures don't look like theirs. They seem to have removed the "tripod leg things" and somehow attached the pier directly to the caddy, but I wasn't able to figure that part out. I guess maybe I'll ask.

#14 Jared

Jared

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5049
  • Joined: 11 Oct 2005
  • Loc: Piedmont, California, U.S.

Posted 09 August 2012 - 01:59 PM

I'm worried that you might need a counterweight extension in order to properly balance that refractor. How long is the stock counterweight shaft on the ME?

#15 EyeSage

EyeSage

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 103
  • Joined: 08 Jun 2012
  • Loc: Canukistan

Posted 09 August 2012 - 02:37 PM

Just got my pier today so finally I was able to put the mount head on something. But now I am thinking maybe I am overmounting?


That's like asking if you might have too much money... no such thing.

#16 shark-bait

shark-bait

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 710
  • Joined: 01 Jun 2009
  • Loc: New Port Richey, FL USA

Posted 09 August 2012 - 04:34 PM

I would try some "anti-gravity" counter weights to get a good balance.

#17 wormstar

wormstar

    Apollo

  • -----
  • Posts: 1134
  • Joined: 23 Nov 2009
  • Loc: Central Ct

Posted 09 August 2012 - 05:09 PM

Cool, I'm glad its robust, it certainly does look awesome

#18 s2jesse

s2jesse

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: 17 Jan 2005
  • Loc: Sonoma County, CA

Posted 09 August 2012 - 05:45 PM

Just got my pier today so finally I was able to put the mount head on something. But now I am thinking maybe I am overmounting?

Posted Image


Lol

I was wondering the same thing with mine the other day.

https://www.dropbox....zda2/noflex.jpg

Since yours is the big daddy you might be ok...

#19 rigel123

rigel123

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 10904
  • Joined: 29 Jun 2009
  • Loc: SW Ohio

Posted 09 August 2012 - 09:41 PM

Next thing you are going to tell us is that it is a 6" refractor in the picture riding on that massive mount! ;)

#20 orlyandico

orlyandico

    Fly Me to the Moon

  • *****
  • Posts: 5481
  • Joined: 10 Aug 2009
  • Loc: Singapore

Posted 10 August 2012 - 12:07 AM

No, you are undermounted to tell the truth :grin:

http://www.skyandtel...-159744325.html

#21 jmiele

jmiele

    Patron Saint?

  • *****
  • Posts: 4331
  • Joined: 04 Dec 2010

Posted 10 August 2012 - 10:45 AM

Just got my pier today so finally I was able to put the mount head on something. But now I am thinking maybe I am overmounting?

Posted Image


The mount should be ok, however, I would see if Andy Homeyer can make you a cradle for the tube. It would increase rigidity. :)

Best, Joe

#22 KDizzle

KDizzle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 758
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Woodinville, WA

Posted 10 August 2012 - 09:55 PM

So I put my NP101is on there for the night and thought I would try to learn the software tonight. But really one counterweight all the way up is too much... I am thinking it might even be better to run without a counterweight.

Posted Image


#23 brianb11213

brianb11213

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9047
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009
  • Loc: 55.215N 6.554W

Posted 11 August 2012 - 01:28 AM

So I put my NP101is on there for the night and thought I would try to learn the software tonight. But really one counterweight all the way up is too much... I am thinking it might even be better to run without a counterweight.

You probably need a styrofoam counterweight. Or stuff a Meade series 5000 40mm SWA "hand grenade" in the NP101, that will balance out a good few kilos of steel at the other end of the dec shaft ;-)

Actually that rig looks very well balanced, it might even cope with the capricious 60mph zephyrs that are commonplace in this part of the world. Your yard is sloping at a funny angle though ;-)

#24 KDizzle

KDizzle

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 758
  • Joined: 12 Sep 2008
  • Loc: Woodinville, WA

Posted 11 August 2012 - 02:01 AM

Totally did not work. Kept getting the error "Mount hit something or is not well balanced." Not really any surprise there. Tried to bungie a 5 lb weight on there and couldn't get close.
Guess I'll just have to ... wait (pun intended) ... for the CDK. Maybe this upcoming week? /pray /cross-fingers /etc

Oh, P.S... the driveway "entrances" are sloped, but the top area there is actually very flat and has the largest expanse of non-tree hiddden sky...

#25 iluxo

iluxo

    Ranger 4

  • -----
  • Posts: 331
  • Joined: 23 Sep 2008

Posted 11 August 2012 - 09:30 AM

There's no such thing as "overmounting". The more the better !






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics