Jump to content


Photo

HEQ 5 power jack sloppy...

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 tma61

tma61

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2011
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 20 August 2012 - 07:46 PM

I have an SW HEQ-5 mount.I have had it 6 months.My power cord has play/slop in it where it enters the mount. I have been slewing and had my power cut out.EXTREMELY frustrating! I have taken a roll of tape into the field and Magivered it for now. I am looking for the next size of power jack head to wire in.Or an option is to shim it with tinfoil.

Has anyone had this issue?

Are there any Skywatcher reps out there??

TMA

#2 jchoy46

jchoy46

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 128
  • Joined: 08 Feb 2012
  • Loc: Port Orange, FL

Posted 20 August 2012 - 07:59 PM

i am not sure how your connection is but i had the same issue with my cg5. the pin that goes into the scope has a small hole in it. i took a piece of scrape wire and shaved it down till i exposed the wires. i cut off a few strands and stuffed them into the hole. i plugged in power cord and it is flawless now. hope this helps.

#3 Coastal

Coastal

    Mariner 2

  • -----
  • Posts: 207
  • Joined: 23 Apr 2009
  • Loc: Vancouver island, Canada

Posted 20 August 2012 - 08:00 PM

If you don't mind doing a bit of surgery on your new mount, check out:

http://astrotroniks....&reviews_id=5).

EDIT: that was a link to a review, here is their DIY product

http://astrotroniks....&products_id=26

#4 tma61

tma61

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2011
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 20 August 2012 - 08:14 PM

Thanks to both members for the info.
One way or the i will fall back to the DIY.

dm

#5 Phil Sherman

Phil Sherman

    Surveyor 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 1530
  • Joined: 07 Dec 2010
  • Loc: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 21 August 2012 - 08:57 PM

One thing you can do after you get it fixed is to get some "decorator velcro" (only one sticky side) and run a loop of wire through a strip mounted on top of the mount. This will relieve all stress on the plug and prevent it from becoming loose again.

Phil

#6 wasyoungonce

wasyoungonce

    Messenger

  • -----
  • Posts: 476
  • Joined: 07 Jun 2007
  • Loc: Land Downunder

Posted 22 August 2012 - 05:14 AM

Could be that your mount has a 2.1mm (centre) DC jack and you are using a 2.5mm (centre) DC plug? Thus it fits but it'll be sloppy and you will get power disconnects at intermittent times.

I don't know what size Skywatcher uses but I'd suspect them to be 2.1mm.

#7 brianb11213

brianb11213

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9047
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2009
  • Loc: 55.215N 6.554W

Posted 22 August 2012 - 08:46 AM

Could be that your mount has a 2.1mm (centre) DC jack and you are using a 2.5mm (centre) DC plug? Thus it fits but it'll be sloppy and you will get power disconnects at intermittent times.

I don't know what size Skywatcher uses but I'd suspect them to be 2.1mm.

Quite apart from the confusion between centre pole size with 5.5mm OD connectors: these things are really cheap and nasty. It's about time some manufacturer bit the bullet and spent a few extra cents on installing a more suitable power connector.

The 2.5mm inner connector (Meade) will be so sloppy you'll be lucky to get a connection at all. There is quite a lot of variation in the size of the "2.1mm" connectors which has a lot to do with the unreliability constantly reported by users. Get one that feels stiffish, and tape the top end of the cable to something on the mount that rotates with the power connector. You can usefully apply half an inch of black electrical tape over that idiotic power indicator light whilst you're at it.

The only connectors that are less reliable than those 5.5mm / 2.1mm (or 2.5mm) concentric connectors are those used for the cigar lighter plug at the other end of the cable.

#8 akira

akira

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 71
  • Joined: 26 Aug 2008

Posted 22 August 2012 - 12:37 PM

http://www.astrovox....pic.php?t=15921 here are two solutions for the HEQ5 mount if you can DIY and have experience with soldering

#9 tma61

tma61

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2011
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 15 December 2012 - 08:42 PM

thanks to all for advice and links.i've used a combination of solutions and it hasnt been an issue lately.

#10 Agelos Kechagias

Agelos Kechagias

    Vostok 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 135
  • Joined: 12 Jan 2009
  • Loc: Greece

Posted 16 December 2012 - 01:11 AM

I have done this http://www.astrovox....5921&highlight=

P.s. Sorry it is in Greek language but you can take a taste from photos.

#11 tma61

tma61

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2011
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 19 December 2012 - 08:30 PM

thank you Agelos

#12 tma61

tma61

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 74
  • Joined: 27 Dec 2011
  • Loc: Canada

Posted 19 January 2014 - 07:02 PM

I have done this http://www.astrovox....5921&highlight=

P.s. Sorry it is in Greek language but you can take a taste from photos.


Ok it took me awhile but I took it apart according to the link Agelos sent and here's what it looks like.You can see the vestiges of masking tape on the mount that I was using to keep the pin end from being jostled around. And I could not find the co-axial power cable in picture provided by Agelos.

Attached Files








Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics