Jump to content


Photo

Ntech 300(small version) x1024 ex view camera

  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

#101 mclewis1

mclewis1

    Thread Killer

  • *****
  • Posts: 10748
  • Joined: 25 Feb 2006
  • Loc: New Brunswick, Canada

Posted 11 January 2013 - 02:45 PM

Jim,

What options do you see when you select Source on the video tab?

#102 svrider1000

svrider1000

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2012
  • Loc: Sylmar, California

Posted 11 January 2013 - 05:42 PM

It seems to work now. Thanks for the reply. It seems like as soon as I ask for help things start to work on their own

#103 svrider1000

svrider1000

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2012
  • Loc: Sylmar, California

Posted 20 January 2013 - 03:37 PM

Hi,

I had more time to play around with this camera. I really like it a lot. I am figuring out how much Sense Up to use for each object. My only challenge now is getting the color back and how to get Jupiter to show up with less light so that I can see the bands.



Thanks for any info anyone has on this.

Jim

#104 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 20 January 2013 - 04:35 PM

There is an option for svideo (normal mcx) or video rca,that needs to be checked..
After you select your video card..VIDEO SOURCE..

#105 barbarosa

barbarosa

    Viking 1

  • -----
  • Posts: 863
  • Joined: 11 Apr 2010
  • Loc: "lamorinda", CA

Posted 20 January 2013 - 09:42 PM

I am figuring out how much Sense Up to use for each object. My only challenge now is getting the color back and how to get Jupiter to show up with less light so that I can see the bands. Jim


Jim-
I will take a run at these questions.

SensUp--I don't use it. Unless a DSO is very bright (M42) I start with x1024. Then go to shorter integrations if needed.(Exposure -Normal, LENS- ELECTR. SPEED x1024)

No or little color when when AGC is ON, haven't checked for color using SENSUP.

For Jupiter, start with SPEED 1/60 or so then move to faster speeds until cloud bands are visible. Then you might want to try the one or two faster speeds. Likely when you see clouds you won't see the moons very well.

My CPC is cooling down now and I will target Jupiter on NSN. If you sign in, I will be glad to try various settings. If not tonight then anytime you see me on NSN.

#106 svrider1000

svrider1000

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2012
  • Loc: Sylmar, California

Posted 20 January 2013 - 09:58 PM

mega256 Thanks for the reply. I was using version 2.5 on my laptop and 2.8 on my desktop. The desktop had color and the laptop didn't I am going to test out 2.8 on my laptop tonight hopefully.

barbarosa,

Thank you for all of the settings info. I am not using the global Sense Up but the one below Electrical. I will try and join your broadcast tonight

Thank you both.

Jim

#107 svrider1000

svrider1000

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2012
  • Loc: Sylmar, California

Posted 22 January 2013 - 09:38 AM

Yes Jim the agc vrs the brightness made a diference keep agc low and brightness under 20 and color with daylight will work


I totally missed this post. I noticed last night after I finished viewing in black and white again that my color was at AUTO even after I thought I set it to Day. Hopefully I can test I can test it out tonight before the clouds come in.

Thanks

#108 svrider1000

svrider1000

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2012
  • Loc: Sylmar, California

Posted 28 January 2013 - 01:57 PM

Once I set it to day it was able to see color. Last night was not very clear so I was only able to look at M42 for about 5 minutes and I could not see Jupiter to test it out. I attached an image below that is not very good because of the conditions and amount of time I had to take it.

Thanks

Attached Files



#109 svrider1000

svrider1000

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2012
  • Loc: Sylmar, California

Posted 28 January 2013 - 02:01 PM

Here is a black and white image of what I was able to see with my 80mm f5 refractor before I set it to Day

Attached Files



#110 svrider1000

svrider1000

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2012
  • Loc: Sylmar, California

Posted 14 February 2013 - 07:25 PM

Here is a quick video I took last night. I sort of took a small part and looped it a few times. I also added an image. These are not stacked at all.

Test Video of Orion Nebula with XLT 150 and LN-300 CCD camera

Attached Files



#111 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 17 February 2013 - 07:29 PM

Its been awhile,...But just did some solar with this cam and a Lunt 60Tha..

Attached Files



#112 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 17 February 2013 - 07:33 PM

and 1 more
its a great solar camera.

Attached Files



#113 svrider1000

svrider1000

    Vostok 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 107
  • Joined: 28 Jun 2012
  • Loc: Sylmar, California

Posted 17 February 2013 - 09:30 PM

Very nice images Bob.

#114 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 20 February 2013 - 07:54 AM

This camera is easy to use on the Sun and planets,,
But I still prefer the Samsung 435(200) for deep sky..
Its just easy to use...over the Ntech..With DSO the entech
seams to be very touchy about agc.

#115 E-Ray

E-Ray

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2010
  • Loc: Austin, TX

Posted 25 February 2013 - 11:04 PM

Hi Bob,
Can you confirm the solder location for the Ground (G)terminal for the hand controller? Is it the bottom left of the 5 pins in your photo with blue marks for solder points or is it the center pin?

Regards, Ed

#116 E-Ray

E-Ray

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 25 Mar 2010
  • Loc: Austin, TX

Posted 25 February 2013 - 11:07 PM

Hi Bob,
Can you confirm the solder location for the Ground (G) terminal for the hand controller? Is it the bottom left of the 5 pins in your photo with blue marks for solder points or is it the center pin?

Regards, Ed

#117 mega256

mega256

    Viking 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 925
  • Joined: 10 May 2007
  • Loc: N of Tampa

Posted 26 February 2013 - 09:34 AM

Its on the left side marked with G as in post #5395899

Its the same as the coax ground any common point will work.

#118 astrojunkie52

astrojunkie52

    Lift Off

  • -----
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 08 Mar 2008
  • Loc: Pennsylvania USA

Posted 12 June 2013 - 05:40 PM

Just found this website that mods the LN-300-11673 camera. Appears to be decent price for what is performed.

http://www.astro-video.com/about.html

#119 nytecam

nytecam

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11400
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2005
  • Loc: London UK

Posted 13 June 2013 - 04:05 AM

I'd get one of these cams IF the AGC can be switched off!!!

#120 mattflastro

mattflastro

    Vendor - Astrovideo Systems

  • -----
  • Posts: 622
  • Joined: 31 Jul 2009
  • Loc: Brevard County , FL

Posted 13 June 2013 - 08:40 AM

I'd get one of these cams IF the AGC can be switched off!!!

Maurice,
The AGC can be switched off AND manual gain control takes over.
The manual gain control has a dedicated control on the remote with .25dB increments , from the lowest gain setting of 0dB all the way to the maximum setting of 45dB . It works just like your radio volume control .

#121 nytecam

nytecam

    Voyager 1

  • *****
  • Posts: 11400
  • Joined: 20 Aug 2005
  • Loc: London UK

Posted 14 June 2013 - 09:55 AM

I'd get one of these cams IF the AGC can be switched off!!!

Maurice, The AGC can be switched off AND manual gain control takes over. The manual gain control has a dedicated control on the remote with .25dB increments , from the lowest gain setting of 0dB all the way to the maximum setting of 45dB . It works just like your radio volume control .

Thanks Matt - I presume this "AGC-off" feature is not a factory default option for the Ntech 300 but unique to your mod :question:

#122 mattflastro

mattflastro

    Vendor - Astrovideo Systems

  • -----
  • Posts: 622
  • Joined: 31 Jul 2009
  • Loc: Brevard County , FL

Posted 14 June 2013 - 05:31 PM

I'd get one of these cams IF the AGC can be switched off!!!

Maurice, The AGC can be switched off AND manual gain control takes over. The manual gain control has a dedicated control on the remote with .25dB increments , from the lowest gain setting of 0dB all the way to the maximum setting of 45dB . It works just like your radio volume control .

Thanks Matt - I presume this "AGC-off" feature is not a factory default option for the Ntech 300 but unique to your mod :question:

That is correct. The unmodded cam sets gain at 0 (lowest value) when AGC is set to off. There is no manual adjustment, just off=0dB . I added some elecronics in order to manually adjust the gain to any value from min to max.






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics