20 replies to this topic

#1 jwestervelt

jwestervelt

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: Phoenix, Arizona

Posted 04 September 2012 - 05:13 AM

Hey folks,

This is my first attempt at a digital sketch, so be gentle. I have done a few pencil sketches, but I always had to invert them since black stars on a white background are kinda surreal. I decided to haul my Macbook outside to accompany me for my first sketch attempt through this new scope. I used the Gimp for my image editing software and created a circular mask and drew the cloud layers on a separate layer. I like how it turned out.

There was an odd-ball star in the background, so I drew it as well. The light pollution here in Phoenix prevented me from seeing any other stars in my field of vision. I was using my MTS-SN6 with a 6mm eyepiece for an effective power of 127x. I really need to go get a good Barlow.

I know that the moon in the lower left was Io due to it's slightly reddish hue, but I don't know what the others were since they all appeared to be of equal magnitude and color. I plan on doing one sketch a night for a few days and maybe making an animation. The identity of the moons should be apparent by then. :)

Attached Files

#2 JeanB

JeanB

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Montreal, Canada

Posted 04 September 2012 - 09:38 AM

Don't need to ask to be gentle!!! This digital sketch is outstanding. If I did'nt know it was a sketch I would have thought it was a darn good photograph. I tried many times to picture Jupiter and its moons with my webcam and software and never came up with something like that.

There are many good freewares to help you localize the moon. I use Stellarium.

Keep up the good work!

Jean

#3 niteskystargazer

niteskystargazer

Gemini

• Loc: 41-43'-28" N 87-42'-39" W

Posted 04 September 2012 - 10:13 AM

Hi,

Very good Digital Sketch of Jupiter :).

CS,KLU,

:thanx:,

Tom

#4 jwestervelt

jwestervelt

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 04 September 2012 - 10:51 AM

Thanks for the kind words.