Filters and halos, what is the answer?

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 blueman

blueman

Photon Catcher

• Loc: California

Posted 31 August 2012 - 01:55 AM

I have been doing Astrophotography for over 6 years. I started out with inexpensive cameras like the Meade DSI 1,2 and 3 using both OSC and Mono. From the begining I realized that I preferred Mono and my first set of filters came with my Meade DSI II Pro. For the next five years I had several cameras and many brands of filters, some inexpensive and some not so inexpensive. But I always fought with halos on bright stars for years.
I finally bought a SBig ST-2000 and got LRGB and Ha, O-III and S-II filters for that. I tried three different brands, all had halos. I finally bought Astrodon Gen2 LRGB filters for it when they came out and for the first time I did not have halos.
Well, time went on and I bought a bigger chip and sold the ST-2000 with the filters and wheel and bought an FLI ML8300 camera and filter wheel. FLI was giving a break on their LRGB filters when you bought the entire setup, so I got those. First thing I noticed was HALOS, big ones and they were all over my images. I had the CCD window replaced because the word was this was the cause, but this did not fix anything. So I bought Astronomik filters and the halos were still there and just as bad. I then bought Baader filters and they were better by far, but still halos on stars brighter than Mag 6.5.
Finally, I bought a set of Astrondon Gen2 "E" filters for it in LRGB, they were not cheap, but I remembered that the ones that I bought for the ST-2000 worked great and no halos. So, sure enough, put the Astrodon filters in the wheel and NO HALOS.
The point of this is, I did not learn from my prior experience and I went through sets of filters and other things AGAIN, when I knew better. Why, because the other filters were less money.