39 replies to this topic

#1 saptharishi

saptharishi

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Bangalore, India

Posted 10 August 2012 - 10:42 AM

Hi,

As I am new to this hobby, I am planning to subscribe to one the astronomy magazines. I searched and found the following magazines:

Sky at Night From UK
Astronomy Now from UK
Astronomy from USA (not sure it is just the American edition of Astronomy Now)
Sky & Telescope from USA

What I understand from internet is that Sky at Night is not that great. I personally don't have any opinion or tilt towards any specific magazine.

My requirement is to read and understand about the celestial objects, observing, equipments/accessories, reviews.

Request your experience based recommendation.

Regards,
Umasuthan.

#2 brianb11213

brianb11213

Cosmos

• Loc: 55.215N 6.554W

Posted 10 August 2012 - 11:31 AM

My favourite of the three is "Astronomy Now". Second favourite would be "Sky & Telescope". "Astronomy" is a different magazine entirely, for some reason that I can't quite put my finger on I don't like it as much as the other two.

The "Sky at Night" magazine is great for beginners but seems to get stale after you've read it for a few months. It does come with a fairly interesting DVD though. I wouldn't subscribe to that one but just occasionally (probably once every couple of years) I do pick one up at the newsagents just to see how it's faring.

#3 uniondrone

uniondrone

Surveyor 1

• Loc: Streetlight Archipelago

Posted 10 August 2012 - 12:20 PM

My favourite of the three is "Astronomy Now". Second favourite would be "Sky & Telescope". "Astronomy" is a different magazine entirely, for some reason that I can't quite put my finger on I don't like it as much as the other two.