• Please log in to reply
63 replies to this topic

#1 jhfenimore

jhfenimore

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Upstate New York

Posted 24 September 2012 - 08:36 PM

Have recently discovered the pleasure of double star observing from my light polluted and poor-to-average seeing environment. Observing i CAS tonight, I was very surprised that I could see only two stars with my excellent 10 inch Dob, while my 4 inch APO clearly showed all three. The 6.9 companion was lost in the 4.6 glare in the 10 inch, but not in the 4. I'm new at this game. Is this refractor advantage a common experience with doubles, or was my Dob simply a victim of mediocre seeing. I'm just trying to determine which of the two scopes is the best all-around choice for doubles. Thanks in advance for your advice.

#2 simpleisbetter

simpleisbetter

Surveyor 1

Posted 24 September 2012 - 08:54 PM

Only 2 factors ever hindered me on doubles when I had dobs.
1. Collimation, if that was off, dimmer stars sometimes couldn't be viewed, and the primary stars airy disk isn't as well controlled.
2. The components tended to hide from me in the diffraction spikes of the spider assy.

Other than that, if glare or separation was an issue, that was easily solved just by increasing magnification. Doing that increased separation to aid in getting dim components further away from the primary's glare.

Jon Isaacs gave a good summary on this a year or so back IIRC, in a thread about resolving Epsilon Lyra. He explained that the larger the scope, the higher the magnification needed for the same resolution. It's not about magnification so much but about exit pupil. To achieve the same exit pupil and resolution, a larger scope needs higher magnification than a smaller scope. Perhaps he or might pass by to help explain, especially if I'm misquoting him or got something wrong on the explanation.

#3 drollere

drollere

Surveyor 1

• Loc: sebastopol, california

Posted 24 September 2012 - 11:32 PM