• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Undermidnight

Undermidnight

BEOTS "Tweener Cup" winner

• Loc: Untermitternacht

Posted 24 September 2012 - 04:40 PM

Hey guys,

I have found that I do better sketching with my narrow FOV Orthos than with my Naglers. I seem to have an issue with spacing/placement of stars with the naglers. Anyone else experience this issue? It may be that I am still new at this.

Jason

#2 Uwe Pilz

Uwe Pilz

Apollo

• Loc: Leipzig, Germany

Posted 24 September 2012 - 11:15 PM

I use mostly Plössls for planetary work and for moon. Sharpness on axis is slightly better in comparision to Naglers, the contrast is noticeably better.
I like the Meade series 4000. They have very less scattered light.

#3 AdirondackAstro

AdirondackAstro

Ranger 4

• Loc: Plattsburgh, NY

Posted 24 September 2012 - 11:43 PM

I only have one brand of eyepieces, the cheap kit from Zhumell Plossl. Get's the job done though. I notice I like try to get just the object in frame if possible, as much zoom as I can apply without removing too much detail from the DSO.

#4 Michael11

Michael11

Ranger 4

• -----
  • Loc: Israel

Posted 25 September 2012 - 03:14 AM

I also prefer my 65° Vixen LVW with long eye relief, over 82° explore scientifics. It's much more comfortable, and easy to see whole field of view (without having to move my head).

I hate sketching with plossls though, due to their short eye relief. IMHO Comfort during sketching is the most important parameter.

#5 Jef De Wit

Jef De Wit

Mercury-Atlas

• Loc: Hove, Belgium

Posted 25 September 2012 - 10:45 AM

I have Naglers. Pro: good correction in my f/4 and the object stays long time in view (dobson, hand tracking). Contra: I can't see the edge of the FOV in one time and this makes it not easy to sketch a field of stars. For that reason: if I should buy a new EP, it's gonna be a Delos.

#6 Undermidnight

Undermidnight

BEOTS "Tweener Cup" winner

• Loc: Untermitternacht