Photo

80mm Triplet with Perfect Edge Stars... possible?

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Pingster

Pingster

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:25 PM

Hi,

Im new to APO triplets. I recently bought this scope:
TS PHOTOLINE 80/480mm F/6 Triplet APO

Being an APO triplet, i assumed it would have perfect edge stars and the image would be completely false colour free. But the edge stars are pretty bad... with brighter ones looking like double stars! And the CA is pretty bad... i see a lot of blue on flared stars.

Why is this?

Can users recommend a triplet between 80mm and 100mm that will give me full FOV perfect stars with minimal CA with my 31nagler & 31 Ethos. My budge would be £1000GBP.

Please only recommend something you own and gives the deserved results and not "i think this one will be good".

Also can i be recommended a finder scope between 60mm to 80mm that again gives perfect stars across the FOV.

Sorry if i seem picky, but 1yr into this hobby... i hate smeared stars and false colour.

Thanks for your time,

Pingster

#2 gustavo_sanchez

gustavo_sanchez

Messenger

• Loc: Puerto Rico, US

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:12 PM

I think a triplet should not have any noticeable CA on the stars... maybe you got a lemon.

#3 Pingster

Pingster

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 02 October 2012 - 09:41 PM

Its an F5. (edit opps it is F6!) So i assums that causes the CA?

#4 orlyandico

orlyandico

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Singapore

Posted 02 October 2012 - 10:41 PM

i thought it was an F/6

An F/6 refractor of any type will have field curvature, i.e. stars at the edge will not be in focus when stars at the center are in focus. Perhaps you are mistaking that for CA?

#5 orion69

orion69

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Croatia

Posted 03 October 2012 - 01:18 AM

There is no refractor without flattener that has perfect edge stars, especially f/6.

Knez

#6 vi100

vi100

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Santa Pola (Spain)