Guiding CG5 via SkyFi/StarSeek

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Peter D.

Peter D.

Mariner 2

• Loc: Central New York

Posted 23 August 2012 - 12:53 PM

I just installed SkiFi (same as Orion StarSeek) and I'm controlling my CG5-GT via SkySafari on my iPod Touch. That works GREAT , but I'm also wondering if it's possible to guide through that path too. I'm currently guiding with PHD through GPUSB, and I figured if I could go through SkyFi that would be one less cable to contend with. I imagine that it might work via PHD's ASCOM interface, but I have no experience with ASCOM at all. I also like to investigate controlling the CG5 through planetarium software running on my laptop, since while the iPod works great its battery runs down quickly and the bigger laptop screen would be nice to have (I also run Cartes du Ciel and Nebulosity on the laptop).

I tried to install the ASCOM drivers for PHD and Cartes du Ciel, but that didn't seem to work. The laptop can connect to the SkiFi network, but nothing seems to happen. Note; I should mention that while I'm a pretty good analog engineer, computers and digital networks continually cause me grief.

My imaging and guiding cameras are currently connected to my laptop through USB cables; can these go through SkyFi too (it has a USB port), or is that asking too much? It would be REALLY NICE to have a completely wireless interface!

Any help and/or comments would be greatly appreciated!

Pete

#2 wolfman_4_ever

wolfman_4_ever

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: El Segundo, Ca, So. Cal

Posted 24 August 2012 - 12:12 AM

I don't know if this will work with the skyfi but you will need some sort of IP to serial emulation software.. There is software that will create a virtual com port to IP addresses. The WiiSnap is a wireless serial device that uses IP to serial emulation.. I have a skyfi but I have never tried it. I also have a wiisnap and it works well with theskyx but I have never tried to guide with it...

#3 Mkofski