Jump to content


Photo

Ntech 300(small version) x1024 ex view camera

  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

#1 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:43 PM

I thought I would start a new tread on this camera..So many pages of great info on the the last one...

So just got my camera today ,without the built in filter..It was included in a bag..

This camera is SMALL very small...looks like it will be great,I plan on using it on solar broadcasting...
The wire controll buttons is on ebay for about $5 delivered from a usa source..I will be wiring the buttons soon when I get back home,the wires will have to be sodered to pads on the back pc board...Small but doable....
So here are some pics of the camera,hope to do some testting tonight on nsn..
THIS IS THE CAMERA I GOT

http://www.aliexpres...holesalers.html

Attached Files



#2 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:44 PM

another

Attached Files



#3 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:45 PM

camera and remote cable

Attached Files



#4 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:46 PM

Inside camera...back
Im not sure,but it looks like only 2 wires go to the main
pc board.For button controll....might be a way to remote with only 2 wires?
Kind of like the back pc board is some kind of button convertor ?...Also power and video is on the othe cables.?

Attached Files



#5 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 28 August 2012 - 04:47 PM

Inside camera front

Attached Files



#6 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 28 August 2012 - 05:07 PM

Another of the back pc board asy..

Attached Files



#7 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 28 August 2012 - 05:17 PM

The back buttons

Attached Files



#8 darethehair

darethehair

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2009

Posted 28 August 2012 - 05:46 PM

Interesting thread and pics!

It sure isn't obvious to me where the wires (or which ones) would go. Please show pics and instructions when you are done. Could you provide a link to the eBay source this this wire harness? Also, I cannot tell what the intended use of the two 'ends' of that cable are supposed to provide -- one looks like 'power', and the other '???'.

#9 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • ****-
  • Posts: 11069
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 28 August 2012 - 07:06 PM

The other is composite video.

#10 StarmanDan

StarmanDan

    Soyuz

  • *****
  • Posts: 3771
  • Joined: 27 Aug 2007
  • Loc: Deep in the heart of Texas

Posted 28 August 2012 - 07:19 PM

Yea, the cable coming off the board are for power (red & black), auto iris (white, yellow, red & black) and video (white & black). The buttons are surface mounted and the wires will need to be soldered to the front side of the board.

#11 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • ****-
  • Posts: 11069
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 28 August 2012 - 07:30 PM

Anyone found a source for the LNTECH OSD cable - the one with the headers and not the bare wires?

http://www.lntech.co...info.asp?id=538

#12 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 28 August 2012 - 07:52 PM

This the cable that I got wih wire tabs on the end..I dont think the Lntech 300 has a header and must be wired in...

http://www.ebay.com/...984.m1439.l2649

There are pads that say up/dw/rt/lft...
Now to try out the camera...

#13 John59

John59

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 512
  • Joined: 06 Nov 2011
  • Loc: Round Rock,TX

Posted 28 August 2012 - 11:14 PM

I thought I would start a new tread on this camera..So many pages of great info on the the last one...

So just got my camera today ,without the built in filter..It was included in a bag..

This camera is SMALL very small...looks like it will be great,I plan on using it on solar broadcasting...
The wire controll buttons is on ebay for about $5 delivered from a usa source..I will be wiring the buttons soon when I get back home,the wires will have to be sodered to pads on the back pc board...Small but doable....
So here are some pics of the camera,hope to do some testting tonight on nsn..


Looked for you on NSN. Did you make it and I missed you?

#14 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:23 AM

Some pics from last night.....no color,got to figure that one out yet...Mostly 4 seconds
AT6RC F4.5 Ntech 300 ist light

Attached Files



#15 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:26 AM

another pic

Attached Files



#16 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:28 AM

another 4 seconds agc med br mid

Attached Files



#17 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:30 AM

This camera is Very sensetive....But needs a remote to use..
The buttons are very small..I will need to add remote for better testting

Attached Files



#18 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 29 August 2012 - 11:32 AM

One more.....

Attached Files



#19 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 29 August 2012 - 12:20 PM

My 1st light/night Conclusion.....

This camera is much more sensetive than my samy sdc435..
To the point that this camera can use heaver Filters than the samy can..So lp could be knocked down some...It will be interesting to see its use by the users here...
The "300" model is very small and compac...and very light.
At a coust of about $75....a very good investment!(IMHO)
But this small camera should be used with some sort of remote,and many options are there...The simple button remote will be easy to ad(as soon as I get a small iron..lol)....FURTHER Test to come.

#20 darethehair

darethehair

    Explorer 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 69
  • Joined: 11 Sep 2009

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:20 PM

This camera is much more sensetive than my samy sdc435


How easy would it be for you to do a side-by-side comparison (as I alluded to in the other thread)?

Also, isn't that wiring harness 'overkill' i.e. there are already ports on the camera (and ready-made cables available) for compositive video output and 12v power input -- to control just the button controls doesn't need wires for that, right?

#21 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 29 August 2012 - 01:44 PM

Untill I get a remote there wont be any more testting,comparisons by me.The 300 does not have rs capacity as the larger one does,but it does have coax capacity.The wires are what is needed,there are no headers in the small unit (300).(for a simple button remote)
I also like the simple remote switch vrs a computer pgm...as in outreach I dont use a computer..just a monitor..
I like the KISS system.. :jump:

But the camera works well just as it is,once the settings are made ,many subjects are just point and shoot.

#22 James Cunningham

James Cunningham

    Gemini

  • *****
  • Posts: 3278
  • Joined: 07 Aug 2010
  • Loc: Maryland

Posted 30 August 2012 - 06:51 AM

I just ordered that wired remote. Once you get yours installed, PLEASE show us pix and tell us exactly which wires go where. What scope were you using and did you have any reducers on it. Thanks.
Jim

#23 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 30 August 2012 - 09:54 AM

I used a AT6RC with a x.5 reducer on the camera..I did not use any filters,but next time I will,I expect better results.I need to get a small soldering iron to install
the switchs...

#24 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 30 August 2012 - 10:49 PM

Well I went out to Radio Shack and bought a 15 watt soldering iron..And I did it!
I used the white cable with power and video and the 5 switch conections....
My cable went like this..

2x red =power
2x black and 1 brown = ground
yellow =video

purple =enter
orange =down
gray =up
white =left
green =right

Now when u remove the back frame on the right are pads that are labled...near the black/white connector..
they run vertical and are labled as
L
R
SET (ENTER)
UP
DO (down)

YOU CAN SEE POWER AND VIDEO..thats it ,works great..
I will try and add photos...

Attached Files



#25 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 30 August 2012 - 11:06 PM

Another view
There are 2 places to wire to...the vertical pads...as labled...
OR
the points in blue..Its up to you...I did the blue points..This was simpler for me to do with-out more tools.
L=left,R=right,E=enter,U=up,D=down....G=common(ground)
5 wires and common...
also V=video (center pin),,,then also +12volts.

Attached Files








Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics