17 replies to this topic

#1 Lemonwood

Lemonwood

Lift Off

• -----
  • Loc: South Africa

Posted 17 September 2012 - 07:32 AM

Hey Everyone

I hope this is correctly positioned (or perhaps it should be in eye pieces, sorry if this is incorrectly located).

I am new to astronomy and have a ETX125 PE that came with a 26mm 4000 series meade eye piece.

I am in South Africa, so the range and availablity here seems less goos than for example the US. So ordering from the US and getting delivered is also an option.

I read Weasners Guide to Eye Piece Slection dated April 2001
http://www.arksky.or.../eyepieces.html

Is there any changes I should take into account? Are there alternative brands that are less expensive and also good?

For example GSO? or Sky Watcher?

I plan to go with a 40mm, 15mm, 9.7mm, 6.7mm and a barlow, and filters over time.

I might buy the Meade 4000 set.

Any thoughts on this GSO set
http://www.scopesnsk...ssory-kit2.html

To be honest I am very much new to this and don't really know the features and benefits.

I was also considering to by the GSO 15mm Superview.....

What filters should I have to start with?

In terms of viewing I have been viewing a broad range of things....

Any advice will be grately appreciated. Appologies if this should be in the other sections.

Thanks in advance
Iain

#2 Christopher Erickson

Christopher Erickson

Vanguard

• Moderators
  • Loc: Waikoloa Village, Hawaii

Posted 17 September 2012 - 04:57 PM

Don't waste your money on a 40mm 1.25" eyepiece. The 1.25" field stop makes eyepieces longer than 32mm mostly a waste of time. Scopes with 2" focusers can benefit from longer eyepieces.

I have read Weasner's/Clay's recommendations and I can't get excited about them.